? 6/9 Jessi AMPS 343, PMPS 327, +2 191, 180, +2.75 149, 136, +3 126, +3.75 111...dropping fast!

Stefania S

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ncrease-soon-help-please.278365/#post-3078702

It's true that I haven't been monitoring at home for about 5 days, but I didn't expect to see numbers like this post shot. And I even raised the dose to .75

Did I miss the shot? I stuck my nose in her fur as usual to check and there was no smell or wetness in the spot, but it could have shot out the other side since I was shooting in an area where the skin pinches thin and trying not to miss while she was moving around.

I didn't think I missed it but with numbers like these....:nailbiting:

Could there be another explanation? Could it really be that the dose is too low by that much?
 
Either she has dropped low in the day or two before the latest sensor was applied and she is bouncing from there or more likely, she is seeing glucose toxicity after a failed reduction. Glucose Toxicity sounds a lot worse than it is. When a cat stays in high numbers for too long, its body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal. It then requires much more insulin to break through to lower numbers. Some cats are more prone to glucose toxicity after a failed reduction.

Since you are following SLGS you took back-to-back reductions and went from 1.5U to 0.5U in 4 days. If you aren't comfortable following TR, you could look at lowering your reduction point for SLGS to 70 so you're keeping her at a dose where she sees good numbers.

With TR you can increase doses faster, not take back to back reductions and hold doses where she can spend time in normal numbers which are healing for her pancreas.

Lower numbers can be scary at first, but it's a matter of getting used to them. You also want to slowly get her used to testing with a regular meter. The Libre can give false lows and you do not want to base dosing decisions on wonky readings.
 
Last edited:
Ok, this is the information I was looking for even last week. I had a feeling taking that last reduction after the 81 wasn’t such a good idea. And after hearing about failed reductions I was concerned about this.

Using 70 as the reduction point sounds better for now, until we’re ready to switch to TR. I should probably first get so I can do blood testing reliably at least in case of need before switching to TR, would you agree?

So, assuming it is glucose toxicity which makes sense with her behavior and appearance too, how long before I can get her back to lower numbers at least in the 100-200 range and how slowly or quickly do I increase?
 
With SLGS every drop below 90 is a reduction. It's only with TR that you don't take back-to-back reductions because of the depot. SLGS has additional safeguards built-in because people who usually follow SLGS do not test very much more than preshots.

It would be good to be able to verify lows with a meter - if you see Stacy & Ivy's condos for yesterday, the Libre was readings below 50 while the meter read over 100! In the meanwhile a lower reduction point of 70 sounds good. Please add "Reductions at 70" to your Signature after "SLGS"? Thanks!

With SLGS you will have to hold doses for a week.
 
I am in a very tight spot with the Endocrinologist team who may be the only ones in all Bologna who can properly apply a sensor and know anything about it. Once they see the numbers, if they haven't already, they will know for sure I am not following their prescribed dosage of 2-1. The vet community is small here and it could create major problems for us if I upset his department too much, which to some extent I already have.

Can I get some one-on-one coaching, maybe privately is better since this is a very particular situation, to help me make the best decision. I have to get these numbers down faster for her sake and for the sake of not burning a bridge that for the moment I need.

One quick question; I'm leaving her without food since nadir even though I know she is so hungry. Is that best right now?
 
We don't do one on one coaching, especially not privately. FDMB is a open peer reviewed forum. That means that every one must be able to see what was suggested. This is for your safety, and because even the best of us can have an off day and give bad advice. The ideas of many are better, and safer, than just the ideas of one.

If placing Libre is such an issue in your town, maybe you can learn to do it yourself. We have members here who do it. This post might help you out: Freestyle Libre for Cats; Tips and Information
 
I want to underscore what Wendy posted. It is against the guidelines for using to board for anyone to to provide one-on-one coaching let alone private coaching. The latter will get you and the person supplying private advice banned from the board.
 
I apologize, I had no idea. Won't happen again. I did read the guidelines when I first joined, but I read so much during these weeks and I have been rather stressed, so it's even harder to remember it all. In other situations what I asked is a normal thing, so I didn't think I was asking something bad. I understand the reason for this guideline, rest assured I will respect it.
 
No concern. You can feed a snack and check in an hour which is about now.

Thanks Elise, did you see the update, it's now at 136

I did feed some of her LC a half hour ago or so. That was almost a half can and she wants more, so should I wait or give more?
 
That’s fine 126 and 136 are within meter variance. You are seeing a slow drop. If she will eat a teaspoon or two feed her.
 
She just ate some more happily.

Why does it seem like a fast drop to me? And this is after she was stuck in the low to mid 300s all day...

It's possible I gave a tiny bit more than .75 when dosing. Could that be it?

I really didn't expect this. I guess I should get used to the unexpected.

Heart pounding

:nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
+3.75 111
+4 137

Can I relax now? Or should I stay vigilant in case they drop again?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top