8/10/24 WATSON AMPS 339 Libre/268 Meter; 183@+1.72; 53@2; Please check spreadsheet for numbers

Rosie Lass

Active Member
@admins
after having a night in the 300s Watson has had a horrible crash this morning. I had things ready to take him to the emergency vet, but he is starting to come up a little now. Can someone please look at my spreadsheet and make sure that I’ve done what I need to do. I am monitoring him every 15 minutes or should I take him to the emergency vet anyway??

either way I assume I should cut him down by .25 units for tonight’s dose??

AMPS 339 LIBRE/268 METER;
183 LIBRE @+1.75;
53 LIBRE/80 METER @+2
47 LIBRE @+2.25
43 LIBRE/44 METER @2.75 - HAD A CHURU & HAD TO SPOON FEED 1TSP HC FOOD W/GRAVY HE REFUSED TO EAT ON HIS OWN
53 LIBRE @+3
LO (<40) LIBRE @+3.4 - HAD ABOUT 10 HC TREATS AND 2ML OF MAPLE SYRUP
40 LIBRE/28 METER @+3.5 - HAD KIBBLE
58 LIBRE/72 METER @ +3.75
112 LIBRE @ +4
139 LIBRE @+4.15
128 LIBRE @+4.25
94 LIBRE @+4.6
118 LIBRE @+5
143 LIBRE @+5.5
167 LIBRE @+6
341 LIBRE @+7.25 - AND NOW THE BIG BOUNCE
400+ LIBRE @+9
389 LIBRE @ +10
400+ LIBRE @ +11
400+ LIBRE / 404 METER @ PMPS
400+ LIBRE FROM +1 THRU +3
ABOUT 400+ FROM +4 THRU +6
ABOUT 350'S LIBRE FROM +7 THRU +11




https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...e-285-meter-243-1-178-2-5-153-3-120-4.292967/
 
Last edited:
Last test was 72 at +3.5 with a meter? You don't need to take him to the ER. Does he have any symptoms of hypoglycaemia?
Now that he is over 50, you want to continue to test every 30 mins. You want to ensure he stays over 50 after the carbs have worn off which is 2 hours after he ate them.

And yes, he has earned a reduction to 2.5U from tonight.

I'm headed to bed, but I'll tag @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee to watch out for you.

It will be good if you can update the latest tests on this thread.
 
Last test was 72 at +3.5 with a meter? You don't need to take him to the ER. Does he have any symptoms of hypoglycaemia?
Now that he is over 50, you want to continue to test every 30 mins. You want to ensure he stays over 50 after the carbs have worn off which is 2 hours after he ate them.

And yes, he has earned a reduction to 2.5U from tonight.

I'm headed to bed, but I'll tag @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee to watch out for you.

It will be good if you can update the latest tests on this thread.
I just checked him again and he’s 139 now but I still can’t quit crying. I will update his numbers as soon as I can get to desktop because I can’t do that on my phone
 
Since he's in blues and out of hypo territory, can you remove the 911 please.

Did Watson have a symptomatic hypo or just really low numbers?
 
I'm just so worried that someday this will happen when I'm not home to help him. I have NO idea why the crazy drop.
Since he's in blues and out of hypo territory, can you remove the 911 please.

Did Watson have a symptomatic hypo or just really low numbers?
@Angela & Cleo
I removed the 911. Test at +5 was 118 so I think we're out of the woods. He was not sypmtomatic other than sleepy, which is prettty much his normal state. That 28 scared the crap out of me though. I made me terrified to think that might happen when I'm not here to check/feed him.
 
That's good. Can you get a +6 just to be extra safe?

That big drop from AMPS to the +1 was the sign that he was going to go lower. I work outside of the home most days and when I see a drop from the PS to the +1/+2 test, and depending on how much of a drop, I'll keep Cleo safe by feeding higher carbs (for her its about 10%) and leaving out higher end LC (and if I'm really worried MC food) while I am out.
Do you have anyone who feeds Watson or do you have an auto feeder for him?
 
That's good. Can you get a +6 just to be extra safe?

That big drop from AMPS to the +1 was the sign that he was going to go lower. I work outside of the home most days and when I see a drop from the PS to the +1/+2 test, and depending on how much of a drop, I'll keep Cleo safe by feeding higher carbs (for her its about 10%) and leaving out higher end LC (and if I'm really worried MC food) while I am out.
Do you have anyone who feeds Watson or do you have an auto feeder for him?
@Angela & Cleo
No, I feed him myself. I have 4 cats so an auto feeder probably won't work for us. I'm normally home quite a bit (retired) but I occasionally have to go out for a few hours (and a couple times for 6 hours)
I'm going to be testing by Libre in 30 minute increments for a while.
 
Good job today. Seeing lower numbers will soon become contagious as you see how you can keep him safe with food. You will be able to leave him for 2-6 hours or even all day if you need to go out. You will learn what he needs to be safe food wise. Today he was on the way up by +3.75. If you had to leave you could have left him with mc.
 
@Angela & Cleo
No, I feed him myself. I have 4 cats so an auto feeder probably won't work for us. I'm normally home quite a bit (retired) but I occasionally have to go out for a few hours (and a couple times for 6 hours)
I'm going to be testing by Libre in 30 minute increments for a while.

@Angela & Cleo And now we have the big bounce to 341. I'll cut back on scans now that he's safe. Down to 2.5 for tonight's poke. Thanks for all your help
Good job today. Seeing lower numbers will soon become contagious as you see how you can keep him safe with food. You will be able to leave him for 2-6 hours or even all day if you need to go out. You will learn what he needs to be safe food wise. Today he was on the way up by +3.75. If you had to leave you could have left him with mc.
 
Good job today. Seeing lower numbers will soon become contagious as you see how you can keep him safe with food. You will be able to leave him for 2-6 hours or even all day if you need to go out. You will learn what he needs to be safe food wise. Today he was on the way up by +3.75. If you had to leave you could have left him with mc.
@tiffmaxee LOL, would you be flying in to watch him?
That 28 on the meter scared the crap out of me. I had his carrier sitting by the back door ready to go if the next reading wasn’t higher.
 
I get the fear. When Max went that low I ran for the honey and hc. Totally carb loaded him. H wasn’t symptomatic either. It was 32. The carbs brought hi. Right up. If my memory serves me it was the middle of the night at least once.
 
I missed the Libre 28 but I believe the meter. We see lots of too low bg on the Libre.
@tiffmaxee
But it WAS the meter that said 28, the Libre said 40. After the Libre said 40 I checked with the meter and when it said 28 that's when I panicked. Of course he bounced into the 400+ range the rest starting about +9 (pm) until about +7 (am). Thanks for always being so helpful, I sure appreciate it!
 
Could you have had a bad strip? Next time do a second strip. With the meter reading low don’t increase right away.

I see you already increased. Watch carefully like you always do. I think I would go back to 2.5 tonight. Think of it has having shot through the bounce. Sorry I misunderstood about the meter and Libre. What do you think?
 
Could you have had a bad strip? Next time do a second strip. With the meter reading low don’t increase right away.

I see you already increased. Watch carefully like you always do. I think I would go back to 2.5 tonight. Think of it has having shot through the bounce. Sorry I misunderstood about the meter and Libre. What do you think?
@tiffmaxee My error, I did NOT increase. I fixed the spreadsheet to say 2.5. I will try using another strip next time that happens
 
Back
Top