7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter -37

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by dmartini4, Jul 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Here we go again!
    I wish he would just settle already, enough of this up and down ****
    ok, so I will recheck at his AMPS time, (1/2 hour)
    I am going BCS dose today....maybe 1.5
    not sure yet
    here is a recap of yesterday and last night(SS is up to date)
    yesterday
    AMPS - 331
    +6 - 348
    PMPS - 196
    +3 - 121 (fed 6% carb as I didnt want to drop to quickly)
    +5.5 - 167
    fell asleep
    +11.25 - 70

    I will check back in about half hour, he is going crazy for food so I think I will feed at 5:50 like I ususally do
     
  2. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70

    ((Denise)) Sounds like you're a bit frustrated - I totally understand. Hang in there, k? Let's see where he is at AMPS.
    Jane
     
  3. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70

    I would do the next test before your feed him, so we can tell if he's dropping or not.
     
  4. Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor

    Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70

    Good point Dyana! Sorry I missed that!
    Jane
     
  5. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    HE is freaking dropping!!
    his AMPS is 60, but I first did a test on the relion meter and it read 43!!!!!****!!
    I had only one strip left, they are supposed to arrive today, but I used my last alpha track strip on
    the 60.....
    I need to feed and I dont think I will shoot today??????
    should I feed a higher carb or lower carb and no shoot
     
  6. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    If the Alpha Track was 60, then I think you should skip the shot.
    He earned a dose reduction.
    You can feed him a little MC or HC mixed with LC, and please test again before your leave, and let us know the number.
     
  7. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    Here's a link to the last condo I could find for Shakespeare: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75725
    I know you're freaking, but no more swear works, k?

    When you have a chance, please edit the Subject Line in your first post to take out the word "AMPS" and replace it with "+12"
    AMPS means you shot.

    Everything will be okay. Come on up, Shakespeare. Sometimes food will take 20 minutes or so, to raise his BGs.
     
  8. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    Thank good ness you agree, yes , I used the relion meter to test because I only had one alpha track
    strip left
    when the relion meter said 43 I almost had a heart attack so I grabbed the alpha track
    and the last strip and it said 60...
    he is dropping so I can not shoot,
    I really dont undertsand this though
    I reduced him to 2 units for 4 days and he was high in the 400 and 300
    as soon as I increase again to 2.25.....her starts going low again
    dont know what to do!!
     
  9. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    I have to give my cat his shot. I'll be back in like 5 minutes, K?
     
  10. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    ok his 12.50 on the relion is 37 so he is still dropping
    I fed him a 9% carb, teaspoon full so I know that will bring him up
    dont understand why he is still dropping though..
     
  11. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-AMPS 60!!

    I only told you to skip the shot, because you are going to work, today, right? If you were not going to work, then we could have tried to stall and wait for him to rise and then shot his dose once he was high enough.

    Lots of cats have to go up in dose and back down, and up again and back down again (I'm so good with words - being sarcastic here). You could try the 2.00 again. Maybe his bounce from the low numbers on the 22nd didn't break until the night of the 26th. If the 2.00 doesn't work this time, then you can try to go in between and shoot what we call a F2.00 (that's a fat 2.00 units, or just a bit more than 2.00, but not quite 2.25).
    Anyway, if he's really high tonight at shot time, you can give him the 2.25, and then reduce in the morning.
    Let's see what his numbers are tonight.

    Have a good day at work. You did fine, today :cool:
     
  12. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    For my own peace of mind, I would wait to go to work, until he starts to rise. How many minutes before the 37, did you feed?

    Is your DH home to test him?
     
  13. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Thanks Dyana, yes I will skip the shot as I have to go to work now
    and I am not comfortable shooting anything
    even though I know hw will be high tonight
    Have a great day!
     
  14. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    The other thing to keep in mind is that you're using Lev. Nadir is later. Because so many people here use Lantus, we sometimes forget that nadir on Lev can be well past +6. Especially in a cat that has been running in higher numbers, a green surf can keep dropping until close to shot time. (Although, since nadir can change, the same thing can happen with Lantus. We're dealing with cats. They like being unpredictable.)

    The pre-shot numbers you were getting are too low for anyone, no matter how experienced, to shoot. I shoot low but won't shoot in the 40s. You did a good job!!
     
  15. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +20 = 355

    SOrry Dyana,
    I did test and run, he was 52 when I left so I felt better
    I will shoot the 2.25 tonight and see what happens tomorrow
    Thanks
     
  16. Doug N Libby

    Doug N Libby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Oh, WOW, Denise - What an exciting day! Sorry I missed it. I tried to get on earlier, but it wouldn't let me. Then, I got wrapped in our drama here. You did a great job and you'll figure out the right dose soon!!

    Have a great evening -

    Libby (& Hershey, too!)
     
  17. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Good job with the Subject Line you posted of "7/27 - Shakespeare - +20 = 355" :YMHUG: , you just need to get that into your first post of the condo. I guess PMPS with be "7/27 Shakespeare = +24 320"? or something like that.

    You can shoot through the bounce; but they usually suggest you lower the dose the next shot (tomorrow's AM shot). I know I'd rather wait until the bounce has cleared before reducing, but that's what I've been told.

    Good Luck with the new dose! And Congratulations! :D
     
  18. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Hey Denise, the only thing I can say is ..... Wow! Don't you LOVE this $@!!& Dance?!

    Hope Shakes settles down!
     
  19. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Denise

    If he's at 37, please give him a couple tsp of HC gravy and retest in 30 mins. We need to get him up, ok?

    I couldn't tell from your subject line or your SS (or reading your condo) exactly where he is and if he's in the 300s now or in the 30s.
     
  20. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Marge, the Subject Line is left over from this morning. He's okay, now.
     
  21. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 7/27 - Shakespeare - +11.25 - 70-+12 - 60 - change meter

    Thanks, Dyana. I went back and edited my post because I couldn't figure out what was from this morning and what wasn't and the SS isn't updated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page