7/5 Cali PMPS 155, +3 75, +5 60, +7.75 113

Yesterday when you saw the 44 you forgot the rule to stall and NOT FEED to see if the bg would rise on its own. Feeding any food is not a good idea and especially mc or hc because then the bg is food influenced. When you shoot a low food influenced number you put your cat in danger of a hypo. If after 20-30 minutes the bg stayed low you could choose to feed a teaspoon of lc and see if the bg comes up but honestly if it didn’t come down without food I would feed lc and test in 2 hours to see if safe to shoot. But I would have skipped if stalling without food didn’t bring her up.

Did you retest the 44 immediately to make sure it was not a bad strip?
 
Yesterday when you saw the 44 you forgot the rule to stall and NOT FEED to see if the bg would rise on its own. Feeding any food is not a good idea and especially mc or hc because then the bg is food influenced. When you shoot a low food influenced number you put your cat in danger of a hypo. If after 20-30 minutes the bg stayed low you could choose to feed a teaspoon of lc and see if the bg comes up but honestly if it didn’t come down without food I would feed lc and test in 2 hours to see if safe to shoot. But I would have skipped if stalling without food didn’t bring her up.

Did you retest the 44 immediately to make sure it was not a bad strip?

Thank you so much for the feedback. These notes are so very valuable in the “heat of the moment”, especially when pressing a dose until Cali’s body can safely use. I think the term “balls of steel “ has been used in FDMB. I was trying to keep all the guidelines in my head at the same time watching the clock. Also with goals of trying to feed the curve, preclude a bounce and most importantly prevent a hypo. Your last sentence “skipped if stalling without food didn’t bring her up” is paramount. I am going to post that on my short list checks in these situations. Sometimes we feel like this is more complicated than many things. Outside of FDMB, even my best friends who are animal lovers don’t understand the time dedication and urgency this disease involves to keep our sugar babies safe. LOL of course they all “hate” my calico as she is the turbo of the CALICO stereotype and an extremely intelligent one.

Have a great day Elise, thanks again, and prayers we are all free of these wildfire devastations.
 
Last edited:
This sticky covers how to deal with low preshot numbers. When numbers do not come up after stalling you feed a little LC and keep testing every 20 mins till the numbers rise enough to shoot.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

"If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you."
 
+2 snack
+4.25 [56] 2Tbsp LC :D
plan: test @+5
? What feed advice after test if still low? [this is in regard to early/mid cycle versus insulin shot time]
Thanks in advance
 
+5.25 [65] 1Tbsp LC :D left ear. plus real bites chick treat water
Will test again @+6
sleep depreviation starting to set in for all 3
Would love to hold on this dose if at all possible safely until her body settles into it.


You can either feed lc and see if a reduction is earned or feed mc and see. Test in 30.

Elise, hoping I got this right. Left ear is still bigger challenge for us to test and BG# sometimes seems a bit lower.
 
Definitely will test @+3.
I sure hope tomorrow is not hair pulling as I have an annual wellness and will be out from +2.5 until +5. I pack snacks and have DH feed her up until I return. More vaccines for us: shingles. Pondering second Covid 19 booster.
 
+1&+2 protein snacks of boiled chicken [yum to her!]
+3 [75] 1Tbsp LC :D

? Should I give her a little 13%MC to avoid another all night chase like couple nights ago?
 
Woah! Quite a drop. Yes, some MC please and test at +5?

thanks for quick response. She went crazy over that little tsp of 13% [probably less because most of gravy was gone]. Amazing how cats can be awakened from sleep then food reves up that appetite to licking everything in sight then snuggles up back to sleep. She was licking that MC spoon like she does the meloxicam syringe in the morning. Easiest medicine I have ever given any cat!

my eyes must be deceiving me. I looked at golf2015 post and thought for a moment that stout Henry and Robert were also from India [instead of Indiana]. That is a beautiful spreadsheet!
 
upload_2022-7-5_23-1-50.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-5_23-1-50.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-5_23-1-50.jpeg
    31.9 KB · Views: 150
She hissed when I tried to take it away! A couple licks couldn’t increase that much but she thinks it is a full blown party now. This might be our last watermelon when I get my A1C results tomorrow. Cali and I might be banned from watermelon.

think we are safe now until AMPS or should I wake the DH @+7? I definitely don’t want to risk her
 
@ +7.75 [113] 1Tbsp LC :confused:
Watermelon could become the new karo syrup!? But I bet it was that tsp FF Turkey 15%.
Two Socks decided to join the party. He got spoonful of 15% and climbed on the other counter to safely watch Cali. I went to bed and left them to their own :cat::confused:

SEE YOU AT AMPS just around the corner!
 
Back
Top