5/5 Mookitty AMPS 352, +5 152, PMPS 197

How are you and Mookitty today? Yesterday sounded like a rough one. :bighug:

I'm going to disagree with the suggestions you got yesterday and suggest you follow SLGS. We don't customize TR, unless for special cases like cats on high doses of insulin due to secondary endocrine conditions that have just been treated for those conditions. If you can put SLGS in your signature, that'll help us help you and Mookitty.

On a day like today when she's in higher numbers, I'd make sure to test for ketones with that DKA in the recent history.
 
I'm doing better. Less on constant edge. She's in the blue now currently, which is much better than earlier. I haven't gotten a ketone sample out of her yet ( I missed) but hope to tonight. She's eating well too. I'll be giving her a bit of subQ fluids tonight as well so she doesn't get dehydrated from going up higher.

I'm happier with the BG range of SLGS but holding a change for 7 days before modifying it if her BG is over 300 for much of the day makes me nervous because of the DKA.

I think she is going to be tricky to dose no matter what because she seems pretty sensitive to insulin. I get completely different results with only a 0.25 unit difference. It is too bad I haven't seen any affordable disposable microliter syringes. Our measurements should be with an instrument that measures microliters not milliliters. I've worked in molecular biology labs where basically all I do is work with very small volumes. What we are forced to do with the syringes available is too imprecise. I'm half tempted to measure out exact volumes with a micropipette and then syringe that, but there is no way to do that and have it be sterile at home.
 
Back
Top