? 7/15/22 Herman AMPS-243, +1-410. +3-387, +4-389, +5-279, +6-380

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
I have been collecting as much "data" as I can on Herman so that I can better estimate his expected onset, nadir and duration...and I am having trouble seeing a pattern.

Do some cats simply not present a typical onset and nadir time? Or am I not understanding something.....

My goal is to continue to test as much as possible while we keep adjusting his dose using TR protocol to an affective level but I will need to soon move to 6-8 tests a day total as my schedule changes (and I am realizing I cannot keep up with all the nighttime checks and function properly during the day!) so I want to make sure I am picking the most impactful times to do those tests. I do understand I will also need to "fill in the blanks" from my standard times whenever possible. But I should probably pick 6 set times to test consistently. To be clear though...I will continue to test as much as possible while we are making frequent dose adjustments.

Based on his numbers (I will also see what the rest of the day brings) am I right to plan to adjust up to 2 units from 1.75 units tomorrow if I get similar results for the rest of today? Is it me or does it look like he is becoming more resistant to the dose over the last couple weeks? I saw greens and blues on a lower dose earlier in the month which scared me so I lowered dose but now we are back to those levels and he just isnt responding the same way so I just don't get it. I should say back then he was still getting the odd kibble here and there - now he on LC wet exclusively save for 3 temptations a day (see below).

He is on day 18 of 20 days of getting 25mg of Baytril once a day from bacteria found in a urinalysis. I was hoping to avoid taking him back to the vet for another test because he is a cat that gets EXTRMELY feral and STRESSED from vet visits but I guess it's possible its the infection not clearing that is causing these number to be so high?

- I will say his demeanor is mostly very good. He is active. Strong appetite (I know part of that is the diabetes talking as his numbers are still way too high). Grooming himself well. And feels less boney than even a week ago, he has definitely put on some weight. He transitioned to the LC wet surprisingly well. The only HC he gets is three temptations a day with his Baytril because getting those pills into him as been HELL! Boy does he ever HATE the taste.

Sorry for the long post! Speaking of post....am I supposed to post his numbers to the forum daily or only when I have a question?
 
Back
Top