6-19-23 Sunny Bear - Remission!

Holly and Sunny Bear

Active Member
Sorry - Sunny's spreadsheet is not up to date - I stopped documenting his BG numbers earlier this year -- but he is now in remission - after 2 years and 2 months on insulin. :)

For the last couple of months, his numbers just kept staying low, with his nadirs in the 70s, and he'd stay under 100 all day, but he still had higher morning numbers between 99 and 115. I worked him down to a dose drop very slowly, and his numbers stayed low except for the morning number. I started to be more diligent about making sure he ate his small +9 snack in the morning, and that morning number eventually came down too. He was on a drop dose for a long time.

Today it has been 2 weeks without insulin and he's maintaining these nice low numbers, with the occasional higher number in the morning (103 this morning).

He's acting like a much younger cat now. He doesn't sleep all day like he used to, and he wants to play and get into the cupboards all day. :) And he comes to me to cuddle much more often than he used to. He's obviously feeling good.

I wanted to let you all know - and to thank you for all of your help. I don't think we would have seen remission in Sunny's case without following the TR protocol, and without glargine, which I would not have know about if not for FDMB and all your help. Thank you all so much!

I wanted to post - to give hope to other longhaulers - that remission is still possible anytime. :cat:
 
Back
Top