6-17 Change to Lantus Tigger amps 116 dx6/6

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
Tigger is new FD. Vetsulin for 10 days. Changed from 1 U Vetsulin BID to 1 U Lantus BID last evening at 7:30Pm. BG was 382. This morning was 112 at 6:48, ate 3/4 can FF pate. 8:01 BG now 106. Have not given Insulin. Don't want to disrupt schedule but don't want hypo either. Acting perfectly normal (for him).
Shoot or not? holding for the moment. He was 70 a week ago on Vetsulin one morning. I know this is not a particularly low number. Suggestions?
 
Think I should give 1/2 dose 0.5 U this am or wait for a pm dose? Has eaten a can of FF classic pate. Hate to give/hold/feed hard to get a routine. Just gave a teaspoon of old dry high carb. He won't give anymore blood at the moment. Do you always go for the sweet spot on the ears? they seem to be taking a beating
 
Think I should give 1/2 dose 0.5 U this am or wait for a pm dose?
Wait for the PM dose. By then you would also get confirmation from others on your starting dose. Besides, I think it's nearly 2 hours after your AM shot time? We dose Lantus every 12 hours so that would delay your PM shot.

Just gave a teaspoon of old dry high carb.
He is in safe numbers. A cat's normal numbers are 50-100 on a human meter. We save high carb for drops below 50.
Please throw away his old HC dry food so he doesn't get into it! Use HC canned food when you need to use HC.

He won't give anymore blood at the moment. Do you always go for the sweet spot on the ears? they seem to be taking a beating
Yes. Have you tried warming his ear? Once their ears "learn" to bleed it gets easier.
Some people also use paw pads, but I've never had to do that.
 
He's bleeding easier but getting more feisty about the whole thing. Do warm them. I'll just wait to pm and start at 0.5 U. I know he's not too low at the moment but with first dose taking him from 350 range to 100 wanted to make sure not going to go further down. In humans Lantus is 24hr drug. Would be great if he drops into the lower 100's just a little cautious with 1st dose. I'll try getting a couple of reading during the day. Do you always aim for the spot on the outer ear or can you go to the middle of the ear or no blood there?
He seems really happy to have wet food after 12 years on dry. The dog loves Tigge'rs wet food. Smells like a fish house in here. Thanks for the back-up. Retired RN but different with a kitty that can't tell you how they feel.
 
I know he's not too low at the moment but with first dose taking him from 350 range to 100 wanted to make sure not going to go further down. In humans Lantus is 24hr drug.
It doesn't last 24 hours with a cat's metabolism. Since you skipped the shot and the Lantus depot has yet to build, you needn't worry. :-)

Do you always aim for the spot on the outer ear or can you go to the middle of the ear or no blood there?
I've always used the outer ear. I alternate ears and you can use both edges.

Not a great pic, but this is what I meant:
upload_2021-6-17_19-37-56.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-17_19-37-56.png
    upload_2021-6-17_19-37-56.png
    157.6 KB · Views: 108
Have been using outer edge. will try inner. Hit the vein yesterday, that was fun, he slung his head, blood droplets around kitchen for 5 feet. Be glad when this becomes more routine. Bought 0.5 cc syringe yesterday, 100. Not going to be able to use for 0.5 unit increments. What length of needle do you use, these were 15/64 and seem pretty short by the time you go through fur. Going to have lots of useless stuff by the time I get settled. U40 Syringes, U 100 1/2 cc, Vetsulin insulin. We'll get there. Thanks again
 
Do you use the lancing device or freehand with the lancet?

Bought 0.5 cc syringe yesterday, 100. Not going to be able to use for 0.5 unit increments. What length of needle do you use, these were 15/64 and seem pretty short by the time you go through fur.
Where from? Couldn't find the 0.3 cc ones? Walmart's Relion Brand has 0.3cc syringes with half unit markings. $12.58 for a box of 100
Can you return the 0.5CC ones?

This is what I use:
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16369/carepoint-vet-u100-pet-syringe-31g
 
Our mission is to Keep Diabetes Management Affordable.

ADW Diabetes Storewide Promotions
ADW5OFF
adw-coupon-adw5off.jpg

Take an additional $5.00 off all orders of $50.00 or more!

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Just picked up right syringe at Sams $11. Can't return any of the others but that's ok I'll give to some diabetic cats or people. Did hold am Lantus, probably would have been ok but rather safe....
11:am BG was 169. Going to quit fighting with him till 7pm then start again with 0.5 U. 1.0 U probably would be ok but rather start without drop/ feed carbs hold dose etc. What is a good range to try to establish for control. How many days should I wait to change dose if all goes well, seems like 3 days is advised here but maybe 5 for this early in the game unless running pretty high. HE IS NOW LAYING ON MY WRIST, I DON'T THINK HE LIKES ME DISCUSSING HIS CONDITION. I know the routine will settle in but he's all that has taken place around he for the last week.
Thanks to all for info and support, surely helps.
 
How many days should I wait to change dose if all goes well, seems like 3 days is advised here but maybe 5 for this early in the game unless running pretty high.
Are you following the TR or SLGS dosing protocol? You Signature says SLGS. With both protocols you hold the starting dose for a week and let the depot build.

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR: is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

This sticky has a ton of info. Light reading to pass the time ;)
The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!
 
Okay, no problems with further lower numbers this morning Was at 116 amps/6:45, 102/8:45, 169/11:00AM; never any signs of hypo. Did hold am 1 u of Lantus as didn't know if he would go any lower and that was his reaction to 1st Lantus. Last pm was 382 pmps. Gave 1st dose switching from 1 u of Vetsulin to Lantus 1 U at that time.
Some suggested this morning to go with 0.5 Lantus this evening rather than 1.0 per vet inst. With this evenings 331 pmps (now) what feelings out there about 0.5 vs 1.0 now?
 
Ended up giving 0.5 Lantus last night. amps is 221. Gave 0.5 again this morning, will check for a few days then start going up. I need to read up more on the insulin depot and the interactions of changes. I think if he stays yellow or high blue I'll go up some fairly soon, was just not sure yesterday morning, now looking at his reaction thru the day he probably could of handled the 1.0. I've had hypoglycemia at time and not fun, know not the same for cats but not fun.
I need to get some MC food just in case, only gave 1-2 teaspoons of dry but not the best way.
This morning went much easier, he's coming to expect the ear sticks as a necessary part of his day I think.
Will post later as the numbers come in.
Thanks
 
The Lantus depot takes a few days to build. And Lantus is dosed based on nadirs. Ignore the higher numbers that result from bouncing.
This sticky has the essentials for a "hypo tool kit" - Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers

There is a lot of information in the stickies at the top of the Lantus forum as well as Health Links / FAQs about Feline Diabetes


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A small housekeeping note, we request members to post a new thread every day. This ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read. Especially in time-critical situations like low numbers or a member stalling a shot.

The thread title nomenclature is:
<Date> - <Kitty's Name> - <AMPS/PMPS number and any other BG numbers you may have for the day> - <Question, if any>
Use the the '?' prefix in the thread title if you have a question, so people know that it's not just an update.
For e.g.
"? 10/18 - Henry - AMPS 285 - How much do I feed?"
We also ask that you link your previous post to the current post - just paste the URL of your previous post in the body of your current post saying "Previous Post"
 
Hi, Patty. Welcome to another Floridian. Just a tip about the testing. Smear a very thin layer of Vaseline over the tip of the ear where you will be testing. I only do this first thing in the morning but it lasts through the day. This helps the blood to "bead" up and not smear into the fur. Just easier to get a test with a bead of blood. Also, you can go more to the middle of the outside/tip of the ear as well as near the top/tip of the outer ear. I only test on one ear, for a few reasons, but I will go up and down the outer ear to about midpoint in order to not be sticking in the same spot all the time. Always near the outside of the ear. This will get easier the more you do it. Good luck. You are in great hands on this site.
 
Hi Patty, On your spreadsheet I see where you put switched to lantus
Up top in the orange box where you have vetsulin can you just add/started lantus
6-16. :cat:
Good luck with the lantus
Also can you read what Bhooma wrote in post #23 these numbers are on the right hand side
It's about post in in the Lantus board. You can start that today 6-18 :cat:
 
Back
Top