8/17 Philly +12 104, AMPS 143,+3 44 (AT2), +3.5 52 (AT2)/38 human meter, +4 80 (75 NM)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Beck and Philly, Aug 17, 2020.

  1. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Recent

    We are in a period of falling numbers before AMPS again. I've made sure his numbers are going up before shooting. We've had scary journeys shooting falling numbers in the low 100s.
     
  2. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    My Facebook memories today are from seven years ago. This is Philly as a little guy with his brother (who is still here as well). FB_IMG_1597670331960.jpg FB_IMG_1597670337960.jpg
     
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  4. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Such sweet babies.
     
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    How adorable. I hope Philly surfs safely today.
     
  6. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Uh oh. I shot a rising 149 this morning after feeding. He had been falling between +6 and +12 before eating, but the 149 seemed safe to shoot. At +3 he was 44 on an AlphaTrak2. I gave him SOS gel plus dry kitten chow. Fifteen minutes later he is 52 on the AT2 and 38 on the NovaMax human meter. I gave him more SOS gel to bring him up a bit more. Will retest.

    Will be reducing back to .75 again after this.
     
  7. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    He's up to 80 on the pet meter and 75 on the human meter.
     
  8. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    That must have been scary. Good catch.
     
    Beck and Philly likes this.
  9. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Whew! So glad Philly came back up. Did he seem weak or show any symptoms?
     
  10. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    No symptoms that I could tell. I wish I could get a handle on these falling numbers before his morning cycle.
     
  11. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    WOW! You had a bit of excitement there today...the only thing I can suggest is to always get a 2+...looks like he's in a hurry to get 'there' after he gets his juice. About all you can do is catch him in the act and start feeding some high carb food.

    I hope he'll come around to all canned/wet food soon so you can get him over to TR.

    Let me know if you figure out how to predict an active cycle...as you can see Luci needs to give me a heads up too...she never has or refuses to...I dunno...I just have to go with the flow as she's in charge :)
     
  12. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Scary, but not completely unexpected. We tend to have excitement when he starts the day with falling numbers. This has been going on for several weeks.
     
  13. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Thanks
    I sure could handle less exciting days, but I'm no longer surprised by them. It seems like he flushes his depot or something once a week or so. We'll have a couple mornings of falling numbers before his shot and then a whoosh down into lime greens. If we take a reduction, he'll go to pinks and reds.
     
  14. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Aren't you in the vet field?
     
  15. Beck and Philly

    Beck and Philly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Me? No. I'm a technical writer.
     
  16. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Ah, well my mistake...tech writer, sounds almost like vet tech...??? Well not exactly...oops...:oops:
     
    Beck and Philly likes this.
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I guess Philly was telling you today that you really should have reduced on the 13th when he went below 68. Even for newly diagnosed cats on TR (much less SLGS), you should reduce when the dose takes him that low.

    Paws crosses he holds the reduction this time. There is no concept of "failed reduction" within SLGS. You wait 7 days at the new dose and see how he does. TR is a more aggressive dosing method - Philly will still get there in time with patience, by following SLGS.
     

Share This Page