6/13 Newman AMPS 250 increase dose

207 @ + 4.5
194 @ + 8.5
Hooray. I checked a couple of times today and saw the first one - the 207. I was thinking… close to blue. So I checked a few more times and I thought…. Come on, Newman, come out for a snack. So, overall he hasn’t gone down much from his AMPS of 250 to 194, but I am still going to celebrate a blue anyway! It’s only the first day of the new dose. :cat:
 
PMPS 245 shot 1.75 units @Suzanne & Darcy

Changes make me nervous so I have my fingers crossed.
I know. Change is not my favorite thing either! He's doing well so far. You are doing great! You are there with him, so I feel good about that.

You would not believe it, but sometimes I have dreams about the cats on this Board. I wake up at night sometimes thinking... is so and so (cat name) okay... will it be okay... I'm worried... what if it's not okay, etc.
 
I know. Change is not my favorite thing either! He's doing well so far. You are doing great! You are there with him, so I feel good about that.

You would not believe it, but sometimes I have dreams about the cats on this Board. I wake up at night sometimes thinking... is so and so (cat name) okay... will it be okay... I'm worried... what if it's not okay, etc.

Sorry about those dreams. I could not do what you do here. Your help is so appreciated.

I hope that Newman's evening and overnight will go as well as the daytime has gone. The preshot numbers are essentially the same.

Like everyone else here, I just want my little guy to feel better.
 
Sorry about those dreams. I could not do what you do here. Your help is so appreciated.

I hope that Newman's evening and overnight will go as well as the daytime has gone. The preshot numbers are essentially the same.

Like everyone else here, I just want my little guy to feel better.
I hope Newman had a good day today. And you too! I did notice the AMPS and PMPS were both almost exactly the same.
 
I hope Newman had a good day today. And you too! I did notice the AMPS and PMPS were both almost exactly the same.
I think he did feel a bit better today. He was more present, less sleeping and his appetite picked up, compared to yesterday when I had to prime him with pure bites to get him interested in his Fancy Feast. He spent some time on the screened porch after his dinner this afternoon and now he is perched, looking out the front window watching the dog walkers go by or maybe just a lizard on the porch railing!
 
I think he did feel a bit better today. He was more present, less sleeping and his appetite picked up, compared to yesterday when I had to prime him with pure bites to get him interested in his Fancy Feast. He spent some time on the screened porch after his dinner this afternoon and now he is perched, looking out the front window watching the dog walkers go by or maybe just a lizard on the porch railing!
My cats love watching lizards! Also they love the Pure Bites crumbled on top of their food (I think I'll do that this morning, thanks for the reminder ... Chewy had the large bag on sale last week for about half price and I added it on to my autoship order.)
 
I didn't get many tests today. His good ear is looking so beat up, I decided to give it some time to heal and just observe how he was acting. He had a good day, some activity and some naps, sleeping in his favorite position, on his back with his feet up in the air. I tried his crinkled ear but he is very protective of it, so I'll not force that.

PMPS 271 shot 1.75 @Suzanne & Darcy

More testing tomorrow.
 
I didn't get many tests today. His good ear is looking so beat up, I decided to give it some time to heal and just observe how he was acting. He had a good day, some activity and some naps, sleeping in his favorite position, on his back with his feet up in the air. I tried his crinkled ear but he is very protective of it, so I'll not force that.

PMPS 271 shot 1.75 @Suzanne & Darcy

More testing tomorrow.
Oh. Poor baby! How did you say his ear got all crinkled up? I have one cat who is white who had skin cancer on his ears from the sun. Last December we had his ears trimmed to get all the skin cancer off of them. He kind of looks like a kitty version of a Doberman now. He is kind of protective of those ears now, too. He’s the sweetest guy though. I cannot sit down without him wanting to hop in my lap - to say nothing of the bed! He seems so grateful just to have been rescued from his life outside.
 
But anyway, you got a mid-cycle test in and that looks like it was enough for today. I know if anything had seemed amiss you would have done more testing. So no worries. He’s a good boy. I’m glad you gave him a break.
 
Oh. Poor baby! How did you say his ear got all crinkled up? I have one cat who is white who had skin cancer on his ears from the sun. Last December we had his ears trimmed to get all the skin cancer off of them. He kind of looks like a kitty version of a Doberman now. He is kind of protective of those ears now, too. He’s the sweetest guy though. I cannot sit down without him wanting to hop in my lap - to say nothing of the bed! He seems so grateful just to have been rescued from his life outside.

He has had the crinkled ear for several years. I have no idea what happened to cause it, he came in from the screened porch and it was full of blood. I had had a dog that had the same thing many years ago probably from shaking her head and her ears were big and floppy. I had it repaired but was told it was for cosmetic reasons only that the blood would absorb on its own. So with that experience, I allowed Newman's ear heal on its own. Who knew I would need it for testing!
 
I wonder what in the world caused that hematoma? Sounds like it didn’t heal that well on its own if it became all crinkled. I’ll keep that in mind if this happens to any of my cats! You would think they could at least drain it. What did they have to do to your dog’s ear to make it look more normal?
 
I wonder what in the world caused that hematoma? Sounds like it didn’t heal that well on its own if it became all crinkled. I’ll keep that in mind if this happens to any of my cats! You would think they could at least drain it. What did they have to do to your dog’s ear to make it look more normal?
No good guess as to what was the cause in Newman. For the dog, Peaches, they drained it I assume and then they stitched it like tufts on a pillow, if that makes sense. She had floppy hound dog ears and the damaged one resulted in being relatively flat but bumpy. It was not shriveled like Newman's. In hindsight, I wish I had had it repaired.
 
He is the very definition of flat. . Sorry. I hope he’s having a good day though…. Watching lizards or birds.
Yes, I see those flat yellow numbers. I trust that 4 cycles is enough trial to make adjustment?

Looking back I see that on 5/27 I got into trouble shooting 2 units. I have handwritten notes and he actually first tested at 137, so I did the 20 minute stall, got the 149 and reduced to the skinny dose.

In hindsight, do you think on the 149 I should have shot a much lower dose?
 
Yes, I see those flat yellow numbers. I trust that 4 cycles is enough trial to make adjustment?

Looking back I see that on 5/27 I got into trouble shooting 2 units. I have handwritten notes and he actually first tested at 137, so I did the 20 minute stall, got the 149 and reduced to the skinny dose.

In hindsight, do you think on the 149 I should have shot a much lower dose?
I'm not sure. He did drop on that day. Lately, he seems to be so flat... getting almost no response from the insulin. A cat's insulin needs can and do change over time. I'm going to tag my friend, Tee, to see what he thinks about Newman's spreadsheet. I prefer a more consistent dose, but I do understand that sometimes a lower dose must be shot (especially with ProZinc). Right now, it looks like Newman is not getting enough insulin. @Teetee (UK)
 
I'm not sure. He did drop on that day. Lately, he seems to be so flat... getting almost no response from the insulin. A cat's insulin needs can and do change over time. I'm going to tag my friend, Tee, to see what he thinks about Newman's spreadsheet. I prefer a more consistent dose, but I do understand that sometimes a lower dose must be shot (especially with ProZinc). Right now, it looks like Newman is not getting enough insulin. @Teetee (UK)
I agree he's very flat, how old is the Prozinc Linda? as i can't see any info on your spreadsheet about a new vial being opened.
If the Prozinc is in date then i would say an increase of 0.25u is needed.
 
Last edited:
I agree he's very flat, how old is the Prozinc Linda? as i can't see any info on your spreadsheet about a new vial being opened.
If the Prozinc is in date then i would say an increase of 0.25u is needed.

Hello Tee, thanks for reviewing Newman's spreadsheet. The vial of Prozinc was opened 5/1. (Good idea. I will note that on the spreadsheet.) I appreciate your input.
 
Increase .25

Shooting 2.0 on AMPS 305 @Suzanne & Darcy @Teetee (UK)
Technically, if you are following SLGS, you should hold the dose for a week. I wasn't thinking that you would increase this morning, although I think in this case it will be okay after 4 days on this dose. Modified ProZinc method allows you to increase faster. Of course, you're also supposed to do a curve after a week on a dose. I know that this is not always possible.

Try to get a few tests today, if Newman will cooperate with you and present himself for testing :-)
 
Reach out if you need anything! I am taking my kids out to lunch, and will be running errands a bit, but will have my phone. :)
I hope you had a nice day and enjoyed lunch with your kids.

I spent most of the day bookkeeping and tying up loose ends!

Newman seemed to have a day that is normal for him. He got the crazies and ran throughout the house, took naps and wrestled with Ozzie. He does seem pretty sensitive to changes in dosage, and bounces but I don't have the experience to say.

We are running a bit behind schedule so he was still eating dinner up until 6 PM so I will not be able to get a PMPS until 8:00.
 
He’s eating? Now? Before you test? Sorry. Just asking? Please forgive me if I am just getting mixed up. I have had about 50 tags in the last hour. And a severe thunderstorm just rolled through here and took out a maple tree in our front yard. Snapped off at the trunk. We’ve been cleaning up outside from the wind and hail.
 
Wow, it must have been quite a storm. Sorry about the tree. Glad that there was no damage to your house and no one got hurt. Thunderstorms can be scary.

No, he was done eating at six, so I just tested him at eight. His PMPS is 337. I plan to stay with the 2 units. @Suzanne & Darcy

I have posted all test results from today on the spreadsheet. @Teetee (UK)
 
Wow, it must have been quite a storm. Sorry about the tree. Glad that there was no damage to your house and no one got hurt. Thunderstorms can be scary.

No, he was done eating at six, so I just tested him at eight. His PMPS is 337. I plan to stay with the 2 units. @Suzanne & Darcy

I have posted all test results from today on the spreadsheet. @Teetee (UK)
Thanks, Linda. You are doing a fantastic job of testing! Let's all put on our famous FDMB "patience pants" and give Newman a chance. Thanks for the clarification on the food. I hope Newman is okay with it!
 
New Dose Wonkiness doesn't happen using Prozinc. :)
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/do-daas-pz-dosing.221698/page-2#post-2493252
@Marje and Gracie Post#180
"New Dose Wonkiness does not exist when using insulins that do not have a depot. In other words.....we only see it with Lantus and Levemir, not PZ."
I know! That’s what I was thinking. No NDW with Prozinc. Funny you should say that because I was just thinking about this.

ETA: I was trying to make a joke about it but should have been more clear. My cat certainly never had NDW when he was on ProZinc! It’s not to be expected from a single cycle insulin as opposed to a depot insulin. We started with Vetsulin then moved to ProZinc then Lantus and finally Levemir. We used them all! :)
 
Last edited:
Good morning. I'm glad you are here. First, Newman has caught on and he is avoiding coming to me for testing. My son had to wrangle him this morning, just now when I gave up.
Now, he has tested at 237. Normally, I feed him and then he comes back again for his morning shot. I lean toward going forward with that, but there is a good possibility that he won't come to me for his shot. And to complicate the situation, out AC is not working and the repair man is expected to be here shortly so there will definitely be "fall-out" from that. I guess I go ahead and hope for the best, adapting where necessary.
Finally, would you shoot the 2 units?
 
Wow, it must have been quite a storm. Sorry about the tree. Glad that there was no damage to your house and no one got hurt. Thunderstorms can be scary.

No, he was done eating at six, so I just tested him at eight. His PMPS is 337. I plan to stay with the 2 units. @Suzanne & Darcy

I have posted all test results from today on the spreadsheet. @Teetee (UK)
Hi Linda,
I'm a little confused here.
You say you fed Newman his supper at 6pm and tested him at 8pm then gave him his insulin, is that correct?
Did he have any food after his 8pm test and straight before his insulin?

The correct procedure is Test-feed-shoot all within the space of 15/20 minutes.
The test is to see if Newman is high enough to give insulin
The feed is to make sure Newman has enough food inside him prior to his shot
The shoot is obviously the prozinc.
All this should be done within a 15/20 minutes period.
It's fine to give Newman a very small snack 2 hours prior to his shot but only a very small snack, a teaspoon at most but his full meal should be at shot time otherwise his preshot tests could be food influenced and you get a false reading.
When you feed Newman but don't give him his insulin at the same time then he has no insulin in his body to reduce the BG created by the food and consequently throws his numbers up massively.
If you fed Newman at the same time as his shot then the insulin starts working sooner and better to help lower his numbers.
This could possibly be the reason why Newmans struggling to become regulated.
Also can i ask
How do you mix his insulin up, do you roll it in the palm of your hand before drawing it out into the syringe?
 
Good morning. I'm glad you are here. First, Newman has caught on and he is avoiding coming to me for testing. My son had to wrangle him this morning, just now when I gave up.
Now, he has tested at 237. Normally, I feed him and then he comes back again for his morning shot. I lean toward going forward with that, but there is a good possibility that he won't come to me for his shot. And to complicate the situation, out AC is not working and the repair man is expected to be here shortly so there will definitely be "fall-out" from that. I guess I go ahead and hope for the best, adapting where necessary.
Finally, would you shoot the 2 units?
I guess if your son is going to be at home today to help you wrangle Newman then yes, I would shoot the 2 units. I'm sorry about your AC. I wonder if Newman will go higher because of the stress of having the repairman around. When you feed him, his numbers will go up a little (have we ever figured out how much?) so he should be starting from a higher point. If Newman is not cooperating, then maybe he is forcing you to do a stall? But it's 8:00 now.
 
Optimally, you would be able to give him some snacks (or he would come out to graze) during the earlier part of the cycle. I wonder if the repairman being there might prevent him doing that? What does he typically do in that situation? Hide under the bed?
 
As you are aware, I am trying to adjust the normal feeding schedule to accommodate Newman's diabetes. He is fed dinner between 4:30 and 5:00, but he is a grazer. I always remove all food no later than 6:00 so that I have the 2 hour "no food window." Then, using this example, I test at 8:00 PM for his PMPS, using a couple treats to bribe and distract. After testing, I shoot him and then for the rest of the evening before bedtime, he can graze to finish his dinner food. I have been diligent to enforce the 2 hour fast before PMPS testing.
Finally, I roll the insulin vial to mix it.
 
Back
Top