6/9 Chloe - PMPS 93 | +1 121 | +2 117 | +3 142 | +8.5 343

Nice to see the pink today. I am glad you will follow TR as we need to get aggressive so you start to see numbers under 200. It’s safer for his kidneys. Chloe is on the way there I think. :)
So if we stay around these numbers today and tonight, should I increase tomorrow or hold steady for a few more cycles?
 
Holy cow - what a drop this afternoon! Is it too fast or are we okay? I also noticed she didn't eat as much today as she normally does, and I know that affects BG.
 
He’s not nearly too low. I would have fed a little lc at +10, since you dint want to feed less than 2 hours before pmps. Definitely don’t feed mc or hc.
 
Could I suggest a +11 or +11.5 test? That way when you post it, it'll give us a little time to see if you need to do something different at PMPS.

Low blues are good numbers! :cool: What does Chloe think of them?
 
Could I suggest a +11 or +11.5 test? That way when you post it, it'll give us a little time to see if you need to do something different at PMPS.

Low blues are good numbers! :cool: What does Chloe think of them?
+11 is 99

She's been sleeping most of the day.
 
Can you stall until you hear something back? Wait and test again in 20 minutes. Did you put her dinner down? That will raise her glucose in 30 minutes but I don't think the folks here want to see a "food influenced" test. Hoping you hear something soon. If not, skip the shot. I know I will be crucified for saying that but I don't care. She is dropping too fast and you are in uncharted territory. You can always get her back down later.
 
Since this is the first green preshot number, you'd have to be prepared to test tonight. When first starting out, we don't usually suggest shooting under 150 here on the subforum until you gather enough data . Do you have enough test strips and do you have and can you intervene with high carb/syrup if needed? After such a stretch of high numbers, hitting greens may cause her to bounce. My thoughts are to shoot 3u if you can continue to monitor, starting with a +1, and I'll stay with you.
 
Yes, I've got a good supply of testing materials, honey, and HC food. I was thinking 3U if I hadn't heard back from anyone.
 
The numbers have been flat since +11. And, like Christy said, we typically do not suggest shooting a full dose when you're new at managing your cat's diabetes and you're seeing numbers under 150. However, I'd rather be faced with this dilemma than seeing Chloe stuck in the reds and blacks. I like the 3.0u. It seems like we were all thinking the same thing.
 
Thank you all for the feedback and encouragement. We got a clean 121 at +1, and she just went back to her bowl for second dinner.

Scary to drop so quickly, but if she hangs out here, I'm happy with that!
 
Cool blue at +2 :D

How many times should I plan to check her overnight? I’m usually up at least once between +6-+8.
 
Once you post +3, we'll have a better idea what to suggest for setting an alarm tonight, or if you need to.
 
If you delayed your shot time tonight by 1 hour as noted in your SS, you'll need to adjust your shot time tomorrow am to suit, otherwise if you shoot usual time, it will be 1 hour early which can act like an increase in some cats. You can adjust the time by 15minutes in the am and pm cycles, or once a day by 30minutes until you get back on schedule. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/

I'd go back to 3.5u tomorrow am.
 
I agree with Christie. With TR, a dose is reduced if they go below 50, which she didn't. But tonight was some beautiful numbers! And a chance to gather data.
 
Back
Top