5/6 Toeby AMPS 360, +2 347, +3 290, +5 275, +7 358, PMPS 378, +2 401, +4 392.

+3 290
He was playing with his brother an hour ago - now sleeping, gave him some Dr. Elsey's dry when I tested him- I am going to try the Dr. Elsey's for small snacks.
Yes, I know dry is not preferable.
He will reliably eat this for a snack.
 
Have you tried PureBite freeze dried treats? I don't know if you can get them in Canada but they are low carb and a great treat for snacks. Looks like Toeby needs an increase but I cannot advise. Will try to get other's on board.

@Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee or @Wendy&Neko


Yes, Toeby gets Purebites turkey and chicken and also the Performatrin brand freeze dried turkey and chicken.

Canadians can buy "most" of the same major brands of pet food as you can in Florida in our local pet stores.
Petsmart is here.
I don't think the chain Chewy's is in Canada, perhaps in large centres in central Canada, but other than brands people talk about from Chewy's, we can get most foods.
The Young Again is available from 1 distributor in Ontario who imports it...
Thank you for your interest Summer (?) - can you please let me know if, in fact, that is your name?
 
Yes, Toeby gets Purebites turkey and chicken and also the Performatrin brand freeze dried turkey and chicken.

Canadians can buy "most" of the same major brands of pet food as you can in Florida in our local pet stores.
Petsmart is here.
I don't think the chain Chewy's is in Canada, perhaps in large centres in central Canada, but other than brands people talk about from Chewy's, we can get most foods.
The Young Again is available from 1 distributor in Ontario who imports it...
Thank you for your interest Summer (?) - can you please let me know if, in fact, that is your name?
Yes, Summer is my actual first name. I am Summer Celeste Devlin.
 
I don’t think he’s bouncing as he hasn’t dropped low and is flat. If you are going to feed any dry food you will need to switch to SLGS. I suspect the dry food is the cause if the higher bg.

He is getting minimal amounts of dry.. just enough for a little snack, to "feed the curve" if he won't eat other foods, but I can stop if I have to.
I just switched to TR from SLGS... Why would giving him a bit of dry mean I have to change the protocol?
I don't understand, but maybe I just have never understood the big difference between the 2 protocols to the cat's body or even why people follow two different protocols?
I am not trying to be obstinate, I would really like to understand..
Laura
 
Laura, I have to agree with with Elise (tiffmaxee). The sooner you get Toeby off the dry food the better. I would certainly keep some around in case he ever gets to a point where he doesn't eat any canned food (God forbid) but it will only keep his numbers higher. I think you said he had a good variety of low carb wet food. Hopefully, he is eating this variety. Sometimes I have not completely understood the dosing protocols either (TR or SLGS) but this group has been using them, and saving cats, for many years. I believe this group was established in the 90's and they have helped many, many cats get into remission. You may already know this. The big difference between TR and SLGS is with TR you don't take reductions unless your cat goes below 50. With SLGS you reduce at 90. Also, you have to hold the dose for 7 days with SLGS (unless numbers become too low) and with TR I believe you can make changes to the dose after 3 days. Of course, if kitty ever gets into dangerous numbers you do make adjustments - whether it is TR or SLGS. I went back to SLGS because, at one point, it was taking Susie many days to see an improvement with dose increases. Anyway, trust the advisors on this site. They will do all they can to help you get Toeby into safe numbers. Looking at Toeby's numbers I would say he definitely needs and increase but I am too new to this site to be able to advise. Just try to eliminate the dry food and you may see an improvement based on that alone. Good luck and continue to ask questions.
 
@Summer and Susie I have the utmost respect for the people who kindly give guidance to people like me, because I can assure you, I don't have the patience to do what they do.
I had a diabetic cat back in 2004/05 and I was a member of this group then, so I may have a bit more experience with this group than you realize, and that's fine, you'd have no way of knowing that unless you ask me.
Things have changed since then, including the insulins used.
I used to order porcine insulin from a compounding pharmacy in fact, when I first started with him as a lot of the human insulins were not considered great for cats.

I would just like to understand things better - it's the way I am, I don't like being dependant on others, so I am trying to understand.
He was/is getting very, very small amounts of the dry Dr. Elseys - as snacks only, not as part of his main meals.
I only started doing it this week because one day he absolutely would not eat the freeze dried I offered him.
IF, and that is IF, it is as low carb as it purports to be, I thought it would be a good alternative for "feeding the curve" when he is dropping... to stop him from diving so low on me.

Toeby has gone very low on me many times... seeing 23 on a meter is not a good feeling, especially when you're the one administering the insulin that put him there.
It will all work out...
Laura
 
When are you giving the budesonide? Nobody ever wants to see 20’s or 30’s. I once got a lo and that was scary. The dry might stick with Toeby longer so I would not want to give it 3 or 4 hours before preshots. The reason why is it might be an artificially higher bg and then he might drop low unexpectedly.
 
When are you giving the budesonide? Nobody ever wants to see 20’s or 30’s. I once got a lo and that was scary. The dry might stick with Toeby longer so I would not want to give it 3 or 4 hours before preshots. The reason why is it might be an artificially higher bg and then he might drop low unexpectedly.

I have been giving the budesonide to him at supper time after his preshot BG check.
The vet told me that prednisolone was best taken in the evening, and I followed suit with the budesonide.
He gets it once a day - the dosage is 1 mg per cat per day.
I have to have them made at a compounding pharmacy - he had a month's worth of tablets, and this week I got him some compounded chews.
I have no idea of the carb content of the chew.
 
Back
Top