8/10 Shooter AMPS 153, +6 112, +9 90, PMPS 171

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Shooter is doing great so far. Definitely acting like his normal piggy self. Head butting Pepper out of the way for food. lol I'm not sure I did the right thing, but I was a little nervous that his preshot number was lower than what I'm used to shooting plus I wasn't sure what the dental would do, so I decreased his insulin. I don't know how things are now that he didn't have insulin all morning yesterday. Did that deplete his depot? Are his numbers today because of the 2 units last night? Well regardless of right or not, I decreased so I'll keep it that way for several days.
 
See what he does with the reduction. You don’t have to stick with the reduced dose for several days if he trends up. Maybe it will just stick which I hope but if not you can go back up ant time.
 
It's great to see Shooter back in blues and greens! You must be so relieved :-)

Bandit did a similar dip (into lime!) the day after her dental. Since I had skipped the shot on the morning of her dental, I too panicked that she was going low despite a skipped shot and took a reduction and held it for a few days. Turned out to be a mistake. She stayed high for several days after that - probably the pain and discomfort after the dental - my vet gave me nothing for the pain since it was only scaling. I had to increase to beyond the dose she was at the time of the dental to see good numbers again.

Don't hold the dose very long if you see him going up.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-9-shooter-502-before-dental-this-am-pmps-360.251123/
 
Back
Top