6/5 Henry C, AMPS=355; +6=296

Roxana & Henry

Member Since 2022
Henry's Previous Condo

Nice cycle last night, back to bouncing today. Planning on increasing to 4.5 units tonight (after 8 cycles on 4.25) unless anyone else thinks I should not.

No ketones (yay), great energy and 2 nice kitty zoomies (after a nice overdue number 2 gift lol).

Sleepless night for me (at 1 am he was still going down so i scanned at 2 am - still decreasing - scanned at 3 am still around same and stressed about maybe him going down too low - crashed due to lack of sleep, had a nightmare that he went into a hypo lol, woke up at 5 am and scanned again and he was ok and then crashed for another hour and a half).

I hope I will have the night off despite the increase, will see. A bit terrified of a hypo after midnight tonight right before a working Monday but it's part of the journey I suppose. If he does go into a hypo tonight (which I have no idea if he will or not since he keeps bouncing) does that mean we go back to 4.25 tomorrow morning immediately?
 
The lowest he's been lately is 133. There's quite a stretch between that and going below 50. Look at how much lower that 133 was than his lowest number on 4.0 units. Now it's not a linear drop you can project to the lows on the next dose, but gets you in the ballpark. I also suspect tonight might be bounce time, so a good and safe time to increase. Last new times, he's been dropping to blues 3rd cycle after the previous one. TBD yet if that's also a trend, but worth keeping an eye on. Cats do like to mix things up on us. :cat:
 
Last edited:
Thanks Wendy. He does like to mix things up for me. It's a great point with the 3rd cycle being when generally his BG starts to go down, I have noted at in the past as well. The cycle on 6/1 pm was different he dropped to 119 at some point when I scanned on the libre (shortly after the 133 but then went up again). That was first cycle at 4.25 units. So that is why not sure what to expect but I think I should be ok. But I am still in the phase that I cannot go to sleep until I wait for his nadir and see his BG rising again. Sometimes the nadir is +5 and sometimes later +6 or +7. With time and experience hope I can manage all this smarter :cat: and not worry all the time. After seeing such high numbers it takes a little time to get used to the lower numbers. Can't wait for some more :cool::D:D:D:D:D:D
 
Once you start seeing some concerning lower numbers, you'll be able to build some data that tells you when it's safe to go to bed earlier. I spent a lot of time "reading the tea leaves" as my DH called it, before going to bed. Trying to answer the question, "if her PMPS was X and her BG is now Y, will she get to dangerous numbers tonight?". I spent a lot of time trying to find similar patterns in the numbers. Those patterns can be over a few cycles. When Neko was on Lantus, there was a particular 3 cycle pattern I was on the watch for, that said she'd be diving that 3rd cycle if her PMPS was below 120.

As an example, if you were using a human meter I'd tell you to stop testing until PMPS today. I don't really care when his nadir is this cycle. He's bouncing and it won't be low enough to be concerned about. Catch up on a nap.
 
Haha reading tea leaves good one. It certainly feels that way. Today he is really bouncing he was 400 and still at least 2 hrs until pmps. No sleep because I have a deadline and have to work to catch up. Takes me hours to fall asleep I am so jealous of people that fall asleep in 5 min. I will watch for those patterns. I was at 5 units did not monitor (not smart) and when I did the Libre, 2 weeks after being at 5 , he was at 100 in the amps and did 4 units not 5 and still crashed. It is a miracle he is alive. That was before joining the FDMB. This is a second chance for both of us to do it right. That’s why I am always second guessing myself :cat: because I have a medal in messing up royally ! But getting better thanks to all of you!
 
He could have some glucose toxicity by now, as it's been a while since he's seen any green. That means going up to a higher dose to get over it. Very common for fairly newly diagnosed cats. Just do what you are doing, follow the protocol and you will get there.
 
Back
Top