? 6/19 Ivy AMPS 268, 377 +3, 394 +6, 378 +9 "vacation dose" question

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-15-ivy-amps-218-222-1-194-4.278600/
Hi all, we are working on Ivy's Lantus dose of at 3.25 U, with SLGS.
I've been adding 1.5 - 2 tsp of 13% FF MC into her 6% LC regular meals to help give her a boost of carbs.
Feeding some snacks to try to keep her level.

I will review her novel protein (lamb) recipe with the the nutritionist tomorrow. I would like to get a LC, MC & HC recipe I could feed, depending on her situation. (I don't like feeding her FF with all the additives, since she eats a very clean home cooked diet, which has served her very well up until now, with all these complex situations.) I'm afraid she could be allergic to the FF foods (with her IBD situation).

The constant fast, deep dives at AMPS & PMPS have declined in frequency since SLGS and .25 U dose decrease. There have been some dives, but none that I was able to verify were under 90 on the Contour Next meter.

We are seeing the surgeon tomorrow morning to look at the surgical site of her broken leg (from 5/27/23). It's a very long recovery. She has to be isolated in a small room so she can't try to use the stairs or jump on furniture. I spend many hours a day in the room with her.

We are staying with current 3.25 U dose for the moment, her numbers have been somewhat higher, as expected. (I saw some very high numbers today (300s & 400s) but I gave her a bit more MC food in her AM meal. Maybe that contributed to higher numbers???)
She has seen a lot of blue and yellow value stretches lately (last few days).

Question: Is there a strategy for a lower dose for an evening out (a vacation dose perhaps, for one evening?) I have something on the calendar in about one week and not sure how to handle leaving her safely for 5-6 hours after feeding and insulin administration).
I would be about one hour away. My son will be here, he can monitor the Libre values and offer her food, but she won't let him touch her (she will bite and scratch him if he gets too close, sadly as he adores her!)
She's a tough girl! She only tolerates me doing doing all the tough stuff.

Any ideas would be appreciated!
 
Back
Top