7/10 Herman pmps 322, +1 427, +2 355 …considering switching to TR

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Hello,

Herman’s been pretty high and flat. Do I understand correctly that with TR I will be adjusting the dose every 3 to 5 days by .25 or .5 units. Based on Herman’s last few days and our bump up to 1.5 Saturday I would could potentially bump him up to 1.75 on Tuesday. With SLGS I would be waiting seven days. Am I grasping this concept correctly?

I have been managing to test enough so it feels like TR might be the best choice to hopefully get his numbers under control sooner than later. I might then switch back to SLGS once we are at a lower threshold.

Any ideas why his plateauing like this?Am I just being impatient?

Any thoughts appreciated!
Amy and Herman
 
This is the link to your previous post here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...428-concerned-his-numbers-are-so-high.265505/

As long as you are now feeding an all low carb wet or raw food diet, and testing as you have, you are ready for TR. Which means that if nadirs are above 200, you can increase after six cycles at that. I do note that yesterday AM was a skinny dose, so cycle 1 wouldn't start until last night. Tonight is cycle 3.
Any ideas why his plateauing like this?Am I just being impatient?
Partly impatience. :p Partly not a good dose yet. You were seeing greens on 3.0 units of Caninsulin, so should have switched to a dose closer to 3.0 units, maybe down just a bit.
 
This is the link to your previous post here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...428-concerned-his-numbers-are-so-high.265505/

As long as you are now feeding an all low carb wet or raw food diet, and testing as you have, you are ready for TR. Which means that if nadirs are above 200, you can increase after six cycles at that. I do note that yesterday AM was a skinny dose, so cycle 1 wouldn't start until last night. Tonight is cycle 3.

Partly impatience. :p Partly not a good dose yet. You were seeing greens on 3.0 units of Caninsulin, so should have switched to a dose closer to 3.0 units, maybe down just a bit.
Actually my chart is a little misleading because I didn’t have any data for the first almost 3 months of Herman being a diagnosed diabetic he had a curve at the vets about a month after diagnosis and they bumped it up one unit of Caninsulin from 2-3 and at that time I was not testing him at home (they advised me against it and in fact when they did a curve on him in the office they only got two readings which at the time I didn’t really understand but now I know that’s not a curve at all) but after trying three units a couple times I started to get scared that he was hypoglycaemic one day i couldn’t find him for over 8 hours. So I dropped back to 2. Started looking into Libre and home testing. Found new vet. Made a plan to home test, switch to Lantus, get on low carb wet food. When we switched him we were overly cautious for sure because he was in the process of switching diets from diabetic kibble to low carb wet.

But yes. Seems a higher dose was warranted. We will get there!
 
Back
Top