7/7 Jason Bourne AMPS 441 +3 407 +6 519 Why is it going UP?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by houseofcakes, Jul 7, 2021.

1. houseofcakes

houseofcakes New Member

Hello,
    Please be kind as I'm new at this and our situation is challenging. We have been feeding and taking care of a feral cat (I think he was dumped) for many years. In April this year, he started losing a ton of weight to the point where he was ill enough he let me put him in the carrier and take him to the vet. He apparently has diabetes. It's been challenging b/c he is mostly friendly but he lives outside. I have him on 2.5U of Lantus every 12 hours and that seems to keep him stabilized so he's not frantically and desperately hungry, but his BG has never really been below 300! I can't tell if my meter is bad (but when I do a control test, it's fine) or if I am overdosing or underdosing him?

TBH I also can't really meter him all the time because he lives outside and won't hold still unless I feed him a little bit of food each time, so I try and check his BG every week or so but I haven't been recording it consistently. (And forget the urine test.) I feel like now I am going to try and do that, but it's challenging. I gave him 2.5U this a.m. before feeding and at +6 his BG was HIGHER. I will do a PMPS soon which will prob be at 400 or so but has anyone any experience/insight into what might be going on? Is he getting too much and his body is dumping more insulin in and I should start tapering him off? He seems so much happier now--less crazy eating, drinking less water, gained back weight, etc. so IDK what is up with the BG levels...

TIA

Karen

2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Karen
    Do you think you could set up a spreadsheet and put in all the data you have for the last several weeks. If you are only doing the testing occasionally it shouldn’t be too much data to upload.