6/2 Taz, AMPS-247, +2-307, +5-206, PMPS-218, +3-209, +6-170, +9-176

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
I increased Taz to 2 units today and I'm going to "try" doing TR.

With Alphatrak 2, he doesn't get a reduction unless he goes below 68? I have it in my head that a normal nondiabetic cat's glucose is 80-120. I would be perfectly happy if Taz stayed at that 80, and setting a goal of 68 scares me. It's like hoping that he drops too low.

If I increased him today, his next increase would be on Saturday (3 days on this dose)?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-31-taz-amps-224-not-sure-what-to-do.263987/
 
I know it seems scary but it really isnt as bad as it seems. First issue is you have to readjust your thinking. Normal is 68 to 120 on your meter. Since you're home and can test you will catch it. If he happens to dip below 68. So typically you will hold a dose for 6 to 10 cycles or 3 to 5 days. If he is consistently high and not really getting to normal numbers then yes 3 days. But if he is getting more normal I'd hold for 5 days or 10 cycles. You can always post and ask someone to review ss and advise on whether to hold a dose or increase a dose.

I personally think you are getting close to a good dose cause he has seen some green.

Itll be good I promise take this time to really pay attention to when and how he drops. Since he does seem to drop at that +1 which is kind of early you could try to mix a small amount of mc in with lc at his preshot meal. Take the time you are home to fine tune his food to really control those drops. If you can get him to slow down some maybe he will stop bouncing so high and get more flattened out. Good luck you've got this it really is a know your cat kind of thing:bighug::bighug:
 
I know it seems scary but it really isnt as bad as it seems. First issue is you have to readjust your thinking. Normal is 68 to 120 on your meter. Since you're home and can test you will catch it. If he happens to dip below 68. So typically you will hold a dose for 6 to 10 cycles or 3 to 5 days. If he is consistently high and not really getting to normal numbers then yes 3 days. But if he is getting more normal I'd hold for 5 days or 10 cycles. You can always post and ask someone to review ss and advise on whether to hold a dose or increase a dose.

I personally think you are getting close to a good dose cause he has seen some green.

Itll be good I promise take this time to really pay attention to when and how he drops. Since he does seem to drop at that +1 which is kind of early you could try to mix a small amount of mc in with lc at his preshot meal. Take the time you are home to fine tune his food to really control those drops. If you can get him to slow down some maybe he will stop bouncing so high and get more flattened out. Good luck you've got this it really is a know your cat kind of thing:bighug::bighug:
I figure that if I don't like it, or I don't feel safe while doing it, then I can go back to SLGS. But I should at least try it. :)

I have a protocol I use now for when he starts dropping into the 70s. Do I still use it if he approaches 68 with TR? Basically I start feeding mc at that point, but I don't know if I shouldn't because I "want" him to drop below 68? It's confusing. Lol
 
I can be confusing yes. So yes you do want him to earn reductions. However, you also want him to stay in normal range. You want him in normal range as long as possible. You want him to earn it on his own. Not by withholding a snack. I personally only feed higher carb...mc or HC when LM drops below our reduction point. Or if I have to leave for work and I see him trending closer and closer to that 50. Once you get past the +1 +2 drop you might could try a LC snack to see if you can get him to surf more normal numbers. Personally for Taz I'd try a little mc with LC at preshot meal and see if that helps his +1 and then some mc at +1. From there I'd do small LC snacks. It's going to take time to learn the patterns. Tr and slgs have same goal of getting cat to normal numbers. Slgs is just the slower method so can take longer. Once you wrap your brain around the fact that end goal is same it really becomes quite easy.
 
I can be confusing yes. So yes you do want him to earn reductions. However, you also want him to stay in normal range. You want him in normal range as long as possible. You want him to earn it on his own. Not by withholding a snack. I personally only feed higher carb...mc or HC when LM drops below our reduction point. Or if I have to leave for work and I see him trending closer and closer to that 50. Once you get past the +1 +2 drop you might could try a LC snack to see if you can get him to surf more normal numbers. Personally for Taz I'd try a little mc with LC at preshot meal and see if that helps his +1 and then some mc at +1. From there I'd do small LC snacks. It's going to take time to learn the patterns. Tr and slgs have same goal of getting cat to normal numbers. Slgs is just the slower method so can take longer. Once you wrap your brain around the fact that end goal is same it really becomes quite easy.
We just saw our first purple in over a month. :(
 
Tr will help you break through the glucose toxicity I suspect may be happening if he is seeing higher numbers again. Be patient at those levels check for ketones if you arent already.
 
Good luck with the new dose, I hope it brings more flat and more greens.

From your previous post, you asked:
I have a question about onset. There's a lot of times where he starts to go downward at his +1 and +2. There's no food bump unless I give MC at +1, and it's iffy if that works. He nadirs around +3 and is already starting to climb around +4. This is my biggest issue when I'm working, because I'm gone from his preshot to +4.

He eats at preshot, +1, +2, with a little snack at +5 and +8 to help with his tummy acid.
Going downward at +2 is expected, the typical Lantus onset is around +2-+3. Some onset a little earlier. Some of the times I see Taz has dropped at +1, it's actually a nadir of +13 from the previous cycle. In other words, he's been breaking a bounce the previous cycle and the insulin action carried over to the following cycle. Or it could be a Lantus double dip where they do a mini curve at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main curve. Some carry over is good, it's what allows you to get nice flat cycles, instead of going up after shot time until the next onset.

His nadirs when green do seem to be earlier, when blue later on. You can use that knowledge to leave food out for him early on. Like the others have said, looking for patterns in your kitty's numbers can be really helpful.
 
Good luck with the new dose, I hope it brings more flat and more greens.

From your previous post, you asked:

Going downward at +2 is expected, the typical Lantus onset is around +2-+3. Some onset a little earlier. Some of the times I see Taz has dropped at +1, it's actually a nadir of +13 from the previous cycle. In other words, he's been breaking a bounce the previous cycle and the insulin action carried over to the following cycle. Or it could be a Lantus double dip where they do a mini curve at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main curve. Some carry over is good, it's what allows you to get nice flat cycles, instead of going up after shot time until the next onset.

His nadirs when green do seem to be earlier, when blue later on. You can use that knowledge to leave food out for him early on. Like the others have said, looking for patterns in your kitty's numbers can be really helpful.
Is there any way of knowing for sure if he's nadiring at a +13 or +14 regularly?

He's currently in a bounce and it's been driving me crazy because by looking at his numbers, he shouldn't be (no low numbers around +3 or +4). But I decided to get some later tests last night and his nadir was later than normal. If he's been doing that in his PM cycles, then that explains the higher numbers and why a low nadir went unnoticed.
 
I don't see a post for today, so responding here. Bounce breaking cycles tend to have later nadirs. A sign of a bounce breaking cycle is one that starts high and the numbers slide down towards the following preshot for most of the cycle. He's probably not nadiring that late most of the time.
 
Back
Top