7/16 Newman AMPS 305 shot 2.0 PMPS 274 shot 2.0

Shooting from new vial this morning but holding on 2.0U. I did notice when reviewing his spreadsheet that the days I got blue numbers on this dose, started with the highest yellows. (says the perfectionist always looking for logic) LOL
 
Shooting from new vial this morning but holding on 2.0U. I did notice when reviewing his spreadsheet that the days I got blue numbers on this dose, started with the highest yellows. (says the perfectionist always looking for logic) LOL
It’s always good to look for patterns- although some cats always seem to want to thwart our logic.
 
What times are best to test to be most helpful for your analysis? +4 and +7 ? I can't guarantee that he will be available to me, but I can try. He is spending less time under the bed.

I wonder why 2 units were less productive than 1.75 units.

Is it time to increase?

I'm not sure what to do.

@Frost @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Not time for an increase just yet. Tonight will be the 14th cycle on this dose. After that you can increase by .25 if he’s still in higher flat numbers.
 
Last edited:
We are off schedule this morning because Newman barfed up his breakfast immediately, into his bowl. I did notice that the vomit seemed to contain more liquid, perhaps a clue as to what causes these occasional early morning barfing episodes.
Anyway, he did not come back right away, as usual, to eat again so I had to wait for him. I ended up serving it to him on my desk where he ate the heaping tablespoon of food I measured for him. Problem is, he is out of reach under the bed so no insulin yet.
I will try to entice him with shaking the treat bag and hopefully he will not wait too long.

Question: When he does come out should I give the full dose and run the day behind schedule or is it better to make some adjustment to accommodate delay? Thanks

@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD
 
We are off schedule this morning because Newman barfed up his breakfast immediately, into his bowl. I did notice that the vomit seemed to contain more liquid, perhaps a clue as to what causes these occasional early morning barfing episodes.
Anyway, he did not come back right away, as usual, to eat again so I had to wait for him. I ended up serving it to him on my desk where he ate the heaping tablespoon of food I measured for him. Problem is, he is out of reach under the bed so no insulin yet.
I will try to entice him with shaking the treat bag and hopefully he will not wait too long.

Question: When he does come out should I give the full dose and run the day behind schedule or is it better to make some adjustment to accommodate delay? Thanks

@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD
Good morning, Linda. I guess that depends upon how late it is when he comes out. I mean if it’s 11 am that would really mess things up!
 
O
They are not home. Both leave very early in the AM.

Should have included fasting BG at 6:50 am. was 250, eat, vomit. Ate measured food and retested 7:40, BG 274.
This is funny…. not you…. me! Here’s the thing. Can you tell I am on vacation and can’t tell what day it is!! For me, it’s just a very long weekend. Lol. Since I am sitting here in my pajamas and drinking coffee, it feels like Saturday!
 
I’m sitting on a screened in porch at a cabin in the woods of Pine Mountain looking out at the lake and just enjoying the morning. It’s only 74 degrees. Very peaceful.
 
O

This is funny…. not you…. me! Here’s the thing. Can you tell I am on vacation and can’t tell what day it is!! For me, it’s just a very long weekend. Lol. Since I am sitting here in my pajamas and drinking coffee, it feels like Saturday!
LOL......Maybe it's a good thing that time becomes blurred on vacation. I am affected by that confusion when my son or grandson alter their routine schedules!

I hope that you are feeling fully recovered after being sick.
 
Anyway, so I was about to say …. Wow they get up early for Sunday to go to work? I really don’t know what day I thought it was … just the weekend.
 
Okay, he is out. Tested, got 290. Will shoot 2.0U. About one hour off schedule.
Wow. He really goes up a lot in that first hour after eating. You did great! We have to live in the real world where everything is not ideal, right? Did he eat a little more? I hope so because it seemed like he only ate about a tablespoon after he vomited? You can work your way back to your regular schedule by shooting at +11.5 tonight.
 
Wow. He really goes up a lot in that first hour after eating. You did great! We have to live in the real world where everything is not ideal, right? Did he eat a little more? I hope so because it seemed like he only ate about a tablespoon after he vomited? You can work your way back to your regular schedule by shooting at +11.5 tonight.

BG at 6:50 am. was 250, eat, vomit.
Ate a heaping tablespoon measured food and retested 7:40, BG 274.
He got under the bed for about one hour. Came out for treats so I tested, got 290 and shot 2.0.
Thirty minutes after shot, he ate approx. 1/4 can Fancy Feast.
 
Sorry, it is hectic around here lately. It seems every day somebody has an appointment, or school, or "extracurricular"...or I have to try to keep up with the yard, groceries, or house :confused:

Liquid hmm. Let's see what the next few vomits look like I guess, because if that's stomach acid I wonder if some pepcid might help...but it's not like he's doing it all the time. Is there any hair in it?
 
Sorry, it is hectic around here lately. It seems every day somebody has an appointment, or school, or "extracurricular"...or I have to try to keep up with the yard, groceries, or house :confused:

Liquid hmm. Let's see what the next few vomits look like I guess, because if that's stomach acid I wonder if some pepcid might help...but it's not like he's doing it all the time. Is there any hair in it?

Sometimes a little hair but usually not. I haven't been giving him the temptations treats for hairball control as much as I used to and when I do, it seems to produce more stool (normal in appearance) so I have wondered if hairball could be a factor.

His appetite is not affected and usually he is ready to eat immediately after barfing. And always keeps that food down, but I do reduce the quantity I give him. That is probably how grazing develops.

I suspect this morning he had had a big drink right before eating and he was just too full.

No apologies necessary. I know you have your hands full.
 
I do have cats who will drink too much water and will vomit. Usually those are my kidney disease cats though who drink too much water. Does Newman drink a lot of water?
 
If he vomits clear foamy liquid it may be excess stomach acid. Usually that’s before eating though, i.e., vomiting clear foamy liquid before breakfast.
 
I do have cats who will drink too much water and will vomit. Usually those are my kidney disease cats though who drink too much water. Does Newman drink a lot of water?
If he vomits clear foamy liquid it may be excess stomach acid. Usually that’s before eating though, i.e., vomiting clear foamy liquid before breakfast.
Honestly, I do not monitor the amount of water he drinks but I would have answered that he drinks an average amount, enough and not too much. Before he was dx with FD, his use of the litter box was the same as Ozzie in frequency and amount based on the size of the pee clump. Both of the cats only visit the litter box once a day.

He never just throws up clear liquid or anything having a foamy appearance.
Usually if he throws up, it is immediately after eating and the vomit appears exactly like the pate he has eaten. I only commented today, because it was more watery than usual, prompting me to think perhaps he has just had a big drink right before eating.
I'll keep an eye on it, but I don't expect any additional issues.
 
I think he just eats too fast and throws up. I am not suggesting he has any other condition. He may have just had a drink, that’s all….. and it just coincided with one of his usual vomits.
 
I think he just eats too fast and throws up. I am not suggesting he has any other condition. He may have just had a drink, that’s all….. and it just coincided with one of his usual vomits.
Oh, no, I didn't think you were suggesting. I thought you were offering information and I actually appreciate learning these things.

He is here on the desk, waiting for his evening treat and test. I am planning to shoot close to 8 PM to move toward our regular schedule.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

Fasting BG this morning 156, retested after 10 minutes to verify got 175. I will stall for another 20 minutes and retest. Please check in on this one if you can. Thanks

Retest result 173 going to feed
 
Last edited:
Do you want to shoot a slightly reduced dose this morning? I think he’s on his way up and will get a food bump. But since you may not be able to get a hold of him, I understand if you want to reduce a little. Do you think 1.75 for today would be okay?
 
Do you want to shoot a slightly reduced dose this morning? I think he’s on his way up and will get a food bump. But since you may not be able to get a hold of him, I understand if you want to reduce a little. Do you think 1.75 for today would be okay?

I definitely think I should reduce the dose but I'm not at all certain by how much. I fed him less than usual this morning on the outside chance he would throw up, so about 2 tbsp of food. He was fine all day yesterday after the events in the AM.
 
I think that was from a later nadir last night, but you did the right thing.

This is really where your comfort level comes in. After the retest, knowing he's rising, I probably would have suggested a half dose given your situation. That way he wouldn't climb too high, but also should be a pretty safe dose knowing he's rising. But waiting again for a more comfortable number is also fine!

I do think it's time for another increase though.
 
Yep!

Not quite sure if he's bouncing, or it's the effect of delay and slightly reduced dose, but you may end up in a similar situation tomorrow morning. Bounce breaks tend to have later nadirs.
 
Yep!

Not quite sure if he's bouncing, or it's the effect of delay and slightly reduced dose, but you may end up in a similar situation tomorrow morning. Bounce breaks tend to have later nadirs.
Okay, so I'll shoot the 2.0 and then if he is low again tomorrow morning I will stall and retest and if he is coming up on his own I can probably go ahead and feed him but maybe shoot half the dose, or 1.0 U.
I think that is what you were telling me earlier. Have I got that right?
 
Yep - though see changed suggestions below based on how he did today.

The important thing is that he's flat or rising. As long as he is, it's generally ok to shoot at least some sort of dose.

I would skip anything below 150-ish for now.

In the 150-174 range probably more like 0.25U, 175-200 then 0.5U-0.75U. Those should keep him in a safer range in case you can't get to him for testing.

Target nadir is still 90-120, just given those preshots, those doses are what I think will help get nadir in the upper end of that range.
 
Also if you are comfortable with it, it may help if you add something like "Cannot always reliably test" to your signature. Just in case you're in a pinch and someone else pops by, you don't have to go through the whole rigamarole.
 
Back
Top