7/7 Mr Kitty AMPS 97, +3.75 41, +4 51, PMPS 98

FrostD

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Little too much intervention last night, dropped down to 7.5U.

He came to usual test spot this morning with purrs and headbutts, and nibbled some food on his own. Seems to feel best in the morning, guessing because cabergoline is wearing off. Wondering if I should start giving it around +8 so the worst of the nausea is out of the way before the next shot.

Will see how today goes, then look at upping meds tonight.
 
+2.5 67, he's on a mission.

He is being a bit of a brat about the food now, keeps hoping for MC and walking away when it's just LC. Still attempting Cerenia and Mirataz just in case, but about to give up on those
 
Yesterday

Little too much intervention last night, dropped down to 7.5U.

He came to usual test spot this morning with purrs and headbutts, and nibbled some food on his own. Seems to feel best in the morning, guessing because cabergoline is wearing off. Wondering if I should start giving it around +8 so the worst of the nausea is out of the way before the next shot.

Will see how today goes, then look at upping meds tonight.
Are you doing EOD dosing or every day? Mowgli is now on every other day dosing and they are giving him nausea meds on the day he gets Cabergoline. See his post in the acro forum, I was just talking to Jaime last night and this morning.

Mr. Kitty's labs really look pretty good (both times.) How can you know if he is just having a pancreatitis flare up and doesn't feel well from that? Have you ever tried Cerenia? It is helpful for pancreatitis.

I'm glad to hear he ate the MC food. Maybe he just needs some more carbs and it would be okay to let him have it if you can adjust his insulin? Just a thought... nothing you haven't already thought before! I hope your kids will nap for you today.
 
Are you doing EOD dosing or every day? Mowgli is now on every other day dosing and they are giving him nausea meds on the day he gets Cabergoline. See his post in the acro forum, I was just talking to Jaime last night and this morning.

Mr. Kitty's labs really look pretty good (both times.) How can you know if he is just having a pancreatitis flare up and doesn't feel well from that? Have you ever tried Cerenia? It is helpful for pancreatitis.

I'm glad to hear he ate the MC food. Maybe he just needs some more carbs and it would be okay to let him have it if you can adjust his insulin? Just a thought... nothing you haven't already thought before! I hope your kids will nap for you today.
I'm doing every day. I was going to give it another few days then try backing off to EOD because I can't keep doing this.

BG was 41 and still wouldn't touch the LC. I think for now I'll have to mix them a but, he eats the LC if I mix in some MC.

I was giving 8mg Cerenia q12, then dropped it since it didn't seem to help. Tried 16mg this morning but failed miserably at pilling. Will try again tonight, and ask vet for ondansetron.

I initially thought pancreatitis...but nothing else is adding up. He doesn't seem to be in pain, ketones are low. Drinking fine, eating everything except LC fine.
 
Are you doing EOD dosing or every day? Mowgli is now on every other day dosing and they are giving him nausea meds on the day he gets Cabergoline. See his post in the acro forum, I was just talking to Jaime last night and this morning.

Mr. Kitty's labs really look pretty good (both times.) How can you know if he is just having a pancreatitis flare up and doesn't feel well from that? Have you ever tried Cerenia? It is helpful for pancreatitis.

I'm glad to hear he ate the MC food. Maybe he just needs some more carbs and it would be okay to let him have it if you can adjust his insulin? Just a thought... nothing you haven't already thought before! I hope your kids will nap for you today.
You know Suzanne...this is a really good thought. Maybe he just intuitively knows he needs more carbs and so is waiting me out. I thought he was being a brat waiting for the good stuff

He's always been really.good at feeding his own curve. He just stopped himself after about 1.75oz of HC, even though I set out whole can.
 
Last edited:
I'm doing every day. I was going to give it another few days then try backing off to EOD because I can't keep doing this.

BG was 41 and still wouldn't touch the LC. I think for now I'll have to mix them a but, he eats the LC if I mix in some MC.

I was giving 8mg Cerenia q12, then dropped it since it didn't seem to help. Tried 16mg this morning but failed miserably at pilling. Will try again tonight, and ask vet for ondansetron.

I initially thought pancreatitis...but nothing else is adding up. He doesn't seem to be in pain, ketones are low. Drinking fine, eating everything except LC fine.
Hopefully it's just a food issue (like you said in the other reply). Sometimes he eats really well and other times not -- and it seems to depend upon the type of food.
 
Well I decided to do an experiment, I left out all types of food and two drops of karo. In between +4.75 and 5.25 he had a little bit of karo and couple more nibbles of HC and is staying fairly flat :woot:

Maybe tonight I'll do the same. Leave him some of all foods and see what he does on his own...worst that happens is I get some high numbers
 
Well I decided to do an experiment, I left out all types of food and two drops of karo. In between +4.75 and 5.25 he had a little bit of karo and couple more nibbles of HC and is staying fairly flat :woot:

Maybe tonight I'll do the same. Leave him some of all foods and see what he does on his own...worst that happens is I get some high numbers
This is so interesting. I will check in to see what happens!
 
Hi Melissa! As Suzanne mentioned, your situation with Mr. Kitty might be similar to what we are experiencing with Mowgli.

When we first started Cabergoline we administered it every day and by the fourth or fifth day he was refusing to eat. Since our vet was on vacation at the time we decided to discontinue the Cabergoline until we could reassess the situation. Once his appetite was back to normal we introduced Cabergoline at a lower dose and only every other day per our vet's advise. We have bumped up his dose to 2/3 of the full dose every other day and started to experience the same symptoms again. He seems to not feel well the day we medicate with Cabergoline and improves on off days. So we are experimenting with Ondansetron, especially on the days that he gets Cabergoline, bumping up the dose from 2.5mg/dose initially to 4mg/dose now. We are also experimenting with giving Mowgli Slippery Elm Bark syrup some time before we give Cabergoline.

Mind you, we have only started doing this two days thus far so we have yet to hit a clear breakthrough but we hope that there is an Ondansetron/Slippery Elm Bark dosing strategy that will allow us to at least give the full Cabergoline dose every other day. I think your idea about picking a different time to give Cabergoline so that the nauseating effect wears off by a certain time is worth considering... We are currently giving Mowgli his Cabergoline around 11am and he feels icky the rest of the waking day. Maybe we can consider giving it at night?
 
Your Mr. Kitty certainly has you on your toes these days. Good luck with all the meds and the adjustments to the insulin. I don't know how you all do this with kitties with multiple issues. Hey, how did Pippin's surgery go? I might have missed it.
 
Your Mr. Kitty certainly has you on your toes these days. Good luck with all the meds and the adjustments to the insulin. I don't know how you all do this with kitties with multiple issues. Hey, how did Pippin's surgery go? I might have missed it.
Pippis surgery went well, pathology report will hopefully be in by Friday. Very large incision, poor girl. It's about 25 stitches, mid ribs and wraps underneath her belly. Looks like Frankenstein's monster.

@Suzanne & Darcy you'd never even know she had surgery. I didn't give her any pain meds because she's showing no signs of pain - she's brushing right up against my toddler, the couches, laying on the incision side. We turned the couches around so she wouldn't jump...she still tried to jump over the back of the couch. I'm happy she feels good...but she's the worst patient ever.
 
Hi Melissa! As Suzanne mentioned, your situation with Mr. Kitty might be similar to what we are experiencing with Mowgli.

When we first started Cabergoline we administered it every day and by the fourth or fifth day he was refusing to eat. Since our vet was on vacation at the time we decided to discontinue the Cabergoline until we could reassess the situation. Once his appetite was back to normal we introduced Cabergoline at a lower dose and only every other day per our vet's advise. We have bumped up his dose to 2/3 of the full dose every other day and started to experience the same symptoms again. He seems to not feel well the day we medicate with Cabergoline and improves on off days. So we are experimenting with Ondansetron, especially on the days that he gets Cabergoline, bumping up the dose from 2.5mg/dose initially to 4mg/dose now. We are also experimenting with giving Mowgli Slippery Elm Bark syrup some time before we give Cabergoline.

Mind you, we have only started doing this two days thus far so we have yet to hit a clear breakthrough but we hope that there is an Ondansetron/Slippery Elm Bark dosing strategy that will allow us to at least give the full Cabergoline dose every other day. I think your idea about picking a different time to give Cabergoline so that the nauseating effect wears off by a certain time is worth considering... We are currently giving Mowgli his Cabergoline around 11am and he feels icky the rest of the waking day. Maybe we can consider giving it at night?
Thank you for this!

Since I started experimenting this afternoon leaving the different foods out, he's doing just fine. It's rather interesting. He was eating the HC and karo earlier, just now he was going for the MC but left karo and tiny bit of HC alone.
 
You'd think it was the full moon somewhere with all these diving kitties!

Ondansetron is way better than Cerenia for addressing nausea.
So we are experimenting with Ondansetron, especially on the days that he gets Cabergoline, bumping up the dose from 2.5mg/dose initially to 4mg/dose now.
The downside to ondansetron is it doesn't last long, but can be given 3 times a day. 4 if really needed. Many vets under prescribe the dosing. You can start at 0.5 mg/kg and go up to double that. I rather suspect neither Mowgli nor Mr. Kitty weigh 5 kg (11 lbs) and might need a bit more.
 
Mr Kitty wants a smorgasbord . I'm glad he's doing much better this afternoon
leaving the different foods out.
Pippis is one tough doggie! I'm glad he's not in pain.
Continue to eat Mr Kitty so you come up more and mama can get some rest ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So, mind blowingly, I forgot to pick up the MC. He was actually eating it when I came down for the shot. Probably 1/5 can left. Came in at 98...with the whole back part of the cycle fed by MC, and the test itself very likely food influenced.

I had 6U drawn up, went with 5.5U. I left him 3 tbsp LC, took a few nibbles. After awhile set down 3 tbsp MC and he went for it. So we'll see how tonight goes.

I need more MC o_O
 
Wendy is right about the Ondansetron being more effective at handling straight nausea than Cerenia. Cerenia is champs for vomiting. The only reason that I mentioned Cerenia is that it is used for pancreatitis, and seems to have an anti inflammatory effect - and relieves tummy pain - but not to address nausea without vomiting. Mr. Kitty doesn’t vomit, does he? Watch out for potentially constipating effects of Ondansetron though. Who knows if Mr. Kitty even is having tummy pain? I think he just likes his MC ;)
 
Back
Top