8/13 KARAMELLE AMPS 191 +2 325 +4 247 +8 327 PMPS 293 +2 242

JoM

Very Active Member
8/12 KARAMELLE AMPS 210 +2 229 +5 118 +9 228 PMPS 288 +2 303 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Trying another day without meds, maybe she just needs them every few days. And need to find out which ones will work the best. She was hungry this morning and really hungry at +2, but of course her numbers were up.
There may come a time when this abnormal life becomes the norm. I miss going out but it is what it is. I missed seeing a performer who only comes to the states once a year now. She is so good and I get to see her perform at the friend's house. But I couldn't go. It would have been several hours away from home and falls during shot time. I just dont trust someone else to take care of Karamelle, especially since shes just not really regulated. I could lower the dose and just let her be high while I go out and have fun, but I dont want to do that to her. She doesnt feel good when shes high. I can tell. Oh well. I know you all understand. Fortunately, I also have friends who understand as well. All cat lovers.
Have a lovely day everyone.
 
Hi Jo, I know I can relate to how you are feeling. I’m sorry you had to miss the special performance.

Maybe there will come a time where she is regulated. We just don’t know.
I normally follow whatever Ivy’s cycles are doing. But we have a wedding coming up in September. And the ceremony falls even before shot time and it’s 45 minutes away.

So my plan is that I will actually do what I just did today for the fasting vet and labs appointment. I’m going to give a 1/2 dose the morning of the wedding (to drain the depot a bit) and skip her shot that evening. Most likely she will run high. But the next morning I will get her back on track.
(Ivy hasn’t had a ketone issue).
I don’t take lightly what I’m doing. (To be honest I don’t even really care about this wedding, but DH wants to go. It’s his son’s best friend and he feels close to the groom, who lost his own dad tragically when they were teen agers).
All this to say I’m going to do it and I don’t like it. But I know I need to, to keep the peace.

I don’t have anyone to inject or test Ivy. She won’t allow anyone else to do anything to her, no handling her at all. So it’s only me.

So if it’s for a very important thing, maybe you could do a skip. Obviously I’m not telling you what to do. Just something to think about.
And I’m hoping to not have to do it again any time soon.
I’ve given up going to concerts, many family functions, travel is out of the question. So I get it. It sucks.
Sending you support :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Hi Jo, I know I can relate to how you are feeling. I’m sorry you had to miss the special performance.

Maybe there will come a time where she is regulated. We just don’t know.
I normally follow whatever Ivy’s cycles are doing. But we have a wedding coming up in September. And the ceremony falls even before shot time and it’s 45 minutes away.

So my plan is that I will actually do what I just did today for the fasting vet and labs appointment. I’m going to give a 1/2 dose the morning of the wedding (to drain the depot a bit) and skip her shot that evening. Most likely she will run high. But the next morning I will get her back on track.
(Ivy hasn’t had a ketone issue).
I don’t take lightly what I’m doing. (To be honest I don’t even really care about this wedding, but DH wants to go. It’s his son’s best friend and he feels close to the groom, who lost his own dad tragically when they were teen agers).
All this to say I’m going to do it and I don’t like it. But I know I need to, to keep the peace.

I don’t have anyone to inject or test Ivy. She won’t allow anyone else to do anything to her, no handling her at all. So it’s only me.

So if it’s for a very important thing, maybe you could do a skip. Obviously I’m not telling you what to do. Just something to think about.
And I’m hoping to not have to do it again any time soon.
I’ve given up going to concerts, many family functions, travel is out of the question. So I get it. It sucks.
Sending you support :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope everything goes well at the wedding Staci. And thanks so much for the suggestions on how to handle being away from home for hours. I really want to do some traveling but I think it will just have to wait a few years. Hopefully I will be fit enough to do it then. I currently have 6 cats. Which for me is not all that many. I have sworn I will not get any more until Im down to one. I even think maybe just one cat would be good. I was involved in rescue for many years and at one time had 14 cats and I fostered litters of kittens that I found homes for. I ended up with some ferals which have all passed now. One of mine now used to be feral but when he got CKD and liver disease a few months ago I had to put him in his own room to medicate him. Strangely enough it must have agreed with him and hes now friendly with me and lets me brush him and pet him without being terrified. It only took him 12 years, haha. And I have a 2 year old that came after the "I swear Im not getting any more cats" because she was sitting at my front door at 8 weeks old one morning. The rescue in me kicked in once again.
Thanks again for the great advice! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope everything goes well at the wedding Staci. And thanks so much for the suggestions on how to handle being away from home for hours. I really want to do some traveling but I think it will just have to wait a few years. Hopefully I will be fit enough to do it then. I currently have 6 cats. Which for me is not all that many. I have sworn I will not get any more until Im down to one. I even think maybe just one cat would be good. I was involved in rescue for many years and at one time had 14 cats and I fostered litters of kittens that I found homes for. I ended up with some ferals which have all passed now. One of mine now used to be feral but when he got CKD and liver disease a few months ago I had to put him in his own room to medicate him. Strangely enough it must have agreed with him and hes now friendly with me and lets me brush him and pet him without being terrified. It only took him 12 years, haha. And I have a 2 year old that came after the "I swear Im not getting any more cats" because she was sitting at my front door at 8 weeks old one morning. The rescue in me kicked in once again.
Thanks again for the great advice! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wow, that’s quite a tale. I admire you, Jo!! I’ve always wanted many cats. Most I had at once was 2 (plus 2 young children at the time). Then I became a single mom. That was interesting and challenging. But my kids are both cat people now as a result. So I love that.
You do have your hands full with multiple kitties.
I hope in time you may be able to eek out small escapes safely now and then. I suppose that’s all we can hope for :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top