7/9 Monty / AMPS 196 / PMPS 130 / Questions about TR with feline glucometer

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tom & Monty, Jul 9, 2020.

  1. Tom & Monty

    Tom & Monty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Solo tested :D

    Not getting any mid day readings today as I'm busy but 196 is "high for Monty" so I feel comfortable injecting regardless.

    Got another PM reading last cycle, going for a PM +5 tonight. I'll get a +6 at the weekend when I don't need to work the next day.
     
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Well done getting the solo test done!
    And good to see some pm tests as well.
     
  3. Tom & Monty

    Tom & Monty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Monty has started to gain weight (5.6kg -> 5.7kg), I suspect this is likely because he's eating the same amount of food as before but he's now getting blues consistently. I'm going to reduce his calorie intake and not change his dose, monitoring how it impact numbers.
     
  4. Tom & Monty

    Tom & Monty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Once I'm more comfortable with testing consistently (which won't be long) I'd like to give TR a try to see if I can push him into remission.

    His dose has dropped lower and lower and in the last 2 weeks a yellow is becoming rare for him. The TR guide is calibrated against human glucometers but I use an AlphaTrak 2, does anyone have advice on how I interpret the increase, hold and decrease thresholds with a feline glucometer?
     
  5. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    The reference ranges in both protocols were developed with folk using human meters, and as such both dosing methods assume you use a human meter.

    There is no way of 'converting' pet meter numbers to human meter numbers, there isn't a scale you can use.
    After some members did extensive testing using both meters it was determined that the reduction point for TR was 68 on a pet meter (it is 50 on a human meter), this was devised to keep kitties safe as folk started using pet meters (back when this board first started there were no kitty specific meters, or at least they were not readily available).

    Unfortunately for the other numbers referenced there is no conversion as such. Most folk just use the same ranges.
    I used a human meter and followed TR, usually the strips are much more economical than the pet meter strips, and with the amount of testing I did, it saved me a lot of €€€ :)

    I would suggest you keep the AT as a back up and use a human meter, that's what I would do. :);)
     
    Tom & Monty and tiffmaxee like this.
  6. Tom & Monty

    Tom & Monty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    PMPS came in 130 (AlphaTrak). I'm thinking skip since it's still below 150 and I don't have time to stall this evening.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You could also do a token dose like you did the other night with the 139. Nice run of blue you have going. See what others say.
     
  8. Tom & Monty

    Tom & Monty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    I skipped. Lucky I did since he isn't eating much tonight. I'll keep an eye on that tomorrow
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good call.
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Eventually you'll want to shoot the full dose with those low blues, and even high greens. I hope he gives you the chance to do some some day when you can monitor.
     

Share This Page