5/31 Ruby AMPS 96/+4 57/+6 67/PMPS 54/+2 46/+3 86

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-27-ruby-amps-81-3-83-6-122-10-95-pmps-89-pic.263841/

For the first time in a very long time, Ruby has been throwing us limes and I have no idea why. We went out Sunday, left her lots of her favorite fishy high carb food and when we came home she was still low. She bounced up higher the next day but then came down again. Reduced her dose 4 cycles ago--could the 3.25u dose depot still be in effect even though we skipped a shot and emptied the depot a bit? I would like to reduce her once more down to 2.75 units tomorrow morning as this is a worrisome trend. Literally nothing else has changed about our routine.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-27-ruby-amps-81-3-83-6-122-10-95-pmps-89-pic.263841/

For the first time in a very long time, Ruby has been throwing us limes and I have no idea why. We went out Sunday, left her lots of her favorite fishy high carb food and when we came home she was still low. She bounced up higher the next day but then came down again. Reduced her dose 4 cycles ago--could the 3.25u dose depot still be in effect even though we skipped a shot and emptied the depot a bit? I would like to reduce her once more down to 2.75 units tomorrow morning as this is a worrisome trend. Literally nothing else has changed about our routine.
I would reduce again because she seems determined to go lime. It seems like you should have substantially reduced the depot with that skip (and you reduced.). You should know within a few cycles at least whether or not she needs to go back up again in dose.

Nice to hear from you. We all miss you! Sorry it’s because Ruby has been lime.
 
Last edited:
I would reduce again because she seems determined to go lime. It seems like you should substantially reduced the depot with that skip (and you reduced.). You should know within a few cycles at least whether or not she needs to go back up again in dose.

Nice to hear from you. We all miss you! Sorry it’s because Ruby has been lime.
Thanks, Suzanne. I haven't had to play the insulin dosing game in so long that I'd lost my confidence in knowing what to do. This situation is totally baffling and a bit worrisome, as in 11 days I will be leaving Ruby and Olive with cat sitters while DBF and I go away for three whole weeks. The sitters will be testing only twice a day though they will be living here and cat care is their number one priority. They've never dealt with a diabetic cat before, so the whole feeding the curve routine is foreign. I was hoping that Ruby would continue being stable. It's like she knows we're leaving.

I miss you guys too. :bighug: There isn't enough time in a day for all that I need to do. Life post-pandemic has been very different for me. And until the last few days there hasn't been much to worry about.
 
Hi Katherine, technically she hasn't earned a reduction since she is a long term diabetic, but considering she dipped below 50 with 4 cycles of a skip, it might be safer to reduce. You can always take her back up if needed.

Will the petsitter will be shooting a vacation dose when you are away? Is the Libre an option - though it does give wonky numbers. I know you have used it before.

Always good to hear from you! :bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug:Will you do a vacation dose for her while you’re away?
Will the petsitter will be shooting a vacation dose when you are away? Is the Libre an option - though it does give wonky numbers. I know you have used it before.
Yes, I will be instructing the sitters to give a vacation dose though right now I have no clue what that will be. Will wait one more week before deciding. I wish I could use the Libre but I would rather spend time to train the sitters to do blood testing than rely on a Libre to work. The sensors only last 14 days and we will be gone for 21. I will have to see how comfy the sitters are and how cooperative Ruby will be with them to figure out if they could do four tests a day at shot time and one mid cycle test.

As for earning the reduction, at this point, I prefer to err on the side of caution. I can’t test her like I used to when I was home all the time, and the past few days have really scared me.
 
Hi Katherine sending you ,Ruby and Olive lots of hugs, I hope you can figure out what to do about her dose :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hopefully you can get the sitter to get a mid cycle test in ♥♥
 
Back
Top