5/7 Jack 80@AMPS, 88@+3hrs, holding 7.5units

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
The numbers have been better the past 2 days, slowly coming down, so holding that hopefully magic 7.5unit dose. His diet has been pretty steady the past few days as well- not what it should be, but steady, so I think that is helping a lot as well. Debated reducing to 7 units with his nice green AMPS number, but he did eat the kibble along with the ziwi peak and the pate, so I stuck with the 7.5 since I can test today, and because I want him in the green/blue range if possible. Maybe I should have done 7.25 units....I don't know. He used to be more sensitive to the .25 unit changes but the last two times I tried to move by .25 units it didn't do anything of any great notice so, decided to keep the dose that has been working for him with his stupid diet. And, bad momma, still didn't get those freeze dried treats. I have to take tomorrow off to drop his sister off for thyroid radiation, so I'll definitely stop at Petsmart on the way home. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, all.

Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...es-amps-back-to-7-5units.277221/#post-3069298
 
Hi Christine ,boy am I happy to see those greens today, I hope Jack continues with those blue and greens today. Come on Jack surprise us :cat:
All the best for Jacks sister tomorrow what's her name. Would love to see a pic of her too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Talk to you soon. :bighug::cat:
 
Hi Christine ,boy am I happy to see those greens today, I hope Jack continues with those blue and greens today. Come on Jack surprise us :cat:
All the best for Jacks sister tomorrow what's her name. Would love to see a pic of her too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Talk to you soon. :bighug::cat:
Sage did well, according to the technician who called earlier. Thanks for thinking about her. I don't have many pics of her, she is soooo skittish, even after being rescued and loved all these years. Being away with strangers all week is going to be hard for her. She is such a sweetie. I'll see if I can find a pic for you, she is a small tortie.
 
Sage did well, according to the technician who called earlier. Thanks for thinking about her. I don't have many pics of her, she is soooo skittish, even after being rescued and loved all these years. Being away with strangers all week is going to be hard for her. She is such a sweetie. I'll see if I can find a pic for you, she is a small tortie.
I'm glad Sage did well, I love her name. I didn't know what you meant when you said Sage will be away with strangers this week until I read your post from today. I don't know anything about thyroid radiation, do they normally keep them there for the whole week?
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
 
Last edited:
I'm glad Sage did well, I love her name. I didn't know what you meant when you said Sage will be away with strangers this week until I read your post from today. I don't know anything about thyroid radiation, do they normally keep them there for the whole week?
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
Yes, they are required by law to keep them in a contained area, with limited human interaction because they are literally radioactive. Depending on how much radiation they need, determines the length of time they need to stay, and every state has their own guidelines and regulations. PA just extended the amount of time they need to be kept at the clinic. Once Sage comes home, I need to collect her cat litter for 2 weeks (her excrement continues to shed radiation) and store it in a metal garbage pail for 3 months (or the garbage trucks will be flagged for having a radioactive bomb on board when they go to the dump) before I can throw it away. The technicians who care for her are supposed to be specially trained and wear those radiation level monitors. I have had quite a few cats with the hyperactive thyroid, and tried the meds they prescribe (methimazole)on the first poor cat, who ended up bleeding from her rear end after only a few doses. So going forward, I always get the cure done, even if it is the more expensive option. I know way too much about it at this point, LOL. It's a totally curable disease, you just need to get a good radiologist (I have found David Culp to be amazing) and a vet clinic that has trained techs, and a large cage (not the small cages they usually use for cats) for the week. (Quakertown in PA is great, and Sabrina the I-131 tech is fabulous) Hyperthroid is becoming more and more common unfortunately, and a lot of it has to do with the poor quality of pet food and lack of standards we have in the US. Sorry, I'm ranting, like I said, I know way too much. An interesting point about it though, is that it is the same as in humans, but in humans the medical community kills your whole thyroid and then forces you to take supplements for the rest of your life. With cats, they calculate the amount of radiation the cat needs, kill the correct amount of thyroid and within 6 - 8 months the kitty is pretty much back to normal. Now, what does that tell you about how screwed up the human health care is???
 
Wow thanks for explaining it all to me. I'm so glad you have a place that takes good of Sage and that they are amazing.
Does Sage have to have anymore or is this all she has to have.
You're right about how screwed up the human health care system is .
 
Wow thanks for explaining it all to me. I'm so glad you have a place that takes good of Sage and that they are amazing.
Does Sage have to have anymore or is this all she has to have.
You're right about how screwed up the human health care system is .
She should not have to have any more treatments. Most cats, if the radiologist calculates correctly, only require one treatment. There are exceptions, from what I understand, but counting Sage, I've had 4 of my own cats treated and been involved with 2 more that belonged to a friend and they were completely cured within the 6 month window.
 
She should not have to have any more treatments. Most cats, if the radiologist calculates correctly, only require one treatment. There are exceptions, from what I understand, but counting Sage, I've had 4 of my own cats treated and been involved with 2 more that belonged to a friend and they were completely cured within the 6 month window.
That's great Christine ,Sending positive vibes that Sage will be completely cured. :bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top