5/4 Fistuk AMPS 103, +3 115, +5.5 83, +10 85 PMPS 90

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Fistuk & Shelly, May 4, 2024.

  1. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...8-94-cant-shoot-tomorrow.289053/#post-3172146

    Happy Caturday :)

    Since my last post, around three weeks ago Fistuk was doing mostly good.

    We had the blood work done. The main results are:
    - liver function shows some red signs
    - kidney deteriorated quite a lot since the last tests in Oct 2023
    - some high blood pressure

    The vet suggested to focus on kidney function and keep an eye on the liver. We decided not to give medications for blood pressure because of the kidneys. In general I prefer to avoid medication as far as possible.

    Most of the results are in the lab tab. You can see the SMDA has risen so did the createinine. Phosphorous and potassium are fine.

    I'll flll in the rest of the result during the day. It doesn't help that it's all in German and that every lab uses a different range for measuring.

    To the kidneys we added:
    1. Renax - it's natural tablets for cats' kidney disease by a German company. It does contain some milk which made me concerned about influence on GB but I can't say I see a distinct pattern of raise in BG. I started giving them three times a day on April 24. He's had a few blue cycles but I suspect more it's because of his URI rather than the tablets.
    The tablets seems to do him good.
    2. Sub Q - 60 to 80 ml a day
    3. Homeopathy - a composition of three components: Solidago compositum, Ubichinon compositum and Coenzyme compositum. I haven't yet started it. will go to Germany to buy them this weekend since in Switzerland it's quite expensive.


    I'll also need to change his food. Vet suggested to focus on law salt rather than just looking at phosphorus.

    I created an account on Tanya's website but haven't got around yet to post there.

    I also received the flower essence for his breath from Green Hope Farm and started the breathe essence. I think he has less tears but he's has in the past couple of days moments where his breath sounded quite phlegmy. It seems to me like clear all the mucus inside in the process. It's reduced over the days so I'll keep tracking.

    Finally for BG ;) It's been 72 cycles on 2.5U - would appreciate some feedback on what do you think of this does and his patterns. Is there a way to get these blues down?
    @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo

    Well, I think that's it for now;)

    Wishing you all a wonderful weekend:bighug:
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2024
  2. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Hi Shelly so happy to hear from you guys. Looks like you have a direction.
    As far as the BG, with that 58 and 63, I would continue to hold the dose. :bighug:
     
    Fistuk & Shelly and Bandit's Mom like this.
  3. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Hi Shelly, good to see you and Fustuk. You’re always doing such a great job with him.
    Sounds like you’ve got things under very good control.
    I hope he’s enjoying his beautiful balcony with Prince and you all have a nice weekend. Sending hugs to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Shelly, good to hear from. Glad you guys are doing well :)

    I believe slightly elevated liver values are not uncommon in diabetic cats, so I wouldn't worry. You could think about giving him some liver supplements - milk thistle. The go-to supplement in the US for the liver is Denamarin which has S-Adenosylmethionine (SAMe) and Silybin. We have a similar supplement in India (diff brand name) so I think there might be one in the EU as well.


    Yes, he seems to be in early stages of CKD. None of his values are alarming, but a switch to a low phosphorous food will help slow the progression of CKD:
    https://felinecrf.org/early_detection.htm#sdma_test

    How high was his blood pressure? Untreated hypertension can have pretty serious consequences including blindness, seizures and even worsening of kidney function. Like with BG, BP can be elevated at the vet's due to stress.
    https://felinecrf.org/hypertension.htm

    Why did the vet suggest this? Does he think Fistuk is dehydrated? You don't start sub-q fluids till later stages of CKD (creatinine over 300-350) and giving fluids unless necessary is additional work for the kidneys.
    https://felinecrf.org/subcutaneous_fluids.htm#when

    On the dosing I agree with @Angela & Cleo about holding the dose for now. He might be up to his usual tricks of dropping lower late in the PM cycle.

    You want to post his labs on Tanya's CKD group and take their advice on treating the hypertension and all the supplements you are considering.

    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2024
    thornmallow__ likes this.
  5. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Hi Shelly,
    So nice to see you here! :bighug:
    Fistuk seems to be doing well BG-wise.
    And for his Kidney issues, you have a nice direction and got sound suggestions from the experts here.
    You are such a dedicated caring mom that I have no doubt that Fistuk will continue to receive the best care.
    Hope all is going well with you and your family.
    Happy Saturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.
  6. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    Hi Shelly! I woke up thinking about you and I wanted to check on you, I'm glad to read your update!
    I hope you find answers soon. Happy weekend!
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.
  7. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Thanks, Bhooma :) With a little help from our furry angles :bighug:

    YOu're such a treasure. Thanks so much for all this info and feedback.

    I need to ask her. She's on holiday for the weak...
    I don't remember she measured blood pressure so I was surprised but on the call I forgot to ask her :(

    It's a good question and I wondered that myself! I will ask.

    If I'm honest, I think the fact that she's coming to our home and she's a master at taking blood is. great relief. And she's also not pushy with medications. But how much she knows about CKD or diabetes I think it goes as far as any vet I've seen so far - not much at all!

    I will. Feels a bit overwhelming to start another forum and read all their instructions... But I will

    Thanks for always being on our side :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  8. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Thanks, Angela :)
    I guess you can say a direction. With his BG I feel like we're on a clear way but with his kidney I feel we're still in the beginning and there's so much I don't know :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  9. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Hi Staci :)
    Thank you for your kind words.
    I don't feel so much under control but some management, yes. This kidney thing is not an easy one for me to swallow...
    We've had quite a lot of grey and windy weather so we didn't have much balcony time in the past two weeks. But hopefully in a week this will change again.
    Sending you and Ivy big, warm hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Staci & Ivy likes this.
  10. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Hi Kit :)
    Thanks for your warm welcome back ;-)
    I'm just posting on Tanya's forum and we'll see what suggestions I get there.
    He's my little sweetie. I try to do the best for him. He seems to be happy and that's a good thing.
    I hope you're having a good caturday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Mikanmama likes this.
  11. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    Hi Cecile :) Nice to be in your thoughts :bighug::bighug::bighug:
    I hope that you and Bella are doing well :kiss:
     
  12. Jack & Mopem'sMom

    Jack & Mopem'sMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    I'm so happy to see you and Fistuk! I'm sorry about the kidneys, more to manage, but you do such an awesome job for Fistuk! Hope you have been well, and that Prince is being a good boy too. I think of you and your kitties often, and always keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Sending much love and many hugs for all of you and extra :kiss::kiss::kiss: to Fistuk :bighug::bighug:
     
    Fistuk & Shelly likes this.
  13. Fistuk & Shelly

    Fistuk & Shelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2023
    YOu're so sweet and kind, Christine. It warms my heart to know we're in your thoughts and prayers :kiss::kiss::kiss:
    It is more to manage. We've added tablets for his kidneys three times a day and they're quite a mouthful. Well, I just do whatever I can to keep him well as much as possible. I can't give him extra kisses because I can't stop kissing him anyways :p
    Sending you and the pack lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Jack & Mopem'sMom likes this.

Share This Page