7/17 Herman amps 176 +2 74 +2.5 77 +7 121 pmps 137 has UTI, started ab

So the vet called and said that he has a UTI and wants to start him on antibiotics today even though the culture won’t come back for a day or two, and she might have to switch it out. Herman is an absolute monster to give pills to so she said there is a shot she could give but it’s an antibiotic better suited to skin infections, but it could be worth a try if I simply can’t get the pills in to him. I will pick up a couple pills today and try to see if I can get them into him and if not think about the injectable antibiotic tomorrow.

I welcome any input on our plan.
 
The shot is Convenia, definitely not ideal, unless he’s had it before. Some cats have really bad reactions to it. Can you get a liquid AB to see if that’s better? Don’t forget to add some probiotics, to help tummy issues hat can come with AB.
 
The shot is Convenia, definitely not ideal, unless he’s had it before. Some cats have really bad reactions to it. Can you get a liquid AB to see if that’s better? Don’t forget to add some probiotics, to help tummy issues hat can come with AB.
Ok will giving the pill antibiotics a shot, I will need to use a temptation or two….I hate to do it though. I’ve never given a probiotic, any recommendations? I’ll also search the forum. Thanks for weighing in.
 
Here is a page with some general information about probiotics. I've heard a number of people give RenewLife Brand. I've given Visbiome, but that was for kitties with GI issues. I've also given Natural Factors per vets recommendation. The article tells you what strains to look for.

Have you tried Pill Pockets for pills?
 
Here is a page with some general information about probiotics. I've heard a number of people give RenewLife Brand. I've given Visbiome, but that was for kitties with GI issues. I've also given Natural Factors per vets recommendation. The article tells you what strains to look for.

Have you tried Pill Pockets for pills?
Thanks for this, I have tried pill pockets before he wasn’t too impressed….but he is so incredibly obsessed with Temptations. I’ll get the pocket to try first although I wonder if they’re not that much better than Temptations anyway?
 
As I will start the antibiotics around dinner time - how soon might we expect them to kick in and is there any reason I might want to be more conservative with his dose as the treatment takes hold? (iie not follow standard TR protocol for shooting low) I find myself wondering if infections can inflate numbers, might antibiotics lower them again? I asked the vet and she said to do my best to get his numbers in normal cat range but that I might need to "titer" the dose as the treatment takes hold - I am not sure I really know what that means.
 
I was just wondering what it means when you say 25% or 15% do you mean how much you left out? Thanks!
Those are carb percentages of the gravy foods I fed him. So, high carb and even higher carb! I overdid it but I couldn't skip my appointment.
 
Ohhh! Ok I wasn’t sure haha. I don’t ever feed gravy ones although she wishes I did! Lol:p
No gravy for Herman either - this was just because I was worried he would drop too low while I was gone so I bumped up his numbers. These were his first licks since remission!
 
No gravy for Herman either - this was just because I was worried he would drop too low while I was gone so I bumped up his numbers. These were his first licks since remission!
You’re doing great! I’m sure he will be back in remission soon! Hopefully his UTI clears up too:cat:
 
You don't need to do anything different with the dose in anticipation of what might or might not happen. Just follow the TR protocol. Some cats feel upset tummy and numbers actually go up for a bit with AB. Some don't. ECID. And it can take a day or two for the AB to start working.
 
You don't need to do anything different with the dose in anticipation of what might or might not happen. Just follow the TR protocol. Some cats feel upset tummy and numbers actually go up for a bit with AB. Some don't. ECID. And it can take a day or two for the AB to start working.
Got it - I am just a notorious nervous nelly. :oops::nailbiting:

Thanks all, started Clavamox. Not sure if we will be switching antibiotics based on culture results due in a couple days but I found it easier to give than Baytril from the first go around - must not mind the taste as much. Had to use 5 temptations but will pick up pill pockets tonight and try those tomorrow. I'm tempted to try crushing it into his food since he doesn't mind the taste....that was a big fail with Baytril.
 
I read somewhere that the majority of UTi's respond to Clavamox, so an educated guess on the vet's part. Probiotics you should be able to mix in with food. Or maybe he likes something like a Churu treat? Dip the pill pocket in that?
 
Good luck with the abx!

I've used all types of probiotics, and prebiotics. IMO Fortiflora has given me good results for diarrhea, and if his number 2 isn't affected by the antibiotics, still do a probiotic anyway, I like the Proviable the Vet prescribed.

:bighug:
 
Checking in on my buddy Herman. I'm so glad you've got him started on the antibiotics and I hope they kick in soon. I second Wendy's suggestion of rolling the Pill Pockets in something tasty, like freeze dried chicken dust or crushed Temptations. Keep us posted! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top