? 8/10 Milo *HELP - He is dropping too low again!* PMPS 274 +2 271 +5 99 +6 77 +6.5 111

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Danielle & Milo, Aug 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Do you have a supply of strips, high carb, and can you be around to monitor?
     
  3. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
  4. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Yes!
     
  5. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Sorry thanks for posting this!
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    There's a very good chance that this is a dropping number. All that means is that you will need to monitor closely if you feel OK about shooting. You will need to get at least a +1 and +2 (and it's OK to get additional tests) and then decide how much you'll need to monitor after the +2.

    Remember, you're going to be feeding which typically raises numbers and it takes a little while for Lantus onset to begin. I'm at work and won't be able to hang around to keep an eye on you. If you need or want more eyes on your condo, keep the "Help" in the subject line.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  7. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I can stay on..
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  8. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Hi! Thank you so much! I plan on shooting and watching him like a hawk! He gave us a scare Saturday night when he dropped to 59 and I got him through, so I know what to do.

    I do know that if the +1 or +2 is LOWER than the pre-shot that he is dropping and will drop more and I need to monitor him!

    Thanks so much!
     
  9. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thank you! I will be shooting in 5 minutes.
     
  10. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Understood, will stay as long as you want me..
     
  11. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    as long as you have supplies and can test throughout today, I'd shoot the 1.75

    Get a +1 and +2 to see how he's doing
     
    Danielle & Milo and Julia Rae like this.
  12. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    You are wonderful thank you!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  13. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I shot, have my supplies all ready to go just in case!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  14. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Danielle how are you holding up this am??? you will be successful with this I have faith in you!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  15. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I am pretty confident and have my "emergency kit" all ready on the counter in case something happens. The other day when he was at 59 he showed NO symptoms of hypoglycemia at all but I still overloaded him with high carb food and syrup. I am better prepared this time around and will only give him 1 teaspoon at a time of just the gravy from the HC food. I got this!!! Thanks for having faith in me! I will be getting a +1.
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  16. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Hugs I remember my first hypo.. Magellan did not show symptoms either and I was sooo scared. Better a few days high the 30 min too low.. if you understand my drift.. least that is my opinion.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  17. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I completely agree!!!! I catch your drift ;)
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  18. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Milo's +1 was 135 so this tells me he may continue to drop and I will be getting a +2.

    Any ideas? Suggestions? Advice?
     
  19. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Not a bad drop...the +2 shot I find tends to give me the clearest idea of how far Magellan is going to drop. But Ecid I agree that odds are he will continue to drop but at least he is not cliff diving!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  20. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Do you have any idea of when Milo's naidar is??
     
  21. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    No, I have no idea. He is all over the place if you look at his SS you will see what I am saying.
     
  22. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    This is the trend he took Saturday night with his +1 at 109 and then +2 at 107 and then he cliff dived!
     
  23. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
  24. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Then I will stay with you..ok.. breath we will get through this ok?
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  25. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    If I had to guess... I would say either +5 or,+6 depending on his mood and anything else.
     
  26. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Julia Rae likes this.
  27. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    So far so good, I am calm! Milo is bouncing off the walls! LOL
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  28. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I plan on not feeding him until his afternoon small meal at 1:30, which is 6 hours after insulin.
     
  29. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    You did not feed after shooting???!!>>
     
  30. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    That is good that he is bouncing off the walls...
     
  31. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'd strongly suggest re-thinking this. It's probably better to feed before nadir than at nadir. Feeding before can help to prop up the numbers. In addition, there are times when numbers are dropping and a snack of LC can encourage the flattening of the curve and surfing. Many of us use food to manipulate the curve. It's a more advanced technique and I don't want to overwhelm you with information but the bottom line is to not get locked into a way a thinking especially if you can't identify when Lantus onset and nadir fall.
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  32. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Thank you Sienne
     
  33. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I fed him before I shot the insulin. He had 3/4 of a can
     
  34. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Sorry but I am not sure I am following what you are saying? I did the AMPS and then fed him 3/4 a can of FF and then shot the insulin and he has not had any food after his morning meal. I was told that I need to feed before giving insulin.
     
  35. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Thank goodness I misunderstood and go scared ...Not criticizing just kinda freaked a bit ok??
     
  36. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Oh ya... you feed at the shoot time other wise it can hit the cat too hard.
     
  37. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I am totally confused at this point as to what you are all saying about feeding. I ALWAYS test, feed, shoot.
     
  38. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Rethinking what????
     
  39. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I was told test, shoot then feed if using a hard insulin you feed before the shoot..
     
  40. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    He is on lantus. I am sticking to my test feed shoot
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  41. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Breath luv then you did right..it was a miscommunication/understanding
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  42. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    okay good! Phew! :)
     
  43. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    10 minutes till his +2
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  44. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
  45. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    :D
     
  46. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    HELP!!!!!!!!!! +2 IS AT 62 WHAT SHOULD I DO?????????????
     
  47. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    First BREATH then get a high carb treat out and off it to him
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  48. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    then in 30 min retest
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  49. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I JUST GAVE HIM 1 TEASPOON OF GRAVY AND HE SCARFED IT DOWN!
     
  50. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I would retest in about 20 minutes, just to be sure that gravy is kicking in. Up, Milo, up!!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  51. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Good very good now you breath... he will pick your fear up so breath
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  52. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    20 min.. 30 min close enough
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  53. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I will retest at 9:50 which would be 20 minutes since 1 tsp of gravy
     
  54. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    You are doing a great job Danielle... you really are
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  55. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Is it ok to call you Dani??
     
  56. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thank you so much! I am trying. I hope the gravy helps
     
  57. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    sure!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  58. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Your more than welcome.. and it will.. both of you will get through this.. BELIEVE IT
     
  59. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I wonder how many more times he has to drop this low. I fear that one day I may not be here to test as often.
     
  60. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    When a kitty is low and/or dropping quickly, 10 minutes can make a big difference. It's always better to exercise caution! Once we see the gravy is kicking in, then stretching tests out to 30 minutes or so will be fine.
     
    Julia Rae and Danielle & Milo like this.
  61. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    When Magellan clif dives I use temptation treats... 1 or 2 work real well for him
     
  62. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Ok I stand corrected and bow to your experience
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  63. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I agree with you! I will test 20 minutes ALWAYS after a low number and after feeding a HC treat. At least this time I did not overload him with HC like I did Saturday night. I measured it out this time!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  64. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I do have Party Mix treats
     
  65. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    8 minutes till test time, it is amazing how calm I am!!!!!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  66. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I find it does not fill them up.. but I give only 1 or at most 2 treats of high carb treats
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  67. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Huggles...this will get easier I promise welcome to the sugar dance.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  68. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    That's experience talking - you're doing great :cat:!
     
    Danielle & Milo and Julia Rae like this.
  69. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    MILO IS AT 70. NOW WHAT?????
     
  70. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thank you! :smuggrin:
     
  71. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    It came up... that is good now try the high carb treats.. and test again in 20
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  72. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    That's great, but I think we want him up a tad more than that, basically because he's proven that he can really work this juice! I would give him another teaspoon of gravy, and now you are probably good to test in 30 minutes rather than 20 minutes. (Or, as Julie Rae said, 20 minutes if you prefer!! Never hurts to test early!!)
     
    Danielle & Milo and Julia Rae like this.
  73. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    better safe than sorry
     
  74. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Another tsp of gravy INAHLED!!! He had gravy all over his sweet little face! I will retest in 20 minutes at 10:20.

    Thank you all!!!!!!!!! I got this!!!!!! I am totally calm!!!!!!! I know anything below 50 is scary and he hasn't been 50 and below yet! So I am catching this all early!
     
    CarolynE and Amy&TrixieCat like this.
  75. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Now he is washing the gravy down with some fresh water that his momma gave him!
     
    Amy&TrixieCat likes this.
  76. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Hugs this is good your doing wonderful both you and Milo Dani...I am proud of you!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  77. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Yup...and this is why home testing is so important that I will shout it from the roof tops! Awesome work today, Danielle!!
     
    Danielle & Milo and Julia Rae like this.
  78. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    QUOTE="Julia Rae, post: 1473484, member: 12873"]Hugs this is good your doing wonderful both you and Milo Dani...I am proud of you![/QUOTE]
    Thank you so much! Hugs back!
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  79. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I am confident that second tsp of gravy will pull him up. I will test in 19 minutes and if higher than 70 I will test 30 minutes after that and then again if higher I will grab another 30 minutes test to make sure the HC is not wearing off. I will have a total of 3 more BG tests in 1 hour 1/2.

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  80. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Just so you all know (I wish I could post a picture of this) Milo is ON MY LAP thanking me for the gravy!!!!!!!!! LOL
     
  81. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Good, very good I would advise a bit of his normal food so that he does not get any funny idea's as the gravy wears off.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  82. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    When should I feed him that? I had been feeding 3 times a day and the afternoon feeding was 6 hours after AM insulin.
     
  83. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Magellan loves his gravy too..You are doing wonderful with this... we will make a pro out of you yet!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  84. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    a snack of his normal food...
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  85. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    any time luv.... it will help stabilize his sugars ok??
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  86. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I agree with Julie Rae - after this last round, you should be good to give Milo his regular food to encourage the surf. Of course if he drops below 68 again, then out with the gravy. but otherwise we don't want to overcarb him.

    As for the timing...let's see where he is after the next reading.
     
    Danielle & Milo and Julia Rae like this.
  87. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Yup I will see where his 20 minute reading is at.
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  88. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    12 minutes till 20 minute reading after second tsp of HC gravy
     
  89. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    doing good Dani.. keep it up!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  90. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Milo's +3 (well really 20 minutes) is up to 79!!!

    I gave him 1/2 can FF of his regular food.

    When should I test again?
     
  91. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    I would say another 30 min to make sure he keeps going up.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  92. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Excellent. Now surf it, Milo!
     
    Danielle & Milo and Julia Rae like this.
  93. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I will test at 11:00am
     
    Julia Rae likes this.
  94. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    He is doing so good! He would eat more food if I let him!
     
  95. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    That rock, though nothing like the way your rocking it to day Dani!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  96. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thank you! :)
     
  97. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Little does Milo know, I am taking him to get a second opinion tonight by taking him to a Cat Only Clinic. They are very experienced there and I don't like my other vet's plan for his diabetes. SO I know Milo will be stressed tonight but it is for his own good. They are going to do an exam on him and check for ketones since he was at trace the last time I took him to his other vet. I am hoping they are negative by now!
     
  98. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    It will be interesting to hear what this new vetty has to say. We do find here that many vets - even cat-only vets - really aren't that well-versed in FD, and they not only don't encourage testing, a lot of them actually discourage testing! It's crazy. But every once in a while a vetty surprises us....hopefully this new vet will be one of those surprises!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  99. Julia Rae

    Julia Rae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Hugs.. second opinions are always a good thing, you might offer him some catnip or try felaway the stuff used for cat stress, it works for Magellan. There is also natures miracle, just for cats calming spray too.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  100. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    What a roller coaster of a day. Been watching and keeping fingers crossed. Hopefully, the day will calm down now :)
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page