6/28/21 - Nebula: AMPS 153 - Shoot/Retest?

Nebula's O`hana

Member Since 2021
Hi all.

Nebula has been doing great all day. She had a vet visit as previously requested by our doctor this morning. Her AMPS was 216 and when they tested her on site, they got 284. The alternate vet was okay with us continuing the modified dosage for now but voiced that our initial prescribed dosage would still be best at 1u. Another vet agreed to talk with us come Tuesday so hopefully we can sit down with them.

We skipped her dosage this AM but are thinking about shooting at 0.25 now at her PM, any thoughts?

We finally got better syringes after going to a few Walmarts here so that we can properly modify dose with more confidence (previous syringes were whole #s).

She's been eating plenty of food and drinking plenty of water. She's been very active all day. She's been all play, happy as she used to be, has some more weight on her bones and was jumping around with confidence. A nice change of pace from her previous lethargy. No signs of lethargy throughout the entire day since we woke up.

We'll be adding more water to her wet food to help flush out the TRACE of ketones we got an hour ago.

Previous thread https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-21-help-nebula-pmps-86.249063/#post-2810541
 
Hi Melody, I agree with Wendy. With a trace of ketones in the urine, you definitely need some insulin.
To combat ketones you need to make sure Nebula is eating well, drinking well and don’t skip any insulin doses if at all possible.
I would test at least daily for ketones at the moment.
 
Hi Melody, I agree with Wendy. With a trace of ketones in the urine, you definitely need some insulin.
To combat ketones you need to make sure Nebula is eating well, drinking well and don’t skip any insulin doses if at all possible.
I would test at least daily for ketones at the moment.

We shot .25 about a hour and a half ago. We will be checking ketones daily as advised.
 
Hi all.

BG at 187 +3. Also had some questions on the ketostix. Previous results we've gotten were negative and had trace 6 hours ago. Those 2 tests were done by catching some of the pee with a small tray mid stream.

This time, I couldn't get the tray in time so I placed a strip in the way mid-stream for 2 seconds too long and didn't wipe the excess off an got what looked to be as SMALL trace. I also dipped 2 sticks directly in the wet litter just seconds after she was done and got something closer to TRACE/Negative. We use Smart Cat litter and it's a 100% grass clumping litter, if that makes a difference.

To confirm, is the most accurate ketostix measurement still when captured from tray since it's a light dip, wipe excess off to the side and wait? Not sure if my SMALL result was due to it being concentrated under her stream of urine for more than a second and not wiping off the side.

Either way, I'll be testing every chance I get when I see her pee.

Thanks in advance.
 
BG at 187 +3.
I would test again at +5

This time, I couldn't get the tray in time so I placed a strip in the way mid-stream for 2 seconds too long and didn't wipe the excess off an got what looked to be as SMALL trace. I also dipped 2 sticks directly in the wet litter just seconds after she was done and got something closer to TRACE/Negative. We use Smart Cat litter and it's a 100% grass clumping litter, if that makes a difference.

Putting the strip under a stream of urine is fine as long as you read it at the 15 second mark. Some people catch the urine first in a container and others put it under the steam of urine.
Sometimes the trace/ negative readings are hard to tell apart. If you are unsure take a photo and post it and ask but you need to be quick as it will darken as the seconds tick by. See what the next few urine tests say. Ensuring she is eating plenty, getting plenty of water and getting the insulin dose are the most important things you can do to keep ketones away.
 
I would test again at +5



Putting the strip under a stream of urine is fine as long as you read it at the 15 second mark. Some people catch the urine first in a container and others put it under the steam of urine.
Sometimes the trace/ negative readings are hard to tell apart. If you are unsure take a photo and post it and ask but you need to be quick as it will darken as the seconds tick by. See what the next few urine tests say. Ensuring she is eating plenty, getting plenty of water and getting the insulin dose are the most important things you can do to keep ketones away.

Slept through the +5 but got a +6 reading at 161. Also, was able to catch Nebula urine in tray and tested as we've done previously and got a SMALL (15) result on the ketostix a minute or two before the reading.

She has been drinking water regularly but maybe we should drown her wet food out a bit more I suppose, to help flush this out.

Her appetite has somewhat stabilized since her weight gain so she's no longer over-eating, I wonder if that may have something to do with it along with the previous skipped doses.

She's in good spirits, was prancing around and she has restored some of her strength even further.
 
You just posted as I was writing this…… Just looked at SS and see you are saying the ketone test was small at +6. Please give extra fluids and some extra food. Post and ask about the am dose when you get the Preshot BG. You can change the subject line to reflect the question. I’m just heading to bed but I’ll ask @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Wendy&Neko to follow up on the ketones.
I would let the vet know that there are small ketones in the urine. I’m glad to hear she seems well.
 
We went ahead and shot at 0.25 since she was over 150. Also, ketones look to have gone down from SMALL (15mg/dL) to TRACE (5mg/dL).
 
I’m glad you gave the insulin. If there are any ketones it’s important not to skip. If necessary you can always feed some higher carb food to keep the BG a bit higher so you can give the insulin. We can help you with that if needed.
If you get a Preshot under 150 you can always stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 mins to see if it’s rising. I’m sorry no one got back to you.
Great the ketones are back to trace.
How’s the appetite and demeanour?
 
Last edited:
I’m glad you gave the insulin. If there are any ketones it’s important not to skip. If necessary you can always feed some higher carb food to keep the BG a bit higher so you can give the insulin. We can help you with that if needed.
If you get a Preshot under 150 you can always stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 mins to see if it’s rising. I’m sorry no one got back to you.
Great the ketones are back to trace.
How’s the appetite and demeanour?

That's good to know about the ketones as well as the preshot bit, I have that sticky'd on my board, along with the initial guidelines in this forum.

Appetite good, since she's gained some weight back, she's more measured in how much she's eating, but all normal and finishing most of her meals. Her demeanor even better today than it was yesterday. I think the insulin has helped her light up. She's resting right now because she was pretty active most of the day. Her strength is slowly coming back as well, I can feel it in her limbs. :)

Thanks for the continued support y'all!
 
Back
Top