7/11 - Poppy +12 69 & 64

The +11 is in today's cycle in your SS rather than yesterdays :-)

Do you mean the AM+6 today is 69/64? Is she eating small meals after the shot?
 
The +11 is in today's cycle in your SS rather than yesterdays :)

Do you mean the AM+6 today is 69/64? Is she eating small meals after the shot?

I get confused. I took the BG at 5:00 am today. Should that still be in the line for yesterday?

She is eating small meals She has eaten 1.5 cans of FF. The AM +6 is 68/64.
 
If you are following TR, you would hold the dose. A drop below 50 on a human meter earns a reduction for a cat under a year after diagnosis.

Btw, could you please add 2023 to your signature in the DX date? Thanks :)

I added the year. We are not officially on TR. And she did not drop below 50 (or is the 69/64 close enough)?

I was thinking that I would take her PMPS and see what that number was. To use that to determine if a shot is needed. Would that work?

I suspect that I am in the same boat as yesterday. That the PMPS will be a ns number.
 
I suspect that I am in the same boat as yesterday. That the PMPS will be a ns number.
Hi Sharon, I see Poppy gave you another exciting cycle today. Cheeky little Kitty ;).

If you're sticking with SLGS, then as Bhooma said you reduce tonight to 1.25U.

The NS number of 150 is for newbie's without any data or don't have a hypo kit (high carb, medium carb, karo/syrup). You bravely broke through that NS number last night. Eventually, the NS number is 90 under the SLGS method.
If you're unsure, or nervous, then get the PMPS, stall without feeding and post for help. :)
 
Hi Sharon, I see Poppy gave you another exciting cycle today. Cheeky little Kitty ;).

If you're sticking with SLGS, then as Bhooma said you reduce tonight to 1.25U.

The NS number of 150 is for newbie's without any data or don't have a hypo kit (high carb, medium carb, karo/syrup). You bravely broke through that NS number last night. Eventually, the NS number is 90 under the SLGS method.
If you're unsure, or nervous, then get the PMPS, stall without feeding and post for help. :)

I really dont understand what you are saying.

Where in the SLGS write up does it say that 90 is the ns number? I did give her a shot last night. I thought that I should not have. Did I misunderstand that? Was I suppose to give the shot or not?

I am confused as to what the rules are for SLGS. I dont feel that we have enough data on Poppy. We have only been doing this for a couple of weeks. So, I think I should be following the newbie rules for her.

I am following:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
a.) give nothing
b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
Last edited:
That's not the only 'rule'. You have some great data, but insulin is a hormone and hormone needs fluctuate and change. A dose that worked last week may not work next week. Every cat is different (ECID). SLGS are guidelines and help navigate. It says that once you gather data, you can lower your NS number.
What number do you think you are comfortable shooting without stalling/skipping?
 
That's not the only 'rule'. You have some great data, but insulin is a hormone and hormone needs fluctuate and change. A dose that worked last week may not work next week. Every cat is different (ECID). SLGS are guidelines and help navigate. It says that once you gather data, you can lower your NS number.
What number do you think you are comfortable shooting without stalling/skipping?

That is an interesting question. I think I felt comfortable not giving the shot under 150.

Tonight she is 275 PMPS. So, I will give her the .25 less. That would be 1.25.

Thoughts?
 
I am happy she made it easy for me. She got the shot at .25 lower dose. I am starting to feel comfortable lowering the dose. When you are blood testing through the day, it is an easier decision. Also, I am now comfortable with a higher BG. My fear is Hypo. My goal is to avoid that at all costs. The last vet i went to said it was inevitable. I am hoping that we can lower our risk of that.

If you look at July 8th, Poppy’s AMPS was 158 and I choose not to give the shot.

Last night, if I had paused and realized that she was 148 for PMPS. I would not have given her the shot..

I think I was in a mindset that she needs to get insulin twice a day. She is responding to the diet and the insulin. So, now I must adjust. Last night made me realize that.

You said Poppy is cheeky. You have no idea. :joyful: This cat has a BIG personality. She is a Russian Blue and they are known for being communicative. Boy is she. When I did the 4th test in 4 hours, she was not happy and she was growling. Not her usual self. But a justified response.

Tell me about Cleo.

Are you in the UK, Australia or NZ? Cheeky is more for British term.
 
Back
Top