6/2 Mr Kitty PMPS 158 Late Nadir Question

FrostD

Member Since 2020
Last post

Not a lot to talk about...up to 13U, hopefully have IAA and acro results by Friday.

For whatever reason his nadir seems to have shifted to the +7 to +10 range for the most part. Dayswith nadirs appearing a bit earlier are actually food bumps around +6/+7, he doesn't normally eat much mid cycle unless he's dropping fast/getting low (feeding the curve on his own so to speak).

Is there anything I need to know or do differently with a late nadir?
 
Neko's Lantus nadir was around +7 to +9, on Levemir it went from +9 to +12. Of course, that's typical nadir, she still moved it around a bit from cycle to cycle.

A couple differences with a later nadir. First, you have to get used to shooting lower as it's nadir is closer to shot time. One thing I really liked about the later nadir was that I could feed Neko later in the cycle. Ideally you want to minimize the amount of food you give after nadir, when the insulin effect is wearing off - as it'll shorten duration. Later nadir = later snacks. Both Neko and I liked that. Spotting that late PM nadir can be interesting, but it was actually better for me. 3-4 times a week I'm up at what +9 for a workout, so I'd be up for a nadir test. Later nadirs also meant I could go out for a dinner and sometimes a movie after shot time. :) And there are some times you do have to look at things differently. Sometimes Neko would nadir at +13 to +15.
 
Neko's Lantus nadir was around +7 to +9, on Levemir it went from +9 to +12. Of course, that's typical nadir, she still moved it around a bit from cycle to cycle.

A couple differences with a later nadir. First, you have to get used to shooting lower as it's nadir is closer to shot time. One thing I really liked about the later nadir was that I could feed Neko later in the cycle. Ideally you want to minimize the amount of food you give after nadir, when the insulin effect is wearing off - as it'll shorten duration. Later nadir = later snacks. Both Neko and I liked that. Spotting that late PM nadir can be interesting, but it was actually better for me. 3-4 times a week I'm up at what +9 for a workout, so I'd be up for a nadir test. Later nadirs also meant I could go out for a dinner and sometimes a movie after shot time. :) And there are some times you do have to look at things differently. Sometimes Neko would nadir at +13 to +15.
It does more conveniently line up with when the baby is up lol

I hadn't considered the food timing. I normally give him a full can at PS and he grazes on it all day. I'll give another 1/2 can if he seems like he needs more (he won't overeat, stops when he's full and will leave food in the bowl).

For the most part with this nadir shift/lower numbers he's been eating about 1/4 can before +4, then a 1/2 can up to nadir, after that he usually leaves the rest or grazes minimally. Should I think about changing this? I do have an auto feeder.
 
If your kitty is a grazer, I wouldn't worry about it as much. Maybe try for lower carbs later in the cycle. But it also sounds like he's doing the right thing on his own.
 
Back
Top