5/9 Mookitty AMPS 394 After a Very High Night

I don’t understand your dosing. What us .9? With SLGS you reduce and increase in .25 increments and then hold the dose for 7 days. Even with TR a dose is held for 6-10 cycles although if a reduction fails there’s no set time before going back up.
 
At 1.25 and 1.1 she was dropping too fast when she got into lower numbers, such that she could have become hypoglycemic if I wasn't there to feed high carb food. I lowered the dose to 0.75-0.8 instead because I did not want her dose to be excessively low given her recent DKA. I went back up to 0.9 when I realized that looked like an overcorrection and am holding the 0.9 dose currently. I was advised by other members to go back up to 1.1, so I'm being conservative with this current number.

I've been advised to hold a modified version of SLGS in which I try to keep her within the SLGS range but can increase the dose more quickly than 7 days because of her recent DKA history. 0.25 increments seem too harsh for her either going up or down. She's really small (about 1/2 the size of plenty of the cats on here) and the tiniest change in her dosing does make a difference.
 
At 1.25 and 1.1 she was dropping too fast when she got into lower numbers, such that she could have become hypoglycemic if I wasn't there to feed high carb food. I lowered the dose to 0.75-0.8 instead because I did not want her dose to be excessively low given her recent DKA. I went back up to 0.9 when I realized that looked like an overcorrection and am holding the 0.9 dose currently. I was advised by other members to go back up to 1.1, so I'm being conservative with this current number.

I've been advised to hold a modified version of SLGS in which I try to keep her within the SLGS range but can increase the dose more quickly than 7 days because of her recent DKA history. 0.25 increments seem too harsh for her either going up or down. She's really small (about 1/2 the size of plenty of the cats on here) and the tiniest change in her dosing does make a difference.

@tiffmaxee
Hi Elise here is the thread where she was advised to do a modified SLGS
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-6-mookitty-amps-470-2-197-3-85-4-88-163.262970/

#7, #8 and #9
 
You would still hold the dose for at least 6 cycles before increasing. I don’t know that you can get her to hold above 80 without food. Most of us feed 3-4 times each cycle. You do want her to be able to stay up on her own for 2 hours before leaving her or going to bed. It’s fine to leave out lc as extra protection.
 
Last edited:
THE FOLLOWING IS ADVICE FOR MOO ONLY. ANY LURKERS PLEASE DO NOT COPY.

You are using custom dosing. Please do not increase sooner than 7 days unless you have an experienced member guiding you and telling you to increase. Do not increase sooner than 3 days unless advised to do so by an experienced member because are ketones present. To increase sooner than 7 days get at least two tests each cycle which you are doing.

I hope this helps get Moo into normal numbers safely.
 
It has been two cycles so far at 0.9 where her numbers have been high and she has been meowing excessively. She gets restless, drinks a ton, and I can feel her pulse racing at times.

My question was whether this is likely a bounce or not. If not, she is underdosed enough to make her uncomfortable regardless of ketones. Still hold for 6 cycles?
 
Last edited:
Yes you need to hold this dose for at least 6 cycles even if you were following TR unless there were ketones in the picture. You are getting mid to lower blues with this dose. You can’t rush things.
 
I've asked twice about bouncing. Still no answer. This mornong she refused food.

She is obviously suffering right now. This is the first few nights since her diagnosis and DKA that she has behaved like this. Im not trying to be rude, but this cat would have been dead months ago if I had made my decisions because of deference to authority.

Six cycles is a rule of thumb guide for how long it takes to see the result lf a dose change but the post about this mentions this can be shorter for smaller doses. In the spreadsheet, there is no clear indicators that her bg values are heading anywhere other than where they are already now.
 
You would still hold the dose for at least 6 cycles before increasing. I don’t know that you can get her to hold above 80 without food. Most of us feed 3-4 times each cycle. You do want her to be able to stay up on her own for 2 hours before leaving her or going to bed. It’s fine to leave out lc as extra protection.
It was never without food. Its without high carb food and syrup.
 
It takes at least 6 cycles to see how the dose effects bg. Bg will be all over the place very often with a newly diagnosed cat. As Bron said you can’t rush the process. I will add for many it is or feels like a marathon and it’s not a race. You have to trust the process.
 
It takes at least 6 cycles to see how the dose effects bg. Bg will be all over the place very often with a newly diagnosed cat. As Bron said you can’t rush the process. I will add for many it is or feels like a marathon and it’s not a race. You have to trust the process.
I just got a precision Xtra blood ketone meter because I cant reliably get measurements from her pee. 0.5 mmol/liter is okay? I'll retest later today. I'm really worried about how she has been acting
 
I just got a precision Xtra blood ketone meter because I cant reliably get measurements from her pee. 0.5 mmol/liter is okay? I'll retest later today. I'm really worried about how she has been acting

under .6 is considered ok but ANY ketones in a cat with a history of DKA are a concern imo. Just good to monitor and make sure it's not rising

.6 to 1.5 = monitor closely, check more often to see if trending up

above 1.5 is considered at risk for incoming DKA, if above 1.5 and also showing signs (lethargy, no appetite, etc), call vet immediately
 
From this post: Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters

When do ketones show up on a blood ketone meter such as the Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters?

The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:

Measurement of ketones - Weingart_J VET Diagn Invest-2012(1).pdf
Measuring ketones - JSAP_Zeugswetter - 2012.pdf

Please consider starting a new post for today with a link to yesterday's post. Today's AM cycle will be cycle 6 at this dose.
 
From this post: Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters

When do ketones show up on a blood ketone meter such as the Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters?

The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:

Measurement of ketones - Weingart_J VET Diagn Invest-2012(1).pdf
Measuring ketones - JSAP_Zeugswetter - 2012.pdf

Please consider starting a new post for today with a link to yesterday's post. Today's AM cycle will be cycle 6 at this dose.
Will do. Thanks
 
Back
Top