Staci & Ivy
Very Active Member
8/18/24
Amps 144 Libre
Good morning,
Mostly blue yesterday on her Libre with some green and a few yellow highs and lows. She’s been mostly blue on her Libre the last 5 days and lots of blue in August at this dose. (**We must note that in a handheld bg will be higher so take these numbers accordingly).
We got some not great news yesterday about her thyroid blood results. Her T4 has gone UP since she’s been on methimazole transdermal .625 mg since March when she was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. Not what I was hoping for
At diagnosis her T4 was 3.92 at Hemopet, in May it was 4.0 at Antech, and now it was 4.6 at Hemopet.
I will update all lab results on her labs tab.
Hemopet’s suggestion is to either switch to pills (from what I read, the side effects from pills can be really bad. That’s why I was trying to use the transdermal medication) And or increase the dose to 5 or 7.5 mg. That seems like a huge increase going from .625 so I’m not sure I’m comfortable with such an increase. It almost seems like it would be better to go to a smaller increase.
I will have to get some expert guidance on that.
*Her appetite has been good and she’s not lost any weight, no vocalizing (typical hyperthyroid symptoms).
So that investigation will consume my day
Her other lab results were mostly good from Antech. Her creatinine was 1.0, BUN is 29, she is concentrating urine well 1.060, HCT is 33 (she tends to be in this lower range), T4 4.2, Phosphorus 5.3, Potassium 4.4 (both normal range)
Another question is: is the thyroid masking the true kidney function?
If anyone has any experience or suggestions on a methimazole dose increase, I’d love to hear your thoughts
Have a safe day everyone
Amps 144 Libre
Good morning,
Mostly blue yesterday on her Libre with some green and a few yellow highs and lows. She’s been mostly blue on her Libre the last 5 days and lots of blue in August at this dose. (**We must note that in a handheld bg will be higher so take these numbers accordingly).
We got some not great news yesterday about her thyroid blood results. Her T4 has gone UP since she’s been on methimazole transdermal .625 mg since March when she was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. Not what I was hoping for

At diagnosis her T4 was 3.92 at Hemopet, in May it was 4.0 at Antech, and now it was 4.6 at Hemopet.
I will update all lab results on her labs tab.
Hemopet’s suggestion is to either switch to pills (from what I read, the side effects from pills can be really bad. That’s why I was trying to use the transdermal medication) And or increase the dose to 5 or 7.5 mg. That seems like a huge increase going from .625 so I’m not sure I’m comfortable with such an increase. It almost seems like it would be better to go to a smaller increase.
I will have to get some expert guidance on that.
*Her appetite has been good and she’s not lost any weight, no vocalizing (typical hyperthyroid symptoms).
So that investigation will consume my day

Her other lab results were mostly good from Antech. Her creatinine was 1.0, BUN is 29, she is concentrating urine well 1.060, HCT is 33 (she tends to be in this lower range), T4 4.2, Phosphorus 5.3, Potassium 4.4 (both normal range)
Another question is: is the thyroid masking the true kidney function?
If anyone has any experience or suggestions on a methimazole dose increase, I’d love to hear your thoughts

Have a safe day everyone
