? 8/11 Simon AMPS 96, +2 317, PMPS 306, went w/ 0.75 unit tonight. Hoping for a smoother day tomorrow!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kyle & Simon (GA), Aug 11, 2020.

1. Kyle & Simon (GA)

Kyle & Simon (GA) Well-Known Member

Good morning! This is my first post to the Lantus forum :) and I am very new to all of this. Simon was diagnosed 7/6/2020 and we just started Lantus on Thursday 8/6/20. I was planning on using the SLGS dosing method since this is all so new to me, and I just barely learned how to take his BG. However, his numbers are already going down and Im wondering if I should switch to the TR method. If I was using SLGS I would ask for help this morning before shooting, but with TR I would just go ahead. I guess I am wondering how one decides which method to use? I am hoping he is headed straight for remission and I don't want to interfere with that. Is it too risky for a newbie to use TR? Any advice would be most appreciated! Thanks in advance, Kyle & Simon

thebigfuzz likes this.
  2. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

Deciding on a method can be difficult. Are you feeding any dry food? Looks like just ff but want to be sure. That’s a low PMPS for new diabetes. I’m going to look at your ss. Be right back.

Kyle & Simon (GA) likes this.
  3. tiffmaxee

Is he still on steroids? Did you change what you are feeding?

4. tiffmaxee

Did you shoot? If so you need to get a +1 and +2 and post. With a new diabetic I would have skipped. But we will help you. I think the starting dose might have been too high.

5. Kyle & Simon (GA)

Thank you! Yes Fancy Feast classic. He is not eating well - so I offer food every 1-2 hours. I just gave him 1 unit. My vet told me not to test at all for 2 weeks, so my spreadsheet is pretty empty right now!

6. Kyle & Simon (GA)

Yes I went ahead, but will get +1 and +2 as suggested. Now I am worried. :( I guess I am just so hopeful he will go straight into remission! Thank you!

7. Kyle & Simon (GA)