? 7/19: Roxy - 103 at PMPS! Shoot?

How does the fact that she was flat from +7 have an impact on whether or not to shoot at 5.6? Not sure I understand.
We fed her, waited an hour, tested again (7.9 / 142) and then dosed. So will delay tomorrow's dose til 7:30.
Thanks
 
That she is flat from +7 means that you are not shooting a dropping number - there is no additional downward momentum from her clearing a bounce.
Once you are used to shooting low numbers, it does not matter what the pre-shot is. People with experience at shooting low will shoot any number over 50.

The test you are getting at +1 after feeding is food influenced. It does not mean that she will not drop later in the cycle when the insulin onsets.
 
Yes is looking better. I just wish I knew what to expect next and what to do about it, feel like I’m floundering and very anxious! What M I aiming for? Will there be a point when we just test and shoot twice a day and get numbers that stay consistently low?
 
Deb, some people are really fortunate with getting their kitties regulated or into remission quickly but most are not. If you look at other people's spreadsheets, some have been trying to regulate their kitties for a long time. We can never know what to expect but we can learn everything possible about how our kitties react to the different dosages and the food we are feeding them. Please, don't forget the importance of the "clinical" signs with Roxy, too. Does she have a good appetite, is she urinating properly (not too much), do you see her drinking a lot of water, is she purring and affectionate with you. It is so important to see that Roxy acts like she feels well and is happy.

Personally, my Susie has been a bit of a mystery for me. I have gone up and down the dosing ladder and still don't know what to expect. What you are aiming for is up to you. Do you just want her well regulated or do you have the time and desire to try to get her into remission. That would take more risks and would require more monitoring and testing. Day and night. For me, I just want Susie well regulated. I want to find the dose that will keep her in numbers around 70 to 150 but I cannot count on that. This diabetes can be frustrating and there are no "quick fixes". Just try to relax a bit and listen to what the experts on this site say.

Roxy has come a long way and you should be proud of yourself. You may be living with this the rest of her life. Just try to find a safe dose, test her, try to get a feel of where she will go with her numbers and love her.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Susie, that helps. Yes I'd be happy with well regulated now. She is 15 and would love her to just be in best health she can manage for the years she has left.
She is affectionate yes, cuddles up to us on the sofa at night, jumps up on the bench when it's test time and even has started playing a little and careering around the house on windy days which we haven't seen in a while. So I feel she is feeling better.
 
Thanks Susie, that helps. Yes I'd be happy with well regulated now. She is 15 and would love her to just be in best health she can manage for the years she has left.
She is affectionate yes, cuddles up to us on the sofa at night, jumps up on the bench when it's test time and even has started playing a little and careering around the house on windy days which we haven't seen in a while. So I feel she is feeling better.
That is great, Deb. I'm so glad to hear she has been feeling better. I've been trying to regulate Susie since Christmastime last year. I'm just not willing to take any big risk with her. That your Roxy is feeling better is a testament to her lower, and safer, blood glucose numbers and isn't that what this is all about? We do the best we can for our kitties. Diabetes is a horrible disease because nothing is predictable. We just can't predict how they are going to be from one day to the other. My suggestion to you is to keep her on the current dose of 2 units for the time being. She is getting some nice blues so let her settle into that for the time being. You need to try and relax a bit. Get your preshot test numbers and try to get the +2 and +4 (if you can) at night and during the day. If you see her falling, at +2 (or +4) then make yourself test again, later. Be prepared to feed if she is dropping. That 79 at AMPS on 7/18 was very unusual. When you see a number that doesn't look right get another test. I'm hoping you will get some better advice from others along the way. Hey, you are doing great! She has come a long way. Try to relax a bit and breath. Good night.
 
Yes is looking better. I just wish I knew what to expect next and what to do about it, feel like I’m floundering and very anxious! What M I aiming for? Will there be a point when we just test and shoot twice a day and get numbers that stay consistently low?
Hi Deb, for some cats, it's like a switch goes off and they go blue and green and stay flat. That happened to my Ruby about two months into being on insulin and then she cruised. There were rarely any surprises for me for many months until she got her lymphoma diagnosis. Roxy is doing well in the past few days and she might be breaking through her glucose toxicity and flattening out. I won't lie to you--you will feel anxiety. Once you get the hang of the routine it won't seem so scary. :bighug:
 
Back
Top