69 BG - Please advise.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by steph_frances, Sep 9, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steph_frances

    steph_frances Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Hi! So we did only 1 unit last night & 1 unit this morning. He's still quite low. 69 at +3 today.

    Any advice for how to proceed from here? This is the cat who was originally prescribed 4 units twice a day, & after his glucose curve the vet wanted to up him to 5.5 units (he was high - over 400- all day long on his glucose curve on August 31.) Up till yesterday evening, I was giving him 3.5 U.

    His poops seem a bit messy from time to time right now. He's eating well. Not drinking a whole lot. Going to the bathroom (both urine & pooping). Seems alert ish. Any feedback or recommendations appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. Sarah&Soph

    Sarah&Soph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    I will tag @JanetNJ for you to see what she thinks, but per the Prozinc dosing sticky, if you are following SLGS and not the modified method:

    Reducing the Dose:
    • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
     
    steph_frances likes this.
  3. steph_frances

    steph_frances Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Thank you! I'm going to try to keep testing today to see where his numbers are going.
     
    Sarah&Soph likes this.
  4. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2021
    steph_frances likes this.
  5. Sarah&Soph

    Sarah&Soph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Definitely a good idea if you are able to! Most cats don’t hit their lowest point on Prozinc until +4-7, so +3 is a little early in the cycle for a 69
     
    steph_frances likes this.
  6. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Going forward lower to 0.5. :)
     
    steph_frances and Sarah&Soph like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page