7/12 - Poppy AMPS 172

When you can monitor, you have the means to keep her safe with testing and feeding. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low. An AM cycle is a good opportunity to collect data on how she behaves when you shoot low.
 
When you can monitor, you have the means to keep her safe with testing and feeding. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low. An AM cycle is a good opportunity to collect data on how she behaves when you shoot low.
That is interesting. Is low anything under 2 u?
 
do I give her the shot now?
If you shoot now, your future shooting schedule will be totally disrupted. You will have to shoot the PM shot 11.5 hours after the AM one. Might as well shoot at your usual time in the PM

what do you mean by lower? By how much lower ?
Lower than what you have shot before/are comfortable shooting. With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. For new members who do not have data we ask them not to shoot below 150 but with data and experience, you want to get comfortable shooting anything over 90.
 
I screwed up. I gave her the shot at 12:15. It was 1.25.

Let’s see what the PMPS is. If it’s low. Wait until tomorrow.

I agree with you. I should have waited and kept on schedule. Lesson Learned.
 
+12 126 & 111.

She was given a 1.25 shot at +6 when she was 301.

What are your thoughts?

I just started reading about the TR. I finally understand what you mean about collecting data.

Please give me a couple of days to figure out how to collect the data and to re-read carefully the posts on TR.

Would it be possible to tell me how many days do we need of the data? Also, would it be possible to confirm the data needed is AMPS, PMPS, +1, +2, +10, +11? Would the nadir still be needed? Would I be essentially creating a glucose curve? I think it would be a lot for Poppy for me to test her 7 times a day. Does the data have to be on the same day?

I now understand why I will need to get comfortable with shooting low. This will definitely be an adjustment for me as well.
 
Last edited:
+12 126 & 111.

She was given a 1.25 shot at +6 when she was 301.
Then this was +6 from the time she got her morning shot. It was a good idea to skip and shoot at your usual time tomorrow morning.

Would it be possible to tell me how many days do we need of the data? Also, would it be possible to confirm the data needed is AMPS, PMPS, +1, +2, +10, +11? Would the nadir still be needed? Would I be essentially creating a glucose curve? I think it would be a lot for Poppy for me to test her 7 times a day. Does the data have to be on the same day?
You want to get tests whenever you can. Mix it up. There are no fixed times. The idea is to understand your cat's response to insulin. Think of the spreadsheet as a puzzle that you are filling up in bits and pieces. With unregulated cats, numbers/patterns can be different from cycle to cycle thanks to bouncing and bounce clearing. Nadirs can and do move around.
 
Back
Top