7/10 - Poppy AMPS 323, +6 231

Sharon & Poppy

Member Since 2023
Yesterday was the first day that the dose was reduced by .5. Today the numbers are up. More in range of how they were. She is ravenous today. Where the previous 3 days she was eating. But not ravenous. Water intake is not increased. It is the same.

Would it be possible to tell me if this is how it goes? Will it take a few days for her body to adjust to the 1.5?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
 
Yesterday was the first day that the dose was reduced by .5. Today the numbers are up. More in range of how they were. She is ravenous today. Where the previous 3 days she was eating. But not ravenous. Water intake is not increased. It is the same.

Would it be possible to tell me if this is how it goes? Will it take a few days for her body to adjust to the 1.5?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
Hi Sharon & Poppy,
Just to clarify, you've been giving 1.5units since Poppy earned the reduction (per SLGS) in the PM cycle on 7/8?

I believe her numbers are up because she is bouncing from the green BG of 79. The stickies explain bouncing as:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Hope this helps.

How is the transition to wet food going?

Here is your previous post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3086583/
For housekeeping purposes, we link our previous condo/thread to the current one. It makes it easier for those reading and helping to look back.
 
Hi Sharon & Poppy,
Just to clarify, you've been giving 1.5units since Poppy earned the reduction (per SLGS) in the PM cycle on 7/8?

I believe her numbers are up because she is bouncing from the green BG of 79. The stickies explain bouncing as:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Hope this helps.

How is the transition to wet food going?

Here is your previous post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3086583/
For housekeeping purposes, we link our previous condo/thread to the current one. It makes it easier for those reading and helping to look back.

What is the bounce in my chart? She had a bounce due to the 79 a couple of days ago? The bounce is the higher BG level this morning? The PMPS was 148 today. Does that mean we are out of the bounce?

Poppy has been on canned food since June 30rd. I just updated my signature.

She has been on 1.5 u since July 9th.
 
What is the bounce in my chart? She had a bounce due to the 79 a couple of days ago?
EXACTLY right. Poppy is in higher numbers now because she is (still) bouncing from that 79 on 7/8 PM cycle. In my opinion, those lower blues you saw yesterday was an effect of the 1.75 depot.
It can day up to 3 full days (6 cycles) to get over the bounce. BUT your PMPS of 149 is proof that she is clearing the bounce. Looks like Poppy might just give you an active cycle tonight.
Do you think you'll be able to get a +2?
 
EXACTLY right. Poppy is in higher numbers now because she is (still) bouncing from that 79 on 7/8 PM cycle. In my opinion, those lower blues you saw yesterday was an effect of the 1.75 depot.
It can day up to 3 full days (6 cycles) to get over the bounce. BUT your PMPS of 149 is proof that she is clearing the bounce. Looks like Poppy might just give you an active cycle tonight.
Do you think you'll be able to get a +2?

Yes. I can do a +2. I just realized that I probably should not have given her the shot tonight. I did a +1 and it was 124. So, I just gave her high carb food.

Thoughts?
 
Yes. I can do a +2. I just realized that I probably should not have given her the shot tonight. I did a +1 and it was 124. So, I just gave her high carb food.

Thoughts?
Do you know what % HC you fed? It's a good idea to keep track so if/when you need to feed, you can see what carb% affected the BG.
Test again at +2 and post. I'll keep an eye out for the test :bighug::cat:
 
Do you know what % HC you fed? It's a good idea to keep track so if/when you need to feed, you can see what carb% affected the BG.
Test again at +2 and post. I'll keep an eye out for the test :bighug::cat:

I gave her one of the FF Gravy cans. I gave her Turkey Feast in Gravy. It should be 13% carbs.

See you in an hour :)
 
Last edited:
I just took her BG. I had to take 4 times. Because she kept moving. I have a 128, 113, 126, 118 in that order.

She ate the whole can of Turkey Feast in Gravy. She is not showing signs of Hypo.

Thoughts
 
I have a 128, 113, 126, 118 in that order.
Accounting for meter variance - all pretty much the same so GREAT!!!!
Also these numbers are VERY SAFE. :bighug:
She ate the whole can of Turkey Feast in Gravy.
At the next test (and for next time....and there will be a next time), don't fill her up, try giving just a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food if needed. What we're looking to accomplish is a steady surf in blue/greens. Feeding a little of the regular LC food helps the surf. :cat:

Are you on the SLGS method or have you decided to switch to the TR protocol?

See you at +3?
 
Accounting for meter variance - all pretty much the same so GREAT!!!!
Also these numbers are VERY SAFE. :bighug:

At the next test (and for next time....and there will be a next time), don't fill her up, try giving just a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food if needed. What we're looking to accomplish is a steady surf in blue/greens. Feeding a little of the regular LC food helps the surf. :cat:

Are you on the SLGS method or have you decided to switch to the TR protocol?

See you at +3?

We are at SLGS. I have not moved to TR.

You are not concerned that her PMPS was 148 and I still gave the shot?

I will see you a +3
 
I'm not but I've been at this for awhile :p Are you?

I am a newbie. So, I am putting 1 + 1 and thinking my cat will be hypo before the night is out. So, I am thinking that I just killed my cat. But so far so good.

+3 122 and 138. She was moving so much. The good news is that she was growling at me when I was doing the second one. Because she is letting me know she is not happy.

I am so grateful that you are helping me. :)
 
I am a newbie. So, I am putting 1 + 1 and thinking my cat will be hypo before the night is out. But so far so good.

+3 122 and 138. She was moving so much. The good news is that she was growling at me when I was doing the second one. Because she is letting me know she is not happy.
I could not be any happier with this +3 :cool::cool::cool:
Very safe numbers! Did you give Poppy a treat and a tsp of food for putting up with all this testing? And also, give yourself a treat too, you're doing great :bighug:
 
I could not be any happier with this +3 :cool::cool::cool:
Very safe numbers! Did you give Poppy a treat and a tsp of food for putting up with all this testing? And also, give yourself a treat too, you're doing great :bighug:

She gets the good stuff : Halo Chicken freeze dried treats, a brushing, and a lot of petting. :)

Do I need to test through the night? When should we go to TR?
 
She gets the good stuff : Halo Chicken freeze dried treats, a brushing, and a lot of petting. :)

Do I need to test through the night? When should we go to TR?
Can you give her a tsp of her regular LC food and get another test at +4? I don't think you'll have to up all night.
This is the first time you shot under 150 so we're being cautious and gathering data.
 
Can you give her a tsp of her regular LC food and get another test at +4? I don't think you'll have to up all night.
This is the first time you shot under 150 so we're being cautious and gathering data.

I have her food down. She is a grazer. So, it is up to her if she does a tsp. OOOOh - looks who is grazing ;);)

But I can try to do a +4. She will not be happy about it.
 
Can you give her a tsp of her regular LC food and get another test at +4? I don't think you'll have to up all night.
This is the first time you shot under 150 so we're being cautious and gathering data.

+4 was 129. It is 10pm here. My suggestion would be to do a +6. I can take a nap and wake up to do the +6.

She is showing no signs of hypo.

Thoughts?
 
Sharon has fully transitioned Poppy to LC wet foot, just shot her lowest PS and is looking to switch to TR. Can you help with when she should switch?
She can switch right away. So she would the hold the dose for 8 to 10 cycles and then increase, if necessary depending on Poppy's numbers or decrease if Poppy drops below 50.

+4 was 129. It is 10pm here. My suggestion would be to do a +6. I can take a nap and wake up to do the +6.
Sorry no one responded earlier. She has been pretty flat so you might just be good for the night. Does she get food after you have gone to bed?

She is showing no signs of hypo.

Thoughts?
She is still above the normal range of 50-100 mg/dl, so you needn't worry about a hypo.
 
She can switch right away. So she would the hold the dose for 8 to 10 cycles and then increase, if necessary depending on Poppy's numbers or decrease if Poppy drops below 50.


Sorry no one responded earlier. She has been pretty flat so you might just be good for the night. Does she get food after you have gone to bed?


She is still above the normal range of 50-100 mg/dl, so you needn't worry about a hypo.
She gets food before bed.

At +11 294. It seems like we are back to square 1. She will get her shot this morning.
 
Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom
Sharon has fully transitioned Poppy to LC wet foot, just shot her lowest PS and is looking to switch to TR. Can you help with when she should switch?

@Angela & Cleo - Thank you very much for getting me through a touch night. I really appreciate your guidance and calmness. :bighug:. I was totally freaking out. Needless to say - I am double and triple checking those AMPS and PMPS numbers.
 
Sorry I wasn't around, I'm off in the Thousand Islands on vacation and trying to stay "unplugged"

I can totally relate to your stress and anxiety shooting insulin when her PS was lower than you've ever shot before. You did great! And so did Poppy.

But believe me when I tell you this is a HUGE step in your progress as a caregiver for Poppy, and having the guts to go through with it and the ability to test and monitor after you shot (and thank goodness for @Angela & Cleo ) is key to Poppy's chances at regulation or more. You should be very proud. It is that kind of tenacity, dedication and determination that makes a difference for cats.
 
Last edited:
Sorry I wasn't around, I'm off in the Thousand Islands on vacation and trying to stay "unplugged"

I can totally relate to your stress and anxiety shooting insulin when her PS was lower than you've ever shot before. You did great! And so did Poppy.

But believe me when I tell you this is a HUGE step in your progress as a caregiver for Poppy, and having the guts to go through with it and the ability to test and monitor after you shot (and thank goodness for @Angela & Cleo ) is key to Poppy's chances at regulation or more. You should be very proud. It is that kind of tenacity, dedication and determination that makes a difference for cats.

@Hendrick Cuddleclaw - Thank you for your support! It means a lot to me. Enjoy your time in the Thousand Islands. It is on my bucket list.
 
Back
Top