6/27 - Olivia - (AMPS 121)(PMPS 97)

mosi_yazhi

Member Since 2021
PREVIOUS

Ok, I did some experimenting with the calipers:

Since I couldn't find any syringes where 0u is at true zero, I decided to measure the distance between one unit and another as printed on the barrel (in this case, I measured between 5u and 6u)

Each unit seems to be about 1.3 mm, measuring along the barrel.

I divided by 4, and got .32, so that's what I dosed her with, as best I could. I dont have a hands-free magnifying glass, and my eyes were a little gummy from having just woken up, but I think I did it correctly. Hopefully not too wildly different from the dose yesterday.

We're doing subqs again today, pray that it goes smoothly as the last few times :p
 
Love how your spreadsheet says "Attempting TR". I guess mine should say that too. Can't help with the info on the calipers. My brain doesn't comprehend math well but I do use the calipers and find they are helpful. I also have a light box and lighted magnifying glass. I need all three.

Good luck with the sub-qs. When my Simon was diagnosed with Stage 4 CKD the fluids really helped him feel better and he would actually eat just a little food. So sorry Olivia has the CKD. Sending prayers for her - and you.
 
Yay, you got the calipers! I think you'll start seeing the results of more consistent dosing soon. It doesn't matter if it's exactly .25 units, only that you're giving her the same thing each time and you're increasing and decreasing relative to your 1 unit standard.

Hope O. enjoys her extra hydration today! :bighug:
 
Love how your spreadsheet says "Attempting TR". I guess mine should say that too. Can't help with the info on the calipers. My brain doesn't comprehend math well but I do use the calipers and find they are helpful. I also have a light box and lighted magnifying glass. I need all three.

Good luck with the sub-qs. When my Simon was diagnosed with Stage 4 CKD the fluids really helped him feel better and he would actually eat just a little food. So sorry Olivia has the CKD. Sending prayers for her - and you.

I use my phone as a light box, as per @PerfumedCatMom's advice, and it works a treat! :p

Thankfully Olivia still has a great appetite, isnt shy about letting me know when she wants MORE FOOD DANGIT, and I'm hoping we'll see some improvement on her next vet appointment.

Yay, you got the calipers! I think you'll start seeing the results of more consistent dosing soon. It doesn't matter if it's exactly .25 units, only that you're giving her the same thing each time and you're increasing and decreasing relative to your 1 unit standard.

Hope O. enjoys her extra hydration today! :bighug:

Thank you, Katherine! Hoping the consistency helps stabilize her, yes.

After the fountain, the meat grinder, and now the calipers, my sisters are hedging bets on what crazy thing I'm going to do next in regards to caring for this cat. :rolleyes:
 
You will soon wonder how you managed without calipers. It’s crazy how far syringes can be. No issue for a human but gigantic for a cat.
 
Do your cats drink from it? I've thought about getting one but worry it would be ignored since they don't drink water from a bowl ever anymore since the dry food exited their lives.

I think they're still getting used to it being there. It's only been a week. The model I got is a little loud (it splashes, though apparently there are hacks to make it quieter.) I set it up NEXT to one of their usual water bowls.The first day or so they seemed a little scared of it and avoided drinking from that area. Then they got over it and started using the water bowl there again.

They've sniffed around it, Sophie trying diligently to figure out where the water was coming from and where it was GOING, and Olivia taking a cautious sip, but that's about it. Might take some more time, IDK. In hindsight, I probably should have left it unplugged first to further desensitize them and let them identify it as a source for water first, without all the noise it generates.

I dont actually think I've seen Sophie drinking from the bowls much since starting on wet food, though, now that you mention it.

I've read that unless your cat was the type to previously excitedly come running when they heard the faucet on, they might not be the types to go for the fountains.

My sister's dogs LOVE the fountain when they've visited, so it's got that going for it at least :rolleyes: One of them is 60 pounds, and manages to drain the fountain and somehow replace it with slobber each time, gross.
 
You will soon wonder how you managed without calipers. It’s crazy how far syringes can be. No issue for a human but gigantic for a cat.

Yeah - for a while I remember my mom saying she was up to 60(?!?!) units, and realized the tiny fluctuations in the printing on the syringes aren't as dangerous for her as they are for Olivia.

I joked about AlphaTrak coming out with a $2 per pop pet syringe before, but I seriously think its probably just a matter of time lmao
 
Oh, hey, green preshot, I haven't seen YOU in a while, how ya doin girl :D

I hope this means she was relatively flat and surfing in the greens most of the day.
 
Back
Top