5/7 Yoyo AMPS 64,57,52,(+2 AMPS)153,+1 149,+2 143,+3 133,+4 135,+10.5 189,PMPS 211,+2 204,+4 176

Are you home today and can monitor and have plenty of test strips and higher carb food? If so, I would shoot and start off with getting a + 1 and 2

ETA. YOU are an alpha track. Don’t shoot until he is up over 68. !
 
Stall without feeding and when he comes up over 68 shoot a reduce dose . He earned a reduction.

ETA: Which meter gave you the 57? I see you are using human and Alpha Track. If the 57 was on the human meter, then you can shoot anything over 50. And you would hold the present dose. If it was on the AT 2 meter, then that is too low to shoot and you'd wait until he gets up over 68 to shoot and then you would shoot a reduced dose.
 
Are you home today and can monitor and have plenty of test strips and higher carb food? If so, I would shoot and start off with getting a + 1 and 2

ETA. YOU are an alpha track. Don’t shoot until he is up over 68. !
The 57 is from human BG meter.
Then cause I waited 10 minutes he dropped to 52.
I just gave him food,getting too low. I have not given insulin ...
 
That can be the problem with stalling too long sometimes they continue to drop. Since it was with the human meter you could have shot the 57. He would have likely gotten a bump up from his breakfast and he’s Probably going to bounce from being lower than he usually is.

I get that it was scary. The first few times lower numbers present themselves is worrisome. You will feel better prepared next time.
 
You can shoot 2 hours after eating if your schedule can be off that much and then make up the time 30 minutes a day or 15 minutes earlier each cycle.
 
That can be the problem with stalling too long sometimes they continue to drop. Since it was with the human meter you could have shot the 57. He would have likely gotten a bump up from his breakfast and he’s Probably going to bounce from being lower than he usually is.

I get that it was scary. The first few times lower numbers present themselves is worrisome. You will feel better prepared next time.
Thank you for being here with me this morning. I didn't know what to do, so I didn't give him his dosage. The stalling part got me worried that he kept dropping and I knew he was 97@+9.
 
You can shoot 2 hours after eating if your schedule can be off that much and then make up the time 30 minutes a day or 15 minutes earlier each cycle.
When should I be retesting him...now? Or wait a half hour after his meal?
I'll keep it in mind about giving him his insulin 2 hours late....thanks again!!
 
When should I be retesting him...now? Or wait a half hour after his meal?
I'll keep it in mind about giving him his insulin 2 hours late....thanks again!!
Just for peace of mind, I would test 30 minutes after you fed to make sure he came up. Without insulin on board , he should be fine. But, just for peace of mind...
 
Just for peace of mind, I would test 30 minutes after you fed to make sure he came up. Without insulin on board , he should be fine. But, just for peace of mind...
After rereading all your posts....I believe you wrote that I can shoot two hours after feeding, do you recommend this or should I just skip this am cycle?
 
Just for peace of mind, I would test 30 minutes after you fed to make sure he came up. Without insulin on board , he should be fine. But, just for peace of mind...
I wanted to thank you again and to let you know that I did give him his insulin at +14. I waited 2 hours after initial feeding of 3/4 can and he went up to 153. The poor thing is so full of food, but I wanted him to be safe when I gave him his insulin dosage.
 
I would get another test in and see if he is still going up. If he is and you can be off schedule, I think you are okay to shoot two hours late.
I did give him his insulin dosage 2 hours late. Hope I didn't mess things up too badly but fear got hold of me this morning. All I could think of at that time was how low he kept going. Stalling made his numbers worse. I guess I should have given him his insulin when I first tested and he was 64 but I knew he was at 97 a few hours earlier and that threw me off.
 
I did give him his insulin dosage 2 hours late. Hope I didn't mess things up too badly but fear got hold of me this morning. All I could think of at that time was how low he kept going. Stalling made his numbers worse. I guess I should have given him his insulin when I first tested and he was 64 but I knew he was at 97 a few hours earlier and that threw me off.
Remember, tonight's dose is 12 hours from the late shot. You can shoot as early as 30 minutes tonight if his number isn't too low. Then you can start regaining your time schedule for shots each day by 30 minutes all at once or 15 minutes in each cycle.
 
Remember, tonight's dose is 12 hours from the late shot. You can shoot as early as 30 minutes tonight if his number isn't too low. Then you can start regaining your time schedule for shots each day by 30 minutes all at once or 15 minutes in each cycle.
Ok....thank you!
What is considered too low a number to shoot 30 minutes earlier?
 
I’m glad @Bobbie And Bubba and @carfurby were here to help you today.

I know this was scary for you. I want to give you some info for when it happens again because it will :)

What you did today was fine. No harm...he stayed pretty flat and that’s good. I’m sorry that we were already on the road and I wasn’t around to help you but if I’d been in AZ, I’d have still been dead asleep :p

There are two kinds of dropping numbers:
  • When a bounce is clearing and the BG drops from one PS to the next
  • A second dip when the nadir has occurred earlier and the BG has come up; typically the BG from a second dip is not lower than the nadir.
Both scenarios can let the CG take advantage of carryover and overlap. An experienced member can take advantage of the dropping number from a bounce as long as they have data and know how to deal with numbers that might keep dropping. When it’s a second dip, you can usually expect the BG to start rising again until onset.

It looks to me like he got a good amount of duration last night. The 64 this morning at +12 looks like a second dip. It kept falling because he wasn’t fed. As Bobbie said, the best thing to do is to shoot the PS on time provided it is above 50 (human meter), and feed a good solid meal, test at +1 and +2. It’s scary shooting a number like that when you know it’s less than the +9. You can see how feeding him brought the numbers up because he was at the end of his cycle.

Again, you did not do anything wrong. Even if his numbers had climbed high, it was still ok. It’s how we learn. We all have done that at least once.

The other thing to remember about getting back on schedule is that you can shoot more than 30 minutes early if PS has gone way up. You could have easily have shot at +11 tonight to get closer to your regular shot time. Then you could have shot 30 mins early tomorrow night and 30 mins early the next morning or evening cycle. You have data and you are there to test him.

I hope this helps. You are such a great mom and a fast learner. Gracie loved to give me 50s at shot time so I had to learn to shoot them on time; it was frightening at first and it’s one of the reasons I switched her to Levemir because then I had four hours instead of two until onset.

Yoyo still had a very good cycle. I think he might have more up his sleeve in the future ;):bighug::bighug:
 
I’m glad @Bobbie And Bubba and @carfurby were here to help you today.

I know this was scary for you. I want to give you some info for when it happens again because it will :)

What you did today was fine. No harm...he stayed pretty flat and that’s good. I’m sorry that we were already on the road and I wasn’t around to help you but if I’d been in AZ, I’d have still been dead asleep :p

There are two kinds of dropping numbers:
  • When a bounce is clearing and the BG drops from one PS to the next
  • A second dip when the nadir has occurred earlier and the BG has come up; typically the BG from a second dip is not lower than the nadir.
Both scenarios can let the CG take advantage of carryover and overlap. An experienced member can take advantage of the dropping number from a bounce as long as they have data and know how to deal with numbers that might keep dropping. When it’s a second dip, you can usually expect the BG to start rising again until onset.

It looks to me like he got a good amount of duration last night. The 64 this morning at +12 looks like a second dip. It kept falling because he wasn’t fed. As Bobbie said, the best thing to do is to shoot the PS on time provided it is above 50 (human meter), and feed a good solid meal, test at +1 and +2. It’s scary shooting a number like that when you know it’s less than the +9. You can see how feeding him brought the numbers up because he was at the end of his cycle.

Again, you did not do anything wrong. Even if his numbers had climbed high, it was still ok. It’s how we learn. We all have done that at least once.

The other thing to remember about getting back on schedule is that you can shoot more than 30 minutes early if PS has gone way up. You could have easily have shot at +11 tonight to get closer to your regular shot time. Then you could have shot 30 mins early tomorrow night and 30 mins early the next morning or evening cycle. You have data and you are there to test him.

I hope this helps. You are such a great mom and a fast learner. Gracie loved to give me 50s at shot time so I had to learn to shoot them on time; it was frightening at first and it’s one of the reasons I switched her to Levemir because then I had four hours instead of two until onset.

Yoyo still had a very good cycle. I think he might have more up his sleeve in the future ;):bighug::bighug:

The second dips really scare me. I am always afraid that when I give him the insulin that he will go way down past 50. And this morning he was down to 52 when I stalled. I always heard that one should stall and see if the numbers come up. But with Yoyo, as I have experienced before, he seems to go lower instead of going up. So I guess stalling isn't a great idea for Yoyo.
With this mornings low numbers, would you have fed LC food or would you have fed MC food before giving the insulin?

I guess most of my fear is not understanding how insulin works and by that I mean how the insulin on such day will effect his numbers. I fear that the food will not raise his count enough or that his number is so low already and what if he has a BIG drop? That is what scares me the most.

Which is more serious.....giving insulin after a bounce is clearing or giving insulin after a second dip?

Glad you are enjoying your vacation.:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top