6/18 Mr Kitty AMPS 250, +3 324, +6 223, +9 237 PMPS 309; OT chemo for dogs?

FrostD

Very Active Member
Last post

@Wendy&Neko what do you think? Hold 2 more cycles or increase? His nighttime cycles all seem to be active but daytime not so much, I'm not sure what to make of it. Duration looking a smidge better.

Off topic - anyone familiar with chemo for dogs? I've noticed a few people here using chlorambucil for their kitties, it's also an option for Pippis cancer if it has metastasized. Main side effects seem to be anemia and weight trouble.
 
You could hold another day if you want, but I suspect he will need an increase.

My experience with chlorambucil is with cats. It’s a pretty mild chemo that causes some nausea so meds needed for that. Nausea could mean weight loss if not eating enough. A good friend’s dog had lymphoma (likely B cell) and was on a chemo protocol with about four different drugs in rotation. Elspar just once, then vincristine, doxorubicin, Leukeran (chlorambucil) and cytoxan. Again, inappetance an issue so had Cerenia. And he did have to have bloodwork before most treatments to make sure his neutrophils were fine. Once had to delay treatment a week. My friend had some family issues to deal with so I took the dog to a couple of his treatments and went with her to the others for support. Dog loved going there, he got treats, and he liked the staff.
 
Back
Top