8/14 TUCKER SENDS HIS THANKS FROM THE FALLS! | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8/14 TUCKER SENDS HIS THANKS FROM THE FALLS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Tucker

Member since 2012
Hello friends.....
Tuesday July 17th, Tucker was diagnosed with diabetis and incarcerated at the vets for a week of Humulin injections and "regulation" (aka-waterboarding).
Tuesday July 24th, I was somehow lead here to "The Feline Diabetes Message Board" for help and education.
I wasn't sure I could handle a diabetic cat, and questioned what my options were. I didn't think I had the time to do it, with my job and lifestyle.
A FDMB Angel told me I could do it!!
Wednesday July 25th at 4pm, Tucker was liberated from vet captivity, and certain death, thanks to the FDMB.
When I picked Tucker up, the vet told me to give him the evening 6U dose of Humulin at 8PM. I was told to bring Tucker back in 4 weeks for some test. No other instruction, and no special feeding recommendations. I was on my own.
Thanks to FDMB, I was ready for Tucker to come home. I had thrown out the dry food, bought plenty of LC canned food, had a BG meter/strips & ketone stix, and a prescription for Lantus .
That evening, I decided to do a BG test, since I was ready to take an active role in Tuckers health management. The PMPS was 54. I decided to skip that evening shot. Next morning AMPS was 235, I decided to give a smaller 1U dose, since I thought I shouldn't miss another dose. I was in a panic when at +4 the BG was 24 !
Now..... imagine if I gave the 6U vet recommended dose the night before at 8PM. I would have certainly had a dead cat by morning! I am 100% certain of that.
I decided to follow the advice of The Feline Diabetes Message Board, and not the advice of my "10yr behind the times" vet.
Fast forward to today: With the handholding and advice of many wonderful people here, I'm very happy to say, 28 days later, Tucker is "Off the Juice" and "Honeymooning at the falls" !
Thanks to FDMB, Tucker and I can live free of the daily insulin injections we would have had to endure if we listened to the vet, and if Tucker would have lived through that first night. I know that it's a remission, not a cure. I'll continue to pay close attention to his weight, his food, his behavior, and will check occasional BG levels. I believe Sophie, my 10yr old 20lb Maine Coon, will now live a healthier life due to the diet changes. She's dropped a pound or two already. Additionally, all my friends who have kitties, are now aware of the evils of dry food, and are making the change to canned food.
Hopefully the vet will take the information I provided him and treat future feline diabetes properly. I believe things happen for a reason!
Tucker and I send Sincere Thanks to all of you for your help! There was always someone available here to help us through this!
Thank you for the wonderful OTJ party, fantastic menu, fabulous video and heartfelt messages!
Best wishes to you and your kitties!
Chris and Tucker
 
Thanks for recapping your experience! I remember your early posts, you did great taking charge of the situation, learning what you needed to, and enabling Tucker to go green and OTJ, make amazing progress in just a month. :mrgreen: Also reinforces the benefits of this community, educating ourselves vs. blindly trusting the vet. Enjoy life at the falls! :RAHCAT flip_cat
 
All that you said would be a great statement for people to read that are just joining the board. I know, not all cats will go OTJ, but that was a very nice recommendation.
 
I came in late on your & Tucker's journey to OTJ. That's so great you were able to go OTJ so quickly. Good luck in the future.
 
Amazing story! and a great testimonial to all the good work everyone here does. What a network, and family, of support we have. Congrats to the both of you - enjoy the Falls!
 
Wow, Chris. :o That is quite an amazing story you and Tucker had. You saved his life by not giving the 6U that night.
Congratulations on a job well done! You can enjoy the freedom from strict schedules and give lots of hugs to your much healthier kitty. cat_pet_icon
 
Tuckers' quick return to health is a testimonial to the fine, selfless work done by everyone in this community. cat_pet_icon
The first few hours and days were almost overwhelming with all the information available. My head hurt!
However, everyone here was kind and understanding, realizing my head was spinning. I was carefully guided down the path to Tuckers' remission.
Again, thank you all! There are many more sick kitty owners who will soon need your help. Be kind to them like you were to me and Tucker! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top