? 6/12 Ivy PMPS 99,Fast Drop AMPS 98 contour, +131, +1.5 186, +2 173, +4 233

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ing-cycles-amps-156-5-251-6-241-8-255.278469/
Ivy dropping again before her a.m. PS is due in 45 minutes from now. 52 on libre & 152 on contour next meter.
***These numbers do have food in her system, so maybe food influenced.

Been dropping for several hours, given several snacks of low carb mixed with medium carb.
Last time I gave medium carb quarter of a teaspoon at +11
We are now at 11.25.

*Do I give her more MC to try to raise her before it’s time for her meal in 30 minutes & shot, or will that obviously influence her number when it’s shot time, to decide whether or not to shoot a full dose of 3.5U Lantus?
Is her dose too high since she keeps having this happen??

This early sharp drop and bounce break/late Nadir is her norm lately.
Thank you.
upload_2023-6-12_5-30-12.jpeg

@Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-12_5-30-12.jpeg
    upload_2023-6-12_5-30-12.jpeg
    57.4 KB · Views: 125
Here are her numbers just after eating meal. Food influenced bgs and fed her prior to this blood pokie. Here’s hoping I’m safe to shoot full dose. Say a prayer.
upload_2023-6-12_6-14-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-12_6-14-23.jpeg
    upload_2023-6-12_6-14-23.jpeg
    68.2 KB · Views: 122
Staci, have you given a dose yet?
Yes I gave full dose. Hoping that was safe to do. She’s rising a bit at 118 Libre, took about 30 minutes to get a rise.
Fed lc meal with 1 tsp mc mixed in.
Will give small snacks for +1,2,3, 6,8,10 in hopes of not having another dive at pmps. Does that seem like too many snacks to keep her boosted?
 
Last edited:
Yes I gave full dose. Hoping that was safe to do. She’s rising a bit at 118 Libre, took about 30 minutes to get a rise.
Fed lc meal with 1 tsp mc mixed in.
Will give small snacks for +1,2,3, 6,8,10 in hopes of not having another dive at pmps. Does that seem like too many snacks to keep her boosted?
I would see what the BG is before deciding on a snack each hour. While it is lower I think a teaspoon of low carb snack is fine. And I think a few snacks during the first half of the cycles is a good idea. Just keep in mind that these early BG tests are food influenced by the higher carb food you gave and they could dip once the high carb food wears off…but may not.
The Libre is really not reliable at the lower numbers. When you start getting numbers on the Libre under around 80 to 100, I would check with the hand held meter.
 
I would see what the BG is before deciding on a snack each hour. While it is lower I think a teaspoon of low carb snack is fine. And I think a few snacks during the first half of the cycles is a good idea. Just keep in mind that these early BG tests are food influenced by the higher carb food you gave and they could dip once the high carb food wears off…but may not.
The Libre is really not reliable at the lower numbers. When you start getting numbers on the Libre under around 80 to 100, I would check with the hand held meter.
Ok I will give lc snacks early part of cycle as I usually do. I do know to check low bgs with the hand held meter :)
It usually takes her several hours to come up after a low drop as this. But it’s happening most days.
 
Wondering what to do about her current dose on TR. She’s on 3.5 u Lantus, day 5.
Since she’s been breaking bounces for days on end round the clock now, and we’ve had 2 reduced doses, how do I know when it’s time to increase her dose, if that’s appropriate??
@Bandit's Mom

I feel like I’m on a merry go round. Literally all I do is test, feed snacks, Try to figure out what food to feed her to prepare for the next deep dive or how to bring her number up.
I can’t even leave the house. I really don’t know how to handle this. I’m so overwhelmed. :(
 
So I’ve been examining the data and I actually think that right now given the 6% low-carb food Ivy is on is too low for the amount of insulin We are giving her at 3.5 units.
At this dose I think her body can’t handle the lower carb level and the higher dose for her of Lantus.

It’s only since we have really been pushing higher doses of insulin on the same 6% low carb food that I’ve been giving her for 8 months but all of a sudden she’s really crashing before each dose of insulin is due.
I didn’t used to have to give snacks around the clock and she wasn’t diving into under 100 BG in the hours leading up to her next cycle beginning.
So I’m thinking I need to actually reduce her insulin a little bit until I can get her food reformulated to little bit higher carb food.
And then hopefully be able to increase the dose again when there’s a little more carb content in her body to handle the insulin.

Is it advisable if I do this to go back a .25 dose or .50 unit dose? Does any of this makes sense or am I completely crazy?
@Bandit's Mom @Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo
 
I'm glad you shot full dose.

She hasn't gone under 50 on the human meter on this dose. Which is what she needs to do to earn a reduction. That or stay a week in normal BG numbers. So stick with this dose, and hopefully you will get enough cycles in to know what her nadirs (on a human meter) are on this dose.
Wondering what to do about her current dose on TR. She’s on 3.5 u Lantus, day 5.
It's not really day 5 of this dose - today is only the third cycle in a row at this dose. Reminder: Counting Cycles

She's not "crashing" before each preshot, she has a later nadir. If you are seeing her go down before the end of the cycle, maybe try a small meal at +9.5/+10 to try to slow her down. Even then, she's not giving you unshootable numbers at preshot. And since she's on her way up today, you can skip that +6 snack. And see what she is closer to +9 to see if she needs a later snack.
 
I'm glad you shot full dose.

She hasn't gone under 50 on the human meter on this dose. Which is what she needs to do to earn a reduction. That or stay a week in normal BG numbers. So stick with this dose, and hopefully you will get enough cycles in to know what her nadirs (on a human meter) are on this dose.

It's not really day 5 of this dose - today is only the third cycle in a row at this dose. Reminder: Counting Cycles

She's not "crashing" before each preshot, she has a later nadir. If you are seeing her go down before the end of the cycle, maybe try a small meal at +9.5/+10 to try to slow her down. Even then, she's not giving you unshootable numbers at preshot. And since she's on her way up today, you can skip that +6 snack. And see what she is closer to +9 to see if she needs a later snack.
Hi Wendy, I have been giving Later snacks and they’re doing nothing to stop her from crashing. All I’m doing is literally around the clock feeding and it seems like the carb content 6% of the food I’m giving her is not enough to handle the level of insulin.
I feel like I need to have her food reformulated with a little bit higher carb content to be able to handle this load of insulin, plus, I haven’t been giving her her full meal at meal time because I’ve been breaking it down into all these tiny little snacks, so I feel like I’m not giving her enough food upfront to handle the load of the insulin.
Before one week ago, I wasn’t having to feed her around the clock not be sleeping all night long myself. I haven’t left the house in a week. This is unsustainable.
So I feel like a slight reduction which I don’t wanna do, but until I get a better carb/ food that might be able to handle the insulin, might be a better option for her and me. :(
I assume if I do take a .25 unit reduction, she will still have extra insulin in her system Depot and will probably be still bouncy for several days??
 
I'm glad you shot full dose.

She hasn't gone under 50 on the human meter on this dose. Which is what she needs to do to earn a reduction. That or stay a week in normal BG numbers. So stick with this dose, and hopefully you will get enough cycles in to know what her nadirs (on a human meter) are on this dose.

It's not really day 5 of this dose - today is only the third cycle in a row at this dose. Reminder: Counting Cycles

She's not "crashing" before each preshot, she has a later nadir. If you are seeing her go down before the end of the cycle, maybe try a small meal at +9.5/+10 to try to slow her down. Even then, she's not giving you unshootable numbers at preshot. And since she's on her way up today, you can skip that +6 snack. And see what she is closer to +9 to see if she needs a later snack.
This is what her levels look like pretty much at every cycle leading to the next dose. It’s like a tidal wave coming
upload_2023-6-12_12-44-35.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-12_12-44-35.png
    upload_2023-6-12_12-44-35.png
    80.5 KB · Views: 123
You've probably heard us say that the Libre is not accurate at lower numbers. Ivy is proof of that. We've seen cats take reductions with Libre lows many a time, only to have those reductions fail. If you are following TR, the reduction point is 50 on a human meter. She hadn't done that yet. She's not crashing with a human meter. 152 is not low.
 
You've probably heard us say that the Libre is not accurate at lower numbers. Ivy is proof of that. We've seen cats take reductions with Libre lows many a time, only to have those reductions fail. If you are following TR, the reduction point is 50 on a human meter. She hadn't done that yet. She's not crashing with a human meter. 152 is not low.
Yes that’s true but she has been lower than 152 on the human meter. Problem is that she’s constantly diving and I’m having to scoop her up and prop her up with carbs and it feels unsustainable and I’m literally not able to leave the house and it seems connected to the carbs but she’s eating.
The low carbs seem to be too low to be sustaining the insulin. Maybe I’m completely crazy but it seems like I shouldn’t have to be 24 hours a day monitoring her and seeing what I showed you on the Libre Graph, That she’s dropping before every cycle in a drastic way.
I’ve been feeding her 12 times a day and between her meals and all the snacks it’s all day and all night. That just seems too much and it’s still not working she still crashing maybe she’s not hypo, but she’s going so low so fast I just don’t know what to do.
 
Falling again p.m.PS will this cycle just never end??
upload_2023-6-12_17-27-1.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-12_17-27-1.png
    upload_2023-6-12_17-27-1.png
    88.3 KB · Views: 102
I see as low as 66 on the human meter - still not low enough for a reduction when following TR. She's dropping by less than 20 points per hour now, not going down fast at all. I don't know how many relatively recently diagnosed cats spreadsheets you have looked at, but Ivy is not atypical. The only thing is she has a later nadir. Neko had a somewhat later nadir too, and earned her first reduction (under 50) starting the cycle over 430. That's what I call a dive. I've even seen cats start a cycle over 500 and earn a reduction.

Some cats do well with slightly higher carbs. Maybe you can get a formula for 8-9% carbs instead of 6.
 
I see as low as 66 on the human meter - still not low enough for a reduction when following TR. She's dropping by less than 20 points per hour now, not going down fast at all. I don't know how many relatively recently diagnosed cats spreadsheets you have looked at, but Ivy is not atypical. The only thing is she has a later nadir. Neko had a somewhat later nadir too, and earned her first reduction (under 50) starting the cycle over 430. That's what I call a dive. I've even seen cats start a cycle over 500 and earn a reduction.

Some cats do well with slightly higher carbs. Maybe you can get a formula for 8-9% carbs instead of 6.
Agreed, but what do I do before I can get a reformulation done? In the meantime she is at 99 and dropping right now on Libre. Shot in 30 mins
upload_2023-6-12_17-42-29.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-12_17-42-29.png
    upload_2023-6-12_17-42-29.png
    87.6 KB · Views: 105
Just now graph. I didn’t bother taking an airport because I know it’s gonna shower higher on the human meter but she still going very low at each cycle and that’s the real problem I’m having.
upload_2023-6-12_18-0-32.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-12_18-0-32.png
    upload_2023-6-12_18-0-32.png
    85 KB · Views: 100
I see as low as 66 on the human meter - still not low enough for a reduction when following TR. She's dropping by less than 20 points per hour now, not going down fast at all. I don't know how many relatively recently diagnosed cats spreadsheets you have looked at, but Ivy is not atypical. The only thing is she has a later nadir. Neko had a somewhat later nadir too, and earned her first reduction (under 50) starting the cycle over 430. That's what I call a dive. I've even seen cats start a cycle over 500 and earn a reduction.

Some cats do well with slightly higher carbs. Maybe you can get a formula for 8-9% carbs instead of 6.

She dropped over 100 points in 1 hour just now leading to her meal. That seems like a lot to me.
 
Back
Top