6/21 - Olivia - (AMPS 120, 69@+2, 58@+2.5, 78@+3) (PMPS 143)

mosi_yazhi

Member Since 2021
Previous

Aaaaand, we're back to our regularly scheduled program after a weekend of mildly raised blood sugars due to my sister's visiting dogs.

Hope y'all and your kitties are doing alright!
 
Spitballing/thinking out loud incase anyone wants to give me their opinion:

I thiiiiink I may be on the cusp of returning to work soon, as my local government slowly opens things up (this new Delta variant not withstanding :nailbiting:)

My job is open 8am to 6pm in the summer, and 8am to 5pm in the winter.

I (blessedly) live only a couple minutes drive to work, and work allots us a 15 minute break before lunch, an hour lunch break, and another 15 minute break after lunch.

So: hair brained scheme - change shot times to 4:30 am/pm or so.

Allows me to shoot her in the morning and hang out for a few hours, grab a +2, and maybe nudge her up if need be. And then maybe come home and check at morning break time and lunch time.

Then I utilize my afternoon break time to come back at 4:30 pm and shoot her. That way shes hitting +2 as I get off work, and I catch her if nadir looks like it might hit too hard.

Thing is, if I go that route, I only get 15 minutes to drive home, check bg, feed and shoot, then drive back, so I have to make it as streamlined as possible.

Would it be ok to pre-load a needle with insulin for her PM shot around noon? And it can just hang in the fridge until I can grab it at 4:30pm?

There's also the fact that my job will occasionally demand I go on overnight travels - I live with my sister and mother and while theoretically they could test/feed/shoot/retest, I dont know that I could rely on them to keep a good schedule about it/test reliably (My sister has her own crazy work schedule to contend with, and my mother has memory problems) Considering Olivia's on such a low dose/her numbers arent atrocious OTJ, maybe I can just ask that they feed her, and not bother them about giving insulin?

(I don't think my away trips will go longer than 3 nights, and not even sure when the trips will even happen anyway, pandemic et al)

Ideas?
 
Ugh, 4:30 sounds so early. The things we do for our kitties. :rolleyes:

Would it be ok to pre-load a needle with insulin for her PM shot around noon? And it can just hang in the fridge until I can grab it at 4:30pm?
It's technically not recommended to store insulin in a syringe for more than a few minutes before shooting, but I have done it a few times in a pinch, storing it in a fridge for a few hours before, but I would not do it on a daily basis. There are concerns about losing the efficacy of the insulin and prolonged contact with the plastic and the lubricant fluid inside the syringe. Lots of CGs here will leave a syringe filled with food coloring + water at the exact dose needed for their cat sitters to match when they draw from the vial or pen as needed so that they don't have to pre-fill.
 
Ugh, 4:30 sounds so early. The things we do for our kitties. :rolleyes:


It's technically not recommended to store insulin in a syringe for more than a few minutes before shooting, but I have done it a few times in a pinch, storing it in a fridge for a few hours before, but I would not do it on a daily basis. There are concerns about losing the efficacy of the insulin and prolonged contact with the plastic and the lubricant fluid inside the syringe. Lots of CGs here will leave a syringe filled with food coloring + water at the exact dose needed for their cat sitters to match when they draw from the vial or pen as needed so that they don't have to pre-fill.

Oh, rest assured (pun not intended, but enjoyed anyway) I would DEFINITELY be going RIGHT BACK to bed after a 4:30 am shot, until a +2 was needing to be collected :D I'm nuts, but not THAT nuts!

But not being able to pre-fill a syringe puts a little damper on the plan, hm. Maybe I should do a dry run to see how fast i could do it.
 
Oh, rest assured (pun not intended, but enjoyed anyway) I would DEFINITELY be going RIGHT BACK to bed after a 4:30 am shot, until a +2 was needing to be collected :D I'm nuts, but not THAT nuts!

But not being able to pre-fill a syringe puts a little damper on the plan, hm. Maybe I should do a dry run to see how fast i could do it.
Using the calipers was super fiddly for me at the beginning because I'm super anal about getting it right but now I can pretty much eyeball doses below .5 because Rubes has been on those doses a lot and use the calipers to adjust. It takes me about 2 minutes now. Practice with a used syringe and water.
 
Using the calipers was super fiddly for me at the beginning because I'm super anal about getting it right but now I can pretty much eyeball doses below .5 because Rubes has been on those doses a lot and use the calipers to adjust. It takes me about 2 minutes now. Practice with a used syringe and water.
Ok, will do. My local hardware store didnt have any calipers in stock, so I either have to wait until I can order them in online, or rack my brains for another reason to drive all the way into town to buy them, haha!

She took a small dive into the higher 50s today, so I think this may be the dose we hang at for a while. Dogs are due back at the end of the week, and I'm not loving this yoyoing that's gonna happen.
 
Ok, will do. My local hardware store didnt have any calipers in stock, so I either have to wait until I can order them in online, or rack my brains for another reason to drive all the way into town to buy them, haha!

She took a small dive into the higher 50s today, so I think this may be the dose we hang at for a while. Dogs are due back at the end of the week, and I'm not loving this yoyoing that's gonna happen.
I had a feeling Olivia's BGs would drop when the dogs went away. Good plan to hold the dose for a bit longer. Hope she surfs safely tonight! :bighug:
 
Back
Top