? 8/10 Leo // AMPS - 527 +3 - 534 /+5 467 / +7 441 - What should I do about a furshot?

Javier and Leo

Member Since 2020
Hi all.

I haven't posted in quite a while. Leo has me worried over the last few days. His numbers are too high, and I am worried about possible furshots. My partner and I normally share insulin duties, but she's out of the country for a week and a half already, and I've been taking care of the shots in her absence.

Today, at +3, he's gone up, and he was very high in the AMPS already. Based on the numbers from the last few days, his BG is not going down much even with the shots.

I suspect a furshot from this morning after seeing the +3?

Please bear with me with Leo's tracking during the month of July, where we knew which dose we were giving every day, but were not putting it down on paper. That month he has fluctuated from 1.25 to 2.
 
Hi there! How's Leo acting otherwise? Does he seem ok? Do you think you might be able to test for ketones, either by urine stick or a ketone meter?

I'm sorry he's been running high. :-( He definitely has a lot of variability going on...I can definitely relate! I hope someone more experienced than I pops on soon, but I wanted to lend a paw!
 
Leo is acting normal, eating his food, being playful... I can test for ketones, I have the strips. Sometimes it's hard to tell who peed on the box, we have two kitties.

Thanks for your comment!
 
Leo's +7 was 441, which makes me think that I gave a furshot this morning.

How bad is this? I have to wait almost 5 hours for the next insulin. I can't miss this one!

What should I do in the meantime? I don't think he'll go much lower than 420 or so. I worry that this full day of high BG is going to make him sicker :(
 
So...not a complete furshot, but possibly a bit of one.

Glad no ketones and that he's acting normally! I have two cats as well. I set up a camera in their box area, so I always know who's who. Complete violation of their privacy. ;-)

Hang in there! A few more hours to go...
 
Leo's PMPS was even lower (420) and at +2 after the evening shot he went down to 260. I'll monitor him through the night. Hopefully I can get him back on track.
 
Back
Top