? 8/12 Snowball AMPS 423 - advice on changing insulin

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sumaira Aslam, Aug 12, 2020.

1. Sumaira Aslam

Sumaira Aslam Member

Hi all,

This is my first time I have ever done a curve at home for my snowball’s health I would do anything. Snowball is 4 years old diagnosed with diabetes on 28/May/2020 since then have been bit of a rollercoaster but thankfully I found this group have been extremely helpful. Snowball is on Caninsulin and eat fancy feast oceanfish kitten food 1 can every 12 hours and during the day eats Dr Elsey’s chicken dryfood. I live in UAE so low carb dryfood is almost impossible to find even Dr Elsey’s I order from a website which ships it from USA anyways currently snowball is on 4 units of Caninsulin. Till last week his numbers were between 100-250 max but then Saturday morning I had to skip his dose as his BG was 110 in morning after 12 hrs I checked it was 310 so I thought to give 3 units only so I won’t get low again morning again I checked BG was 290 so I have 3 units again but after 2 hours of eating his food he vomited and started to look ill I rushed him to vet and vet said he is having fever due to secondary infection as immune system is weak because of diabetes and gave antibiotics which I have to give till this Friday due to which I feel his BG numbers are rising again. I have read and understand Caninsulin is not the best insulin so I am planning to change to levimer but don’t know how many units to begin with and what numbers to expect in beginning and when to adjust units please advice. I really love snowball he is so dear to me I recently lost another one also a dear friend of snowball Felix its been over a month and I cannot get over Felix death who died of cancer even snowball is sad he often meows and looks around the home i feel as if he is trying that find felix. I really hope snowball’s number start to improve and he gets stable please advice. I have updated details in my