7/6 Bear AMPS 112, +4.25 46, +4.5 67, +5 84, +7.75 75

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
to add, he is normally ravenous and eats anything in sight but he left his favorite snack in the bowl. He ate most of it but didn't finish it.
 
phew! Glad to hear it.

Yes, so just to be clear GA stands for Gone Ahead and is used for when a kitty has gone ahead over the rainbow bridge.

Also glad to hear you are going to the vet I certainly would, based on Bear's symptoms and behavior.
 
Hi! We are moving his ultrasound up to tomorrow. His clinical signs lessened while we were there and his BG was at 75. They said that they recommend dropping him down to 1U. Not sure thoughts on that @tiffmaxee and friends?
 
I’m glad he’s feeling better. I would not drop him to 1.0. It’s too big a drop. As long as he’s eating I’d give 1.75 a go. If not eating well you could do a one time BCS dose. See where he is at pmps.
 
I’m glad he’s feeling better. I would not drop him to 1.0. It’s too big a drop. As long as he’s eating I’d give 1.75 a go. If not eating well you could do a one time BCS dose. See where he is at pmps.
Does he get another .25 reduction today since he dropped to 46?
 
No. It’s the depot. You can give a much reduced dose to drain it is he’s not feeling well. We avoid back to back reductions with TR. He might very well bounce tonight.
 
No. It’s the depot. You can give a much reduced dose to drain it is he’s not feeling well. We avoid back to back reductions with TR. He might very well bounce tonight.
Okay! Yeah he still is acting off. I'll check PMPS and then reduce? What is BCS? Sorry for all the questions.
 
We will be getting his abdominal ultrasound tomorrow. They suspect CKD. His bloodwork numbers looked better today than last week, although it was a different machine.
 
You won’t do another reduction. A BCS is a one time reduced dose of about 25% of his current dose, so maybe .50. The first part of the cycle won’t be effected but the second could be and his bg might go up a lot. You won’t need to test a lot tonight if you did that.
 
You won’t do another reduction. A BCS is a one time reduced dose of about 25% of his current dose, so maybe .50. The first part of the cycle won’t be effected but the second could be and his bg might go up a lot. You won’t need to test a lot tonight if you did that.
Okay, got it. And I decide if I do that based on how he's feeling? So if he's still acting off then reduce to 1.25?
 
No. He has not earned another reduction so his dose is 1.75. If you feel he is off shoot .50 or 1.0 just tonight. Then the dose tomorrow and going forward will be 1.75. The one time token dose should delete the depot effect from the higher dose.
 
No. He has not earned another reduction so his dose is 1.75. If you feel he is off shoot .50 or 1.0 just tonight. Then the dose tomorrow and going forward will be 1.75. The one time token dose should delete the depot effect from the higher dose.
Okay thanks! Sorry I don’t know why that was so hard for me to understand.
 
You are stressed as am I (my cat) so perhaps I was not clear.
Hi! Just got done with the ultrasound. I’ll make a new post but just wanted to let you know that they diagnosed him with Pancreatitis. Giving him some pain meds. Maybe that’s why he’s been so cranky. They really want me to drop the insulin dose.
 
Back
Top