6/17 Jessi, AMPS 329 +2 259 +6 251 PMPS 258 +3 201 +6 247 +9 267

Stefania S

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ative-dose-please-advise.278453/#post-3079530


Hi all,

Sorry to have been away for a while.

We had some bad vibes or something. After a long run of no problems I had two missed shots in a row. Her BGs were already pretty high since getting the new sensor put on on Wednesday, possibly because I was dosing the .75 on the skinny side, I don't know.

And there was the stress of the vet visit. How long can the effects of stress on BG levels last?

The last two times I had a new sensor put on the numbers were high right after.

She is probably due for a dose increase, but I wanted to know if I should first wait since we had the two missed shots.

Thanks for your help as always!
 
Hi Stefania, no need to apologize for not posting :-)

Are you sure those 2 shots were furshots or are you assuming based on the numbers? Sometimes you can smell insulin even after having given a proper shot. Normally after a skipped shot or a furshot, you wait 6-8 cycles for the depot to rebuild.
 
Hi Stefania, no need to apologize for not posting :)

Are you sure those 2 shots were furshots or are you assuming based on the numbers? Sometimes you can smell insulin even after having given a proper shot. Normally after a skipped shot or a furshot, you wait 6-8 cycles for the depot to rebuild.

Hi Bhooma,

I'm pretty sure the first one was because it was also wet on the fur. The second one, I was sure it had gone in but then the smell on the fur was strong so I figured that combined with the numbers were telling me it was another missed one. But I still don't understand the causes and effects when it comes to BGs, so you tell me.

Today, I know it went in and the numbers are showing me that. Still, they're staying in the mid 200s so far, which is pretty high considering where we had gotten on .75 before the sensor came off.

I have the habit of sticking my nose in the spot where I injected. So far, I usually don't smell it at all so I assumed that if I could smell it, the injection didn't go well, but if you're saying you can smell it anyway, maybe the second one wasn't a fur shot, but the numbers seem to say it was. Her numbers usually go down pretty soon after a shot at least enough to know it wasn't a missed shot.

Do you know of another reason they should be so high and stay there?

Of course, without monitoring it's hard to know what was going on before we put the sensor on. But I expected better numbers than these, at least in the 200s.

So assuming there was at least one fur shot, I should wait at least 3 days?
 
Btw, I just saw that there was an error in the spreadsheet, maybe an automatic formatting or something. There was no fur shot this AM, it was yesterday morning and evening. Today the shot went well, and the numbers seem to be showing it. They're still high, but much better than the last couple of days.
 
Back
Top