6/30 Newman AMPS 268 increase to 2.0 now 86@6.5

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Linda and Newman, Jun 30, 2022.

  1. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    @FrostD

    If you can, I would like you to look at Newman's spreadsheet and advise.

    PMPS 270, shot 1.75U. he ate some dinner and I tested him because he wasn't too interested in eating. He was 288 @ +1.5.

    Thanks
     
  2. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Do you have a specific question?

    He looks like a cat that will do pretty well on ProZinc, fingers crossed!

    The +1.5 probably isn't telling you much. I don't think his onset is that early, so it's a bit of a food bump (if he ate) plus the shot hasn't kicked in yet.

    His nadir varies quite a bit, so if you're concerned I'd get a +4. Realistically I think he'll be fine I actually think he could probably do with an increase. Why did you decrease from 2U to 1.75U? (Sorry I don't have time to go back and read)

    As far as trying to predict nadir - this is a stretch since not a lot of data - it seems when he has a very flat last half of a cycle, his nadir is earlier on the following cycle. I think his AM cycle today probably qualifies, so possibly an earlier nadir tonight.

    I have to head to bed but I think he should be just fine tonight :)
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  3. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  4. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Sorry I was vague and didn't ask a direct question. I guess I just wanted your input. I was thinking of increasing but wanted to give the 1.75U an adequate time trial. It seems to me that Newman needs a bit of extra time to level out on a dose and to see the full results.

    Your answer reinforces my plan to increase the dose. Suzanne & Darcy have been waiting patiently for me to go ahead.

    Thanks for looking, I thought I had missed you. @FrostD, @Suzanne & Darcy
     
    FrostD likes this.
  5. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Planning to increase dose this morning so of course, he ate his breakfast and immediately regurgitated. Sometimes he returns right away and eats again but this morning he is less interested.

    Should I go ahead with the .25 increase?
    @Suzanne & Darcy
     
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Haven't you been able to get him to eat again at all?
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  7. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He just ate after I served it up at his "spot" on my desk. He is grooming now. He may be headed to the litter box. I will hold off for a few minutes to be sure he keeps the food down. I am ready to shoot 2.0U
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2022
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  8. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Good. I had questions about shooting at all if he would not eat. But he ate again so that's good. Good plan to make sure he keeps it down. 2 units :)
     
    FrostD and Linda and Newman like this.
  9. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Okay, he ate, used the litter box and I shot 2 units at 8:00.
     
    FrostD and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  10. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Remember that down to 50 is safe on a human meter (though I am sure.you do not want him there!). We like to get nadir as close to 90 as possible, so you definitely have plenty of room. It's different by cat, but typically a 0.25U increase on ProZinc brings nadir down about 25-50 points.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  11. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

    Yikes! I just woke him up and got him to come out from under the bed. Tested. 86 @ +6.5 I am going to offer him some of his Fancy Feast left over from breakfast.

    He ate it and immediately threw it up.

    What next? He is back under the bed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2022
  12. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    91 @ +7 I feel better about that.
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Is he back under the bed?
     
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You did the right thing. You gave him the Fancy Feast. Was it just regular pate?
     
  15. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, regular chicken feast pate
     
  16. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Hmm how was his appetite today compared to normal?
     
  17. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I used higher carb treats to get him to come out for the +7
    I don't know if they have much effect. He probably had a total of 10 pieces. Wellness Kittles.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    86 is a good number, but scary to have greens at first.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  19. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    His appetite was normal this morning. He ate and then threw up which is something he does sometimes. About 15 minutes later he ate again, used the litter box and eventually went to nap/sleep. All pretty normal
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So he had eaten nothing since breakfast when you got the 86?
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2022
  21. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I was expecting blues at best.
     
  22. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Right. (I am almost certain)
     
  23. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I thought he usually liked to graze and his food was available. Not hungry today?
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  24. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, he usually comes back to eat at least once between breakfast and about 1 PM. But occasionally he naps longer and I don't see him until about 3:30-4:00 looking for dinner.
    The food does not sit out, but I see him looking for it and uncover it.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  25. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I just got 82 @ 7.75
     
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I guess that’s why he dropped so much today. How much FF did he eat this morning?
     
  27. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Will he eat a little more Fancy Feast?
     
  28. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I will offer it.

    I gave him a little less than a tbsp. I don't want him to throw it up again. He has eaten it.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That’s perfect, Linda
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  30. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I was too!
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  31. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He is stretched out near the kitchen as usual after a brief period of grooming. I think he feels okay. I am thinking I won't test him again, but rather offer him more food around 4:30 which is the normal schedule. I will stick with slightly reduced portions more frequently. Since I shot him at 8:00 this morning, I have until 5:30 - 6:00 before withholding food ahead of his PMPS.
    I will be somewhat nervous about shooting 2.0 since nighttime testing can be iffy here.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  32. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    What a beautiful cycle though!

    How often does he get like this? Where he doesn't graze, or throws up?

    I won't be around until after your PM shot. I would go back down to 1.75U for tonight just in case his tummy is still off. If it's a frequent thing, I have some other ideas.
     
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. I was thinking about that. I agree with Melissa about backing down to the 1.75 for tonight.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  34. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    It is sporatic, maybe once every 10 - 14 days I would guess. The thing is he will be ready immediately, to eat again. And he does not gobble his food, so it doesn't seem to be from eating too fast. He has always done this for as long as I can remember.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  35. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Ok. Do you usually have warning that he's going to do it? Like does it start right away with morning meal?
     
  36. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    PMPS 214

    I feel a bit gun shy with that number even with the plan to reduce to 1.75U

    On his SS last week there is one similar low PMPS 201. The scheduled dose was 1.75U and I reduced it to 1.5U. It appears he was okay with that, but he was not having any tummy issues.

    This evening he ate two treat kibbles after test, but has not eaten any food since 4:30, approx 1/3 can of FF.

    I guess I will wait and see if he has any interest in his food. I hate to give him insulin and then he doesn't eat.
     
  37. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    If you don't think he will eat, I would try a token dose of 0.25-0.5U, if you're comfortable with that. I try to avoid skipping when possible, but safety first.

    If you have MC (10-15%) you can also leave some of that for him
     
  38. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am nervous about that low preshot too after today. Unless he seems really keen to eat, keeps it down, etc. I don’t think I would shoot 1.75 either.
     
  39. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Wait. I’m confused. Is he eating? Has he eaten? Or not.
     
  40. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Now that you ask, I would say it is nearly always in the morning.
     
  41. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He ate 1/3 can FF at 4:30.

    Then I withheld food for the 2 hours before testing. I actually waited to test until 7:30 since I wanted it closer to shot time.

    At 7:30 he was 214.

    He came to eat at about 7:45. I gave him about 2 tbsp and so far he is keeping that down.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  42. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He has eaten about 2 tbsp of FF, but I still would like to only give a token dose since it is the overnight.
    I will go with the 0.5U although I can't leave any food out for him because the other cat or the dog will eat it. Feeding time here requires an attendant. lol
     
  43. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Shot 0.5U at 8:15
     
    FrostD likes this.

Share This Page