5/7 Toeby AMPS 382, +1 430, +2 412, +4 416, PMPS 403, +2 383, +4 328

+1 430

I haven't gotten a +1 reading for a while, so I took one - I guess an increase after eating is not surprising?
 
an increase after eating is not surprising
Correct! +1s are great because they tell you how much of a "food bump" your kitty gets. There's some good info in the Becoming Data Ready post. So your previous dose of Lantus has worn off for the most part and the new dose hasn't kicked in yet.

I'm not one to advise on dosing but a cat's insulin needs can (and do) change - not uncommon to go up and down doses - though that doesn't erase the frustration of it all :bighug:

Hope you all have a good day!
 
The same thing is happening with my Susie. She had better numbers on 2.75 units than she is having on 3 units. It is frustration. We need to learn to be patient.
 
I noted this morning that there was an error in my signature - I don't know how long it has been there.
Someone had referred to Toeby as a "long-term diabetic" which I found odd, but now I realize
maybe it is because my signature was wrong.
Toeby was only re-diagnosed diabetic on March 22 of THIS year, 2021.. not '20 as my signature said.
Anyone who looked at my spreadsheet could see that, but it was misleading and I apologize.

Also - we have been feeding Stella & Chewy's freeze dried food for years to both cats.
I have never seen it on any of the charts
The bag reads that it is around 13% carbs, but that is before it is rehydrated with water.
Can anyone tell me if this is an acceptable food for Toeby in its re-hydrated form?
He doesn't eat it exclusively, he eats (and prefers) the low carb canned and pouch food we feed him, but he does eat some of the Stella & Chewys.
His brother prefers the S&C.
Laura

Edit to add, because invariably someone will ask - the canned and pouches are low carb - currently the brand names are Fancy Feast, Wellness, Weruva Cats in the Kitchen. I also give him Dr. Elsey's dry chicken on occasion for snacks.
 
Last edited:
I think a long-term diabetic is one that has been diabetic for a year or longer. If Toeby was first diagnosed in June of 2020 he should not be considered long-term. I don't know how they factor in kitties that were in remission for a period of time before being re-diagnosed as diabetics.

I don't know anything about the Stella & Chewy's food. Maybe someone else can answer that for you.
 
Anyone who looked at my spreadsheet
The spreadsheet template has a Diagnosed date at the top and looks like it's removed from yours? Maybe you can add it back? It also has a spot for dosing method - having this info in your signature and your SS is particularly helpful if someone is helping more than one kitty (has more than one SS open, responding to more than one thread, etc. That would also provide clarity - for your Diagnosed date, I'd put exactly what you have in your signature (DX Jun '20, OTJ Aug '20. DX IBD Nov '20, Prednisolone. Dx Diab Mar 22/21) as it's helpful background.
upload_2021-5-7_9-43-25.png


Dr. Elsey's dry chicken
I would remove this if you can as I believe dry - even low carb - stays in system longer than wet (and per TR, it really shouldn't be used at all for safety reasons). Looks like Wendy had responded in April about anecdotal evidence that Elsey's can increase BGs - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...months-otj-wonky-numbers.246163/#post-2777801

Stella & Chewy
What flavor are you feeding? usually, you can find this information on sites like Chewy.com. Remember, you are looking for the % of total calories that are carbs - which is not something you can find on the packaging (thanks pet food industry :rolleyes:). More info on that here (I love numbers and can help calculate carbs if you have As Fed or DMB numbers if needed!).

Hope that helps :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-7_9-43-25.png
    upload_2021-5-7_9-43-25.png
    76.8 KB · Views: 70
@JaxBenji Hi again Susanne,

Your response about the SS was helpful - I didn't realize that stuff was missing - so I added it back - I hope I didn't screw up my template, but I think it's okay for both my World page, where I enter, and the US page, where most users read?
I love spreadsheets, but am so long away from the office that I am getting rusty.

I took away the Dr. Elseys the other week because I suspected it was increasing his BG's, and posed the question which Wendy answered.
This last week added it back because he wouldn't eat any freeze dried snacks for me...
Feeding a few kernels of Dr. Elsey's for a snack is so much easier than opening a new can of FF for snacks.
At almost $2 a pouch, I save the Cats in the Kitchen pouches for meals.
I am going to see ... so far, NOTHING is predictable as far as what raises his BG's go, so I decided to stop blaming the Dr. Elsey's
I hope that makes sense to you..

He will free eat his canned or pouch food too - he's a grazer and doesn't gobble it all down in one go.

They like the Stella and Chewy Tummy Ticklin' Turkey right now.
Like I said, his brother mostly eats it, but Toeby will eat it as well.
Guaranteed Analysis (min and max are identical amounts): Crude Protein 40%, Crude Fat 37%, Crude Fibre 5%, Moisture 5%, Taurine 0.2%
I work that out to be about 13% carbs, but we add water to these nuggets to make a wet food, we don't feed it dry, so I am wondering what the carb content of the final product as eaten is...
The carb in it that I can see is pumpkin seeds.
It's the fourth ingredient after turkey with bone, turkey liver, and turkey gizzards.
I wrote Stella & Chewy and asked for the carb percentage and here is their response:

Thank you for your email. I’m sorry to hear about your cat’s diagnosis! We have a variety of options, mostly raw, that tend to work best for diabetic cats – the carbohydrates are very low, since there are minimal carbohydrate-containing ingredients. We include this information on our website – if you go to the product page, and scroll down to where it says “Full Nutrient Profile”, you can then click on show and it will give you all of the other nutrition information. The vitamins, minerals, and amino acids are shown dry-matter.
That said, any time you’re dealing with a specific health concern, we suggest consulting with a holistic vet to be sure the product is right for your cat’s individual needs.
I hope this helps – feel free to let me know if you have any further questions.


Which of course, was NOT overly helpful.
I did not write back...
I get a little tired of being treated like I am dumb... I know how to navigate a web page...
:banghead:

Today seems to be a total write-off with his BG's... and I am not going to test him any more until supper... I cannot see the point as I cannot see him dropping at this point of the day.
I am hoping @Bron and Sheba (GA) chimes in with some advice for tonight as I have been working quite regularly with her...
Thanks for your help
Laura
 
World page, where I enter, and the US page
Yup, looks good! And yeah since FDMB is based in the US, everyone on the board "talks" in US numbers.

Sorry Stella & Chewy wasn't very helpful - if you attempt to respond again, you'd be looking for Dry Matter Values for Protein, Fat, Ash, & Fiber. We can then calculate the carbs from there and then determine the % of total calories that are carbs. And I get using GA values as a starting point, but it doesn't tell us enough of the story; more info on that in the Calculating % Carbohydrate post. I went on S&C's website out of curiosity and I don't know enough to know what the "calculated" values are...they don't seem very forthcoming about how they determine these values lol.

With that all said, I tend to agree with you S&C is likely low carb :p And FWIW, Weruva is very open about nutrition info and posts As-Fed (and Dry Matter) values on their website making it easy to use them for calculating carbs as a % of total calories.

I can tell how much you care and just want to help Toeby - the frustration is shared by many of us :bighug: I'm sure Bron will be by when she can. I saw @tiffmaxee helping on your old thread too (she might not have realized you had a new post for today). Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Stella and Chewy's has never been forthcoming on their nutrient analysis. Been like that for years. :banghead:

Toeby officially becomes a long term diabetic next month. We look for the date they were first diagnosed as diabetic, not the date they started back on insulin. And cats that have come out of remission are typically harder to get back into remission, so if you can, it's good to be a bit more aggressive with getting them back into good numbers ASAP.

Today is cycle six after the last greens. If he doesn't break that bounce tomorrow, I would increase. I'm hoping today is the high before the drop that sometimes happens when they break a bounce.
 
Laura, I was sent this site to help me take what information is provided on cat food and determine the caloric content. Just enter what you see on the can or bag. You might not have everything that it ask for but it is a start. BalanceIT.com
 
Back
Top