5/31,Tommy,AMPS#191,BG@+3#81,+4#81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Have you tested him again? When doing a new post everyday you should be doing it like this
Date, Tommy, AMPS# then any other tests you do after that such as AMPS#, His BG @+3, BG# @+5 doesn't have to be @+3 or @+5 this is just an example then add his PMPS# etc
To go back in to your title to add more tests look to the right tap Thread Tools, then tap Edit Title add Tommy's numbers and tap Save
You can also add in the remarks section on the SS you fed high carb @+3 and how many carbs it was
 
Last edited:
Have you tested him again? When doing a new post everyday you should be doing it like this
Date, Tommy, AMPS# then any other tests you do after that such as AMPS#, His BG @+3, BG# @+5 doesn't have to be @+3 or @+5 this is just an example then add his PMPS# etc
To go back in to your title to add more tests look to the right tap Thread Tools, then tap Edit Title add Tommy's numbers and tap Save
You can also add in the remarks section on the SS you fed high carb @+3 and how many carbs it was
Really thats a bit too much to figure out right now. You can look at the spreadsheet right? This is too confusing.
I just need advice about whats happening to him now. He is still at 81 and can barely walk, head low to ground walking.
Gave him more HC and testing again in a bit.
Can somebody help me please?
I assume I shouldn't give the PM shot?
 
Really thats a bit too much to figure out right now. You can look at the spreadsheet right? This is too confusing.
I just need advice about whats happening to him now. He is still at 81 and can barely walk, head low to ground walking.
Gave him more HC and testing again in a bit.
Can somebody help me please?
I assume I shouldn't give the PM shot?
Tagging experienced members now for you
@Wendy&Neko
 
Lisa, were those two tests of 81 at +3 and +4 both with the AT2 or Relion meter? Numbers are still fine, and he's flat at the moment. Can you test again at +5? His behaviour may not be BG related, it sounds from a few previous posts I went back through that he has some other things going on as well. Might be a bit early to say no shot tonight, let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out. His BG will start climbing when he reaches nadir to where you may be comfortable shooting. Too early to say.
 
Really thats a bit too much to figure out right now. You can look at the spreadsheet right? This is too confusing.
I just need advice about whats happening to him now. He is still at 81 and can barely walk, head low to ground walking.
Gave him more HC and testing again in a bit.
Lisa, were those two tests of 81 at +3 and +4 both with the AT2 or Relion meter? Numbers are still fine, and he's flat at the moment. Can you test again at +5? His behaviour may not be BG related, it sounds from a few previous posts I went back through that he has some other things going on as well. Might be a bit early to say no shot tonight, let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out. His BG will start climbing when he reaches nadir to where you may be comfortable shooting. Too early to say.
Yes both same with AT2. Trying to test again soon. 81 is lowest he's ever gone. I have never seen him not able to walk and holding his head low to ground either.
OK will see when I test again.
Yes theres blood in urine and bad tooth. He gets antibiotic tomorrow and C+S.
 
Have you tested him again? When doing a new post everyday you should be doing it like this
Date, Tommy, AMPS# then any other tests you do after that such as AMPS#, His BG @+3, BG# @+5 doesn't have to be @+3 or @+5 this is just an example then add his PMPS# etc
To go back in to your title to add more tests look to the right tap Thread Tools, then tap Edit Title add Tommy's numbers and tap Save
You can also add in the remarks section on the SS you fed high carb @+3 and how many carbs it was
OK Im getting it now. Thanks
 
I understand, when you see lower numbers than you are used to, it can be startling. Even with the AT2 the numbers are safe, and you are doing great, you are just seeing an active cycle. I'll watch for your +5. What was the HC that you gave and how much (approx. ie 2 teaspoons? Or ?) it just helps gauge things in terms of how he is reacting to insulin and carbs.

ETA: Diane's suggestion is a good one, it is helpful to keep your title updated with BG tests, particularly for those of us, like myself who quickly pop on to see if someone needs help :)
 
I'm glad Christie stepped in to help, she's very experienced.

Lisa - side note about the subject line - don't worry about what's in that on the Feline Health forum. We don't have guidelines on this forum about what to put in the subject line.
 
Hi Lisa- just checking in with you, I think we're perhaps past +5, hoping you are able to get another test soon, and everything is okay. Has Tommy's movements improved a little now? Might be worth mentioning this to the vet at your visit tomorrow, and perhaps see if they might want to run some blood work, if you haven't had it done within the last 6 months. A couple of things come to mind, based on my past experiences, especially if he is weak and walking with his head low and that continues. Sometimes that can be a symptom of low potassium, or anemia. Always good to rule things out if you haven't had blood work done in a while with an elderly kitty.
 
I understand, when you see lower numbers than you are used to, it can be startling. Even with the AT2 the numbers are safe, and you are doing great, you are just seeing an active cycle. I'll watch for your +5. What was the HC that you gave and how much (approx. ie 2 teaspoons? Or ?) it just helps gauge things in terms of how he is reacting to insulin and carbs.

ETA: Diane's suggestion is a good one, it is helpful to keep your title updated with BG tests, particularly for those of us, like myself who quickly pop on to see if someone needs help :)
Thanks. Yes it is startling. He is still falling over and can barely walk, walking with head low to ground. His BG was 212 at +9.
It is now time to give his shot but I am hesitant and he did not eat much. He is too weak.
 
Hi Lisa- just checking in with you, I think we're perhaps past +5, hoping you are able to get another test soon, and everything is okay. Has Tommy's movements improved a little now? Might be worth mentioning this to the vet at your visit tomorrow, and perhaps see if they might want to run some blood work, if you haven't had it done within the last 6 months. A couple of things come to mind, based on my past experiences, especially if he is weak and walking with his head low and that continues. Sometimes that can be a symptom of low potassium, or anemia. Always good to rule things out if you haven't had blood work done in a while with an elderly kitty.
thanks
 
Oh Lisa, I'm sorry he's feeling poorly, I hope the vet can give you some answers. Have you seen this post on how to stimulate kitty's appetite

There may be some ideas there that you may find helpful to try to encourage him to eat a little more. Have you been able to catch any ketone tests? Did I read correctly, your appointment is tomorrow morning with the vet?

Maybe see where you are at with PMPS, his numbers have been rising to +9 he may be high enough by then, and maybe the suggestions to stimulate appy might start working, sometimes all it takes is a little something tastey to kick start the appy, then they start eating better. Just a thought.
 
Oh Lisa, I'm sorry he's feeling poorly, I hope the vet can give you some answers. Have you seen this post on how to stimulate kitty's appetite

There may be some ideas there that you may find helpful to try to encourage him to eat a little more. Have you been able to catch any ketone tests? Did I read correctly, your appointment is tomorrow morning with the vet?

Maybe see where you are at with PMPS, his numbers have been rising to +9 he may be high enough by then, and maybe the suggestions to stimulate appy might start working, sometimes all it takes is a little something tastey to kick start the appy, then they start eating better. Just a thought.
Thanks. It seems he's too weak to eat. He is hungry. He was all excited at the food and then couldn't get up, then had to lay back down.
Yes the vet is tomorrow.
I don't know about the PM shot after he was at 81 and now so weak. This is the weakest Ive seen him. I mean what if he drops low again while I am asleep and gets worse?
 
One other additional comment, although I don't want to add to your stress, I just wanted to provide some additional info - I mentioned running some blood tests at your visit, and anemia as a possible reason why he is weak and lethargic. It is rare; however, I have read that Convenia can cause haemolytic anemia. If it were me, I'd check his blood work to be sure that's not an issue.
 
You would need to stay up at least to +2 and see how the cycle is going, and if he is dropping, you'd need to test more until his numbers flatten or rise. Are you up for that, or completely worn out?

I'm not convinced this is BG related, I feel something else is going on.
 
How do his gums/nose/tongue look? Are they pale pink or white at all? Does he still have blood in his urine? It's always so hard to offer suggestions, and you know him best, but if you are finding too many things not right with him, I'd consider a visit tonight as Bron mentioned if you have access to a vet now.
 
Thanks. Yes it is startling. He is still falling over and can barely walk, walking with head low to ground. His BG was 212 at +9.
It is now time to give his shot but I am hesitant and he did not eat much. He is too weak.
If that were my cat, I would have him at the ER as soon as possible.
 
Oh Lisa, I'm sorry he's feeling poorly, I hope the vet can give you some answers. Have you seen this post on how to stimulate kitty's appetite

There may be some ideas there that you may find helpful to try to encourage him to eat a little more. Have you been able to catch any ketone tests? Did I read correctly, your appointment is tomorrow morning with the vet?

Maybe see where you are at with PMPS, his numbers have been rising to +9 he may be high enough by then, and maybe the suggestions to stimulate appy might start working, sometimes all it takes is a little something tastey to kick start the appy, then they start eating better. Just a thought.
Is it ok to skip some shots? They are at .25 anyway. I'd like to see why he can't walk first. And get him on an antibiotic. Vet is coming today.
 
I would not skip any shots. Not eating, a possible infection and no insulin is the recipe for DKA.
Please keep testing for ketones.
I a wondering if he needs the insulin. He got a 1/4 shot and went down to 81. Possibly the infection is causing high sugar
 
How do his gums/nose/tongue look? Are they pale pink or white at all? Does he still have blood in his urine? It's always so hard to offer suggestions, and you know him best, but if you are finding too many things not right with him, I'd consider a visit tonight as Bron mentioned if you have access to a vet now.
pink
 
Tommy got what he needed today from the visiting vet.
C+S, broad spectrum antibiotic for now, B12 shot, IV fluids with electrolytes (includes potassium)
He was doing his regular routine on his own all night eating, drinking and going in his box,
but was falling over and weak the whole time. He's a fighter.
Vet wanted to talk about end of life but I said I am hoping he gets stronger from antibiotic and now being on insulin.
I am feeding whatever he will eat, Fancy Feast wet low and high carb.
 
Thank you for the update. What kind of antibiotic did Tommy receive and for how long? I'm glad he received IV fluids. When is the last time that Tommy had blood work done? I don't see any on the labs tab of his spreadsheet. Forgive me for asking if you told us this on a previous post.
 
Thank you for the update. What kind of antibiotic did Tommy receive and for how long? I'm glad he received IV fluids. When is the last time that Tommy had blood work done? I don't see any on the labs tab of his spreadsheet. Forgive me for asking if you told us this on a previous post.
He had blood work a few months ago. I don't have it here. Vet said it was normal except for diabetes.
He got injection of Enrofloxacin today and Orbax liquid for 10 days, while we wait for results of C+S.
 
I understand, when you see lower numbers than you are used to, it can be startling. Even with the AT2 the numbers are safe, and you are doing great, you are just seeing an active cycle. I'll watch for your +5. What was the HC that you gave and how much (approx. ie 2 teaspoons? Or ?) it just helps gauge things in terms of how he is reacting to insulin and carbs.

ETA: Diane's suggestion is a good one, it is helpful to keep your title updated with BG tests, particularly for those of us, like myself who quickly pop on to see if someone needs help :)
He got injection of Enrofloxacin today and Orbax liquid for 10 days, while we wait for results of C+S.
B12 shot, IV fluids with electrolytes (includes potassium)
He was doing his regular routine on his own all night eating, drinking and going in his box,
but was falling over and weak the whole time. He's a fighter.
Vet wanted to talk about end of life but I said I am hoping he gets stronger from antibiotic and now being on insulin.
I am feeding whatever he will eat, Fancy Feast wet low and high carb.
He can't walk or get up easily and falls over hitting into things. He is very thin. Blood in urine. I hope he will start improving now.
 
Well, I hope it was all normal, although was that before he became so weak? Anyway, I pray Tommy will improve with the antibiotics. I wonder why the vet gave the Baytril injection... maybe to try to get things started quickly? And you are going to start the Orbax when?
 
He got injection of Enrofloxacin today and Orbax liquid for 10 days, while we wait for results of C+S.
B12 shot, IV fluids with electrolytes (includes potassium)
He was doing his regular routine on his own all night eating, drinking and going in his box,
but was falling over and weak the whole time. He's a fighter.
Vet wanted to talk about end of life but I said I am hoping he gets stronger from antibiotic and now being on insulin.
I am feeding whatever he will eat, Fancy Feast wet low and high carb.
He can't walk or get up easily and falls over hitting into things. He is very thin. Blood in urine. I hope he will start improving now.
Oh poor Tommy. I really hope he will get stronger. The vet hasn’t exactly been proactive about helping him. :bighug:
 
Oh poor Tommy. I really hope he will get stronger. The vet hasn’t exactly been proactive about helping him. :bighug:
Yes I know. He took too long to start insulin and got very thin. Then waited to give another antibiotic for blood in urine. He can't walk or stand for long now.
I hope he gets his strength back now with the antibiotic in him.
 
Bron is right. I’m surprised the vet didn’t want to try to check a CBC and Chemistry panel to check electrolytes and possibly get to the source of Tommy’s weakness.
He said he had blood work only a couple months ago. The extreme weakness started after Covenia I observed.
 
Well, I hope it was all normal, although was that before he became so weak? Anyway, I pray Tommy will improve with the antibiotics. I wonder why the vet gave the Baytril injection... maybe to try to get things started quickly? And you are going to start the Orbax when?
Yes injection to start quickly. Blood in urine. He said Orbax is the same med and to start it today once a day.
 
Thats why he got IV fluids with electrolytes but thanks.
Yes. I understand that, but let’s say, for example, his potassium was low. One dose of fluids with electrolytes in it would not be sufficient. A daily supplement with potassium would probably be required until his blood levels were in the normal range. This is just an example of course since the vet didn’t check the electrolytes and there are several that could potentially be out of whack. I’m still rooting for Tommy.
 
Yes injection to start quickly. Blood in urine. He said Orbax is the same med and to start it today once a day.
Well, enrofloxacin (Baytril) and Orbax (orbifloxacin) are not the same thing, but they are both in the fluoroquinalone family of antibiotics and are both good broad spectrum antibiotics and I hope that they will immediately help to make Tommy feel better. I hope he won’t have any GI problems with the Orbax and that he will feel better and eat well.
 
He said he had blood work only a couple months ago. The extreme weakness started after Covenia I observed.
I am sorry the vet gave Tommy a Convenia injection. I’m sure you read about the concerns with Convenia. It can cause hemolytic anemia. This is even more upsetting if it all started after Convenia.
 
Yes. I understand that, but let’s say, for example, his potassium was low. One dose of fluids with electrolytes in it would not be sufficient. A daily supplement with potassium would probably be required until his blood levels were in the normal range. This is just an example of course since the vet didn’t check the electrolytes and there are several that could potentially be out of whack. I’m still rooting for Tommy.
Thanks for the information
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top